Volunteer Abroad

Globalteer

I volunteered at the dog shelter in Cusco in 2017 at which time it was not possible to leave a review. My experience was rather negative.

I was very upset by the conditions and the way the dogs were treated to the extent that I had to stop going there after the second day. I informed the Globalteer office in Cusco of my concerns and they took quick action to address the most serious of these.

After I returned home to the UK, I wrote an email to Globalteer detailing what I had seen and also setting out suggestions as to ways in which the dogs' welfare could be improved. I have been involved in animal welfare all my life and have volunteered at numerous shelters in various countries and therefore thought that my suggestions would be useful. As a Iawyer I am familiar with the UK standards. I received a response from the manager which I was not happy with as the statements contained therein did not correspond with what I had seen myself at the shelter, and direct questions were not answered. I asked him if my complaint could be forwarded to the trustees but did not hear anything from them. I then wrote a letter to each of the trustees at the company's registered address but did not receive any replies. I don’t know if my letters were forwarded.

I then asked my member of parliament (MP) if he would write to the trustees for me. He kindly tried to do so but only received a reply from the manager. I am sorry to say that in this reply, which my MP sent to me, the manager stated that I was making things up about the shelter because I wanted to get a refund of the fee I paid to do the volunteer placement. It also contained the same kind of inaccurate statements that I had received myself.

My MP then contacted the Animal Welfare Group in the UK Parliament about this issue, the chairman of which then wrote to Globalteer. Even he did not receive a response from the trustees but only from the manager.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Dec 5, 2019
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Involvement Volunteers International

The Zoo was AMAZING and I loved my time there and can’t wait to go back! The zoo is well maintained, the standard of care for all the animals is first rate and Donna and Gill run an efficient ship to keep it all that way. I honestly can’t rave about it enough, i loved getting up early every day to do the morning feeding rounds, then we always had a good morning tea break, then cleaning enclosures/topping up fresh water and maintenance until lunchish and then afternoons free to sit by the pool before doing the night rounds. It was great to talk to the visitors coming to the zoo as well, and showing them around and educating them about all the animals. Donna and Gill made me feel so at home and i’m so grateful they shared their little slice of heaven with me. They taught me lots of things about how to care for animals i hadn’t worked with before and we even fed the crocs!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location:
Posted: Nov 23, 2019
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

Involvement Volunteers International

The highlights of the trip were of course the children. They are such happy children, keen to learn and I was really impressed with the generally neatness of their bookwork and their handwriting.
The people there are so welcoming and accepting of people into their village. They showed great concern for me and my comfort and for my age (apparently I was the oldest volunteer they had ever had at the school) and I know a lot of work went on behind the scenes to make sure I was comfortable and safe.
Some of the highlights were travelling with the students to Mololo Island and Sigatoka for sports events. The logistics of organising up to 76 students 7 teachers and a couple of volunteers to travel in small fishing boats and the school boat to Mololo and in the case of the trip to Sigatoka transferring to the ferry off the island of Tokoriki and catching a bus from Denarau to Sigatoka were pretty formidable but were managed very impressively.
I loved reading with the students. They work so hard and are so keen to learn. I also enjoyed walking along the beach with the students after school singing songs we had learned that day or collecting shells and also spending time with the women who were so very kind and generous. I felt I really made some good friends. I’ve enclosed a photos of the children but I’m afraid I am not a very good photographer and I also missed a lot of photo opportunities. I am truly grateful for the opportunity of being a volunteer at Mamanuca school and I would love to do it again. I would need to save the money, which I’m sure I could do, and I would have to do it before I get too much older but let’s see how I go. Could you please give me the email address and the postal address of the school? I have some books from a reading programme I would like to send and also gifts for Master Te and Mala, who took such good care of me while I was there.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Nov 22, 2019
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

So well organized and transparent. The welcoming staff, the food, the kids I was teaching to. everything was wonderful. My only regret is that I didnt stay for a longer amount of time.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Indonesia
Posted: Nov 19, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

My experience in Lovina, Bali was amazing. It was very rewarding and extremely rich in emotions.
I have many good memories and I wish I could have stayed longer.
Working with children was a unique experience. I learned a lot about Balinese culture and their values.
The coordinators really supervised us and made sure that our experience took place in the best conditions. In addition, the coordinators always brought me very quick answers to my questions.
I think this adventure is interesting for anyone looking to help others but also to take time to be. Indeed, Lovina was the perfect place to relax and enjoy Balinese life.

I was able to organize my adventure as a volunteer in Lovina with the IVHQ association. I highly recommend this association which helped me to find the program that suited me best.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Indonesia
Posted: Nov 4, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I volunteered with IVHQ in Bali, doing the healthcare education program & my experience was beyond amazing. While preparing to go, IVHQ was of great help & support, the online guide had more than enough information, & whenever I had a question, my program manager was always there to help. The local staff in Bali were just as supportive, I felt so safe in their care. The accommodation was really nice, the house was beautiful, we had a daily cleaning service, the food was amazing, we had Western options as well as traditional Indonesian options. My placement was good too, I got to work with amazing people, & I made lots of friends there. I definitely recommend volunteering with IVHQ, cause they made my trip to Bali so worthwhile, & so much fun

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Indonesia
Posted: Oct 31, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Involvement Volunteers International

The highlight of the trip was meeting new people and living the Fijian life and not a tourist life. We used the public transport to get to the orphanage. It was a 20 minute walk to the bus station and another 40 minute ride. Our family organised a card for us to use. Bus tickets were only $2.78 one way each. We also used the taxi service which is amazingly cheap compared to Australian Taxi fees. Tasting the different types of foods was great.
At the orphanage we were blown away how friendly the mothers were and how well behaved the children were. Everyone had a role to play. I have taken some photos of the orphanage. On our last day we were together with two other volunteers from New Zealand. We worked well together and set up an area for the children to play. There was a lot of washing each day. Every day we sat with the children and they loved doing the word search puzzles that we had brought. I donated two bags of art and crafts supplies which were gratefully received.
Food, accomodation, hosts:
Our hosts were amazing and made sure that we were taken care of. We had our room together that was well equipped with everything we needed. We were taken on a tour to the shops, bus station and to be inducted at the orphanage. One of the mother’s took us through and explained the routine and our jobs for the day. It was better when we had another team there that we could do projects together with.
I will aim to sent some donations to the orphanage and use my experience to encourage other’s to do the same. It has been an amazing experience.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Oct 25, 2019
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I found IVHQ last December. They had the cheapest cost yet still seemed to provide a ton of support and assistance as well as great reviews, which were all important to me. The project I chose, Teaching English in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, was run by another company that IVHQ partners with and although that I was hesitant at first, I found that both companies worked very well together and both equally kept in contact with me and helped me as I prepared to travel. Maximo Nivel was the partner company who runs projects in Guatemala, Costa Rica, and Peru and they do a wonderful job. IVHQ was involved with everything and supported me up until I departed and then Maximo took over, yet IVHQ still checked in throughout the trip and I felt that between the both of them, I had as much support as needed, and had someone to call no matter what. From the moment I was picked up at the airport, to my first night at a host family in San Jose, and then finally my transfer to Manuel Antonio the following day, I felt safe and secure and I was with other volunteers who ended up becoming my host family and some really great friends. The project was very basic as far as the supplies and the setup, it was located in a community building as a part of the church and the room was very basic having only tables, chairs and a white board with some markers, but what else do you need with imagination? Classes were held from 3-4:30 for the children whose ages ranged from 4 to 10 and then adult classes were from 4:30-6 and we ended up splitting the adult group in half for beginners and intermediate students. This project did require a decent amount of planning due to the lack of a curriculum or established lessons, but it wasn't difficult since the local team works with you and has many resources for you to use. Overall, the best part of the experience was seeing how much of an impact you have on your students, helping them do better at work, get better grade sin school, get into college and feel confident when speaking with the large amount of visitors from all over the world. Plus, every morning and weekend were our free time and we did so much, such as visiting La Fortuna/Arenal in the north part of the country, touring Manuel Antonio National Park, taking catamaran cruises to local islands off the coast, and really becoming locals exploring the town and finding our favorite spots. Overall, it was an amazing few weeks and I cried as the plane took off to head home because part of my heart will always be left with the people of Costa Rica, although I was excited to be in the world of air conditioning again!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Costa Rica
Posted: Oct 23, 2019
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
10

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

We wanted to thank you all for the most wonderful experience in Peru. We will recommend ABV to anyone interested in volunteering and will also consider working with you in the future. You did an excellent job in every aspect.
J & C

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Oct 23, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

I volunteered with A Broader View for two months with the Women’s Empowerment program in Cusco. I chose to volunteer with this nonprofit after completing my social work degree where I focused my studies and work with domestic violence and with refugees and immigrants (where I was able to practice my Spanish a lot). During my program, I ended spending time with the women and kids at the center in order to provide them with extra emotion support and friendship. I spent a lot of time talking with the older and middle aged women, dancing with the younger girls, reading, joking around, having interesting conversations, cooking, and loads of other things! I had the joy of getting very close to several of them and equally so the joy of being able to call them my friends.
I remember one day going into one of the girl's rooms finding her tearful, with a book in her bed. I asked her if she was feeling sad to which she replied, “yes”. She did not want to talk about why specifically she was sad, but I asked her if she would like to read the book to which she also replied “yes”, and we read the book all day. I taught her new words and encouraged her reading, even when it took her 45 minutes to finish the entire page. From this, I was able to watch her spirits and confidence rise and she has been practicing her reading every day since.
I spent a total of three days on a tour to Puno and spent the night on the floating islands. Puno was amazing because it encapsulated culture, landscapes, and great hike all in one trip, and, on top of that, I made several wonderful friends! While at Puno I took a boat ride on Lake Titicaca which was far vaster than any lake I had ever been on. During our boat ride, we made stops at the floating island including the Uros island. I found the Uros island completely captivating because the materials which were on the island were unlike anything I typically see in the States.
Some things you need to remember: Look into the work more and plan ahead, If you want to donate books, buy them here to ensure they are in Spanish, Make sure you have thick socks, Bug spray isn’t really that necessary, Bring nail clippers, waterproof jacket, sunblock, laundry mesh bag, packing cubes and washcloth.
The online chat was super helpful and the volunteer guide provided me with everything I needed to know and more. I used the chat many times before committing to traveling and making my final payment. Each time Megan was responsive to my questions and gave me useful information. I also found the volunteer guide helpful in giving me tips about packing and safety information. I would be happy to speak with other volunteers about my experience.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Oct 16, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Volunteer Abroad