TEFL

Language House TEFL - Prague

The Language House is the perfect place to go if you are looking to start teaching abroad. The owner, Chris Westergaard will help you every step of the way. The entire staff is very knowledgeable and helps you in every area of your life as you go through the course. They prepare Grammar workshops to help you effectively learn the material. One of the best things about this course is the fact that you have 12 hours of actual teaching time to different levels of people who want to learn English. If you don't know anyone they provide a welcome dinner and tour of the city to get you comfortable with your fellow classmates as well. The staff is constantly helping you find a potential job too. They even conduct mock interviews where you have a chance to have a one on one interview with someone who is very knowledgeable about the hiring process in Prague. I would highly reccomend this program to anyone who is thinking of becoming a teacher in Prague. It is a HIGH value for your money. They provide you with unlimited access to computers with printers,textbooks, and additional unique material throughout the course. They are extremely personable and will genuinely care about you and your experience abroad.

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Jun 23, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

China was amazing but I wouldn’t have got there without Frontier. Right from my first phone call with them I felt comfortable with the company. They are all young people that have a passion for travel, just the same as their clients. They can relate to everything you are going through and know how to best advise you in relation to their own experiences.

Frontier was organised extremely well and administration was always prompt and accurate. The trip itself was exactly what I was looking for and even more! The pre-trip TEFL weekend really helped with the nerves and it was great to know who I would be going with before I even got to the airport.

The best thing about Frontier is that they are really supportive. I chose them because they were a UK company and had a 24 hour emergency hotline. Fortunately I never had to use it but I could always contact someone if I didn’t know who else to turn to – vital when you are on your own for the first time in a foreign country! Not only that, but before, during and even after my project when I was travelling independently my inbox was frequently receiving emails from the Frontier office, checking up on me, making sure I was ok and offering advice and support if I needed it.

Program: TEFL
Location: China
Posted: Jun 10, 2012
Overall:
8
Support:
10
Value:
6

GeoVisions

Too bad I didn't see the reviews here before I sent in my 350 dollar application fee. I would not recommend this program to anyone...unless you have money to spare. I was told by Chris that there was a application fee of 350 dollars, but if you decided to not go through with the program you would get 300 hundred of it back. So basically I was looking at a application fee of 50 dollars. That was not true. I was unable to go to Korea and they absolutely refused to refund me the 300 hundred I was promised back. Instead they sent a document stating that the application fee was actually 350 and that it was nonrefundable under any circumstances. I was ruled out for medical reasons. If I would have known beforehand (as in the document was sent to me BEFORE i sent in my money) I would never have wasted my hard earned money. What a scam...

Program: TEFL
Location: Korea South
Posted: Apr 17, 2012
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Comments

Hi Constance, We were all very sorry to learn that you could not be able to go to Korea to be a teacher. And all of us hope your medical condition will not be serious and we wish you the quickest recovery. We are also sorry you are unhappy. Having unhappy customers is never a good thing. We do have your application that you made on March 24. Before you could pay your $350 deposit, you must state that you have read the Terms and Conditions. If you don't read them, our application will not take your money. We never want anyone to apply without having read and agreeing to the Terms. So on March 24 you did state that you read them and understood them and you checked the form. That's why we took your deposit. Then on March 30, just a few days later, you decided for medical reasons you would not be able to go teach in Korea. Although our terms and conditions are very specific, and you read them, you requested the refund anyway. And on April 2, Lisa from GeoVisions replied with this: Hi Constance, I am sorry to hear you will not be able to participate in our Teach program this year. Unfortunately, your deposit of $350 is nonrefundable. We can put your application on hold for up to one year. The $350 could then be used towards a future program. You would be responsible for contacting us about another program at least 90 days prior to your desired start date. Additionally, you would be responsible for any prices increases during this time. Please let me know if you would like us to put your application on hold. Best Regards -LIsa As you can see, Lisa offered to put your application on hold for one year and certainly had to abide by our Terms and Conditions. You responded a few hours later with this email to Lisa: Lisa, If you can hold my application, that would be great. I will also look into other programs for a shorter period. Thanks, Constance So we put your application on hold for a year, as you asked us to do. Your "review" above certainly does not reflect the email you sent to Lisa. We did exactly as you requested. Again, all of us here are sorry you can't teach in Korea. And most importantly, we are concerned about your health and we wish you a very quick recovery. And of course we are sorry you are unhappy. GeoVisions
Hi Mr. Legrant, I am currently in Spain sent by Geovisions for an Au Pair position. May I have your email adress to disscuss my experience with you? I would prefer this to posting a review or discussing matters on a public forum. I have requested information from Sara but its great to see you here so we could speak directly. Thank you,
I am interested in this same program! Could you potentially message me about your personal experience?

Experience Himalayan Nepal

I visited Nepal for just over a month (annoying my visa expired by one day when I was trying to return home via the airport). After two nights in the capital of Kathmandu and some sightseeing, I went north-west to a village near the Trisuli
River. I stayed with a family in a remote village called Gerkhu 3. While staying there, I volunteered in the local government school in the village the other side of the hill, Gerkhu 5.

I chose this placement as I wanted to experience rural Nepal and their way of living.I also heard of Nepal's beauty and wanted to get to know their culture, in particular their music.

It was very easy setting up the position with the volunteer company. I set up the placement via emails and then met the organiser in advance. As I was the first volunteer to teach at the school, they didn't have very much information to prepare me for the visit. It was going into the unknown!

However, I was very well looked after when I was in Nepal. I was greeted at the airport and taken to a hotel in the centre of Kathmandu. I was shown the sites and taken out for meals. The guide was very friendly and informative and we could chat as friends.

The village was very remote but the guide phoned regularly to check whether I was OK. The family I stayed with made me feel at home. I helped peel the vegetables and enjoyed sharing family meals with them.

I had an experience that I will never forgot. It was out of this world; difficult and challenging as well as rewarding and heart warming at the same time. The family were a very large part of my experience and I became close friends with the two teenage
children in the house. I was given a lots of freedom and control teaching (something I would never be able to get in the UK). Something I would recommend to any teacher.

Program: TEFL
Location: Nepal
Posted: Feb 28, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
9
Value:
9

Language House TEFL - Prague

I enrolled in the Language House TEFL program during the summer of 2011, and took the course during the month of October 2011. During the summer, Chris Westergaard, the owner of The Language House, was very helpful and answered any questions I had about the program, Prague, or anything else my somewhat confused and uncertain brain could come up with.

The course itself was very difficult, but it was difficult in the sense that I knew I was getting my money's worth and learning as much as possible in its one month duration. All of the instructors on the course are very knowledgeable, helpful, and very good at what they do.

After graduating, I gained an interview at a reputable language school in Prague and felt very comfortable during the presentation of my lesson plan to the director of the language school, thanks to my time at The Language House.

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Jan 27, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

Language House TEFL - Prague

I went through The Language House's TEFL course in one of the Summer 2011 sessions. It was easily one of the most challenging programs I've ever been a part of, but it was worth every minute. The staff was exceptional and extremely supportive. I don't have a traditional teaching background (I worked in a corporate auditing job before this), but by the time the course was finished, I felt like I was prepared to teach effectively. Again, it was hard work, but once you make it to the end, you'll be miles ahead of the other teachers you'll be competing with for jobs. I ended up having no problems getting a job in the Czech Republic as an English teacher after the course, and have been working successfully at it ever since. I'd highly recommend The Language House if you're looking at teaching English abroad.

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Jan 26, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Language House TEFL - Prague

This is the most personal and dedicated class in teaching I have yet to experience in the seven years I have been teaching. I took a class from The Language House in 2006, From Chris Westerguaard and I was teaching partners with Skipp Pots. The amount of teaching methodology addressed, practiced, and observed beats any USA teaching program that I have participated in. I am currently working in Texas as a public high school teacher (accreditation from alternative and certified routes) and I got my start at TLH! Prague is the most beautiful and romantic city on the planet, for me. And I would highly recommend anyone with an adventurous spirit takes this leap and start living the dream!

Program: TEFL
Location: USA
Posted: Jan 26, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Vision International (GVI)

I recently completed the Asia Explorer - teaching English in Thailand, in a child care centre in Nepal and teaching in a school in India. The trip was beyond my expectations, I have so many amazing memories and made some life-long friends. I felt looked after and valued on each project. I definitely want to do more projects, having that moment when you're teaching and you see the smiles on your kids' faces because they 'get it' is worth all the mozzie bites. One of the best decisions I have ever made was signing up with GVI.

Program: TEFL
Location: Thailand
Posted: Oct 26, 2011
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

TEFL Worldwide Prague

TEFL Worldwide Prague was one of the BEST decisions I've ever made in my teaching career. You don't even need to be a teacher to take it, but I speak from the perspective of professional wanting a challenge abroad - I found it at TEFL Worldwide.
I took the course 6 years ago after teaching in U.S. high schools for 4 years; I wanted to take my skills abroad and travel. I think that I learned more practical, hands-on knowledge that was directly applicable to my teaching from the first day there than I did in a lot of my previous teacher training. The teaching staff were extremely helpful and professional. The admin staff were supportive and accommodating and continue to be to this day when I call to check in (looking for my next teaching job abroad).
I feel I got every bit of my money's worth and more. Every bit of it was professional from their pre-arrival information to the accommodation, from the school library to the WiFi and printer access in-house, and above all - their great Prague location. I have landed great jobs in 4 countries in the years since I took the course. I highly recommend TEFL Worldwide Prague as it put me on firm footing in the TEFL/TESOL world. A big thanks to everyone there for helping unlock the world for me!

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: May 24, 2011
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Cultural Embrace

After graduating from college, I decided to head abroad. I was unsure of all the logistics and paperwork that were necessary to find a job in a foreign country. That is when I decided to use Cultural Embrace.

This organization went above and beyond my expectations. Emlyn and Julie were always prompt in returning emails, and were always willing to answer all of my questions. When my fiance, who also traveled with me through CE, had problems with our visas during the finals week of our senior year, Julie (our Cultural Embrace contact) was there to help us handle the situation. The whole process from application to departure was very professional and helpful. Emlyn, the program founder, even called us the day before we left to make sure that everything was in order.

A few months after we arrived in China, we were able to meet Emlyn personally. She asked us how things were going, checked out our accomodations, (modest apartments on campus) and spoke with our Chinese director about things that could be improved for foreign teachers in general. The support from CE has been much more than I expected.

The only thing that made me hesitate about using an organization to get abroad was the price. I paid about $1600 for the placement for one academic year, but we were able to receive a discount by joining Cultural Embrace's Facebook page. Since I knew someone who already lived in Yantai, I sometimes wondered if I could have made it out here for much cheaper.

That being said, now that I am in China, I have no regrets about going through Cultural Embrace. The price was worth it because we didn't have to worry about anything; CE took care of everything. They provided us with a good insurance package, cultural packets that helped us get to know Chinese cultural before we ever left home, and lots of teaching resources in terms of good websites to use for ideas. I have also really enjoyed being able to get to know Emlyn more as I work with her to help grow Cultural Embrace as a program by submitting reviews and blogs. Using an outside organization to go abroad was also comforting because I felt like there was another party to "go to bat" for me if something went wrong.

Overall, I have been very impressed with this program. There is no red tape or hidden fees; everything was simple for us because of CE's help. From what I have seen, this company is dedicated to helping people see the world because the people who work there have fallen in love with traveling as well. I'm thankful to Cultural Embrace for setting me up with the opportunity to live and work abroad. It is an experience I will never forget.

Program: TEFL
Location: China
Posted: Feb 22, 2011
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
8

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - TEFL