TEFL

Language House TEFL - Prague

It is a busy, hectic month course but by the time you graduate, you're prepared to start teaching in the real world. The staff and teachers are amazing -- thanks to their different backgrounds and experience you get a lot of opinions and advice for how to lesson plan, how to keep your class entertained, and what to do in Prague. The grammar part of the course is important and very valuable for a good TEFL course. Thanks the weeks of studying, I feel confident if a student or an employer asks for grammar clarification or help. The staff is very helpful once you graduate as well. They are always passing on information on schools hiring, advice on how to format your CV, and tips for ex-pat life in Prague. One of the nicest parts of the program is the help offered for getting your work visa. I highly recommend The Language House and hope this review helps!

Program: TEFL
Location:
Posted: Sep 25, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Language House TEFL - Prague

The Language House was an amazing, albeit challenging, experience that taught me so much about myself, Prague, and of course teaching English! The entire staff is first class starting with the director Chris Westergaard. From the minute you apply, he is there to answer every little question, I really don't know where he finds the time but he does and it definitely helps reduce the anxiety associated with uprooting and moving to a strange foreign land. I felt very comfortable and confident with each step of the process. They are a skilled and knowledgable team of professionals that have spent countless hours creating an effective, quality TEFL program. There are so many things to take away from the program when you're done but one of the most important to me has been the community of great friends I gained. Having a solid group of friends is so essential to the Prague experience. So I thank Chris and the rest of The Language House for making an awesome life possible in the amazing city that is Prague.

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Sep 22, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Frontier

It was an amazing experience for me and I really enjoyed it! Here I met some new friends from different countries. I enjoyed teaching and I like kids so much.Siem reap is beautiful.I love this city and people here are very nice.
Thanks for every help from Frontier.

Program: TEFL
Location: Cambodia
Posted: Sep 20, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

I signed up with Frontier for the TEFL incentive! My original reason for signing up was to complete 300 hours of ESL teaching to complete an internship. I thought Frontier was a good value with room and board, TEFL, and assistance included!
I went to Costa Rica for 10 weeks and taught for 8, at an all boys school near San Jose, the capital. I stayed with a host family who I believe were the best in all of Costa Rica, and met a lot of volunteers! Frontier was very attentive to my needs and made sure I was comfortable from the minute I asked for more information on the project, till the day I left Costa Rica.
It was definitely a life changing experience, with the completion of my 300 hours and of my TEFL reward! I highly recommend Frontier! Not only are the projects life changing, but getting the opportunity to explore a whole new world really has broadened my horizons, and has hosted memories that I will never forget!
Thank You Frontier!

Program: TEFL
Location: Costa Rica
Posted: Aug 30, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Language House TEFL - Prague

I was on this website reading reviews for possible volunteer/teaching opportunities for this upcoming year and stumbled upon some reviews for The Language House TEFL in Prague where I got my TEFL certification many years ago. I had to take a moment to write a review for them because I was so happy to see them listed. Honestly their program was AWESOME. It is an amazing value for the amount of education and training and especially the amount of support they provide. They will completely help you set up your life in Prague if thats what you are looking for (amazing job support, cell phone, flat, bank account). They also take a lot of time to organize social outings and showing you the city. Even though I did the program many years ago I still keep in touch with some people from my cohort and have recommended their program to others throughout the years as recently as last year and it seems their program is still awesome. If you are looking for a program that really teaches you how to teach english (you will be confident in what you are doing) and supports you in beginning a new life abroad then this program is a great choice.

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Jul 30, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Language House TEFL - Prague

I am a U.S. certified teacher at an international school in Prague, and I have been teaching here for over a year. One of my teaching certifications is in bilingual education, and all of my students are English language learners. After hearing such great reviews about The Language House from many of its graduates in the expat community, I decided to spend part of my summer vacation auditing the TLH methodology courses. (Because I only audited the classes, I cannot comment on the other aspects of the course.)

My intention was to expand my knowledge of teaching methodology in the area of EFL, and TLH definitely delivered. The classes I attended at TLH far surpassed the American teaching program I graduated from in terms of quality and effectiveness. The TLH methodology classes provided a strong foundation in best practices not only in TEFL but in education as a whole.

The instructors were phenomenal. Skip, Chris, Kate, Tom, Pete, Renee, and Andrea are all highly experienced and engaging teachers with impressive content knowledge. More importantly, they are obviously passionate about teaching, and sincerely care about helping course participants become great teachers. They are also longtime Prague veterans and are very forthcoming about living in teaching here.

Most tellingly, throughout the course, the participants were engaged in learning, enthusiastic about teaching, and supportive of each other both in and out of class. No wonder TLH has such a great reputation in Prague!

Program: TEFL
Location: Czech Republic
Posted: Jul 29, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

I experienced an exciting and insightful month in Phnom Penh with Frontier. Everyone I met, from Frontier and school staff to local people, was extremely helpful and welcoming. Teaching was exhausting but worth every minute, in such a short time there was a vast improvement in my class and it is obvious that the school needs all the help it can get. Aside from teaching, I had plenty of free time on weekends and during the afternoons to explore Cambodia and all it has to offer, including a weekend in Siem Reap and a weekend in Sihanoukville. Should I return, I would be sure to bring a plentiful supply of tshirts and knee length skirts for covering up at school and in temples. Overall, the experience was life changing and my only regret is that I didn’t stay for longer.

Program: TEFL
Location: Cambodia
Posted: Jul 26, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Frontier

My time here in Phnom Penh was unbelievable. I first arrived very sceptical as I had never visited Asia before. I met other volunteers who were lovely and started teaching on the second day I arrived at the school! The school differed a lot from English schools, only had basic facilities and the Cambodian teachers did not speak English very well. This however made me feel more needed at the school and I felt that whilst teaching the children English I was vastly improving not only their education and future prospects, but the teacher’s English skills also. The children were adorable and had a serious desire to learn. Cambodia was amazing and I would recommend Phnom Penh to anyone to come and teach, live and experience it. There was plenty of things to do, I visited local markets, the Royal Palace, the floating villages, Museums and on weekends went other areas of Cambodia like Siem Reap and experienced Ankor Wat. The Cambodian people were really friendly and street food amazing. I would defiantly come back given the opportunity.

Program: TEFL
Location: Cambodia
Posted: Jul 18, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
7

Language House TEFL - Prague

Having just completed the TEFL course through the Language House here in Prague, I feel the need to pass on my positive experience to help others decide to do the same. Chris Westergaard and the entire team go out of their way to support all their TEFL wannabes in every aspect of life here in Prague, and of course in getting the TEFL certificate. The support starts from the first email, and carries on after the 4 week course with further support in job hunting. It ranges from housing support and being picked up from the airport, through support in teaching classes or learning grammar, to helping with job hunting and job interviews. And if that is not enough, the social aspect is not forgotten either, with a welcome dinner, a tour of the most important sights of Prague and a chat whenever they are in the building. I felt extremely comfortable and well looked after during the course and the back up is still there now, after the course. Any negatives? The class we were in was above a bakery and the delicious smells coming in through the window made me hungry. I would recommend the course to all who are serious about wanting to teach English abroad and are willing to put in 4 weeks of hard work surrounded by a lot of fun.

Program: TEFL
Location:
Posted: Jul 1, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

I am a mature student currently studying English at the University of London. I am now coming to the end of my teaching placement at Dudley Intermediate School, Suva, Fiji. I have working mainly in a class equivalent to English year nine, whilst also being given a free hand to create a music timetable and teach piano and guitar to the rest of the school.

Both the school and wider community are very friendly, with the children being far better behaved than their counterparts in London, (where I have also volunteered). Volunteers are able to see the rest of the country during their free time over the weekend, and socialize in the evenings.

I most enjoyed having the opportunity to teach music as well as English in the school. a piano was donated over a year ago, but was not used until my arrival.

My main piece of advice to new volunteers would be to be friendly to the students, but not their friend, Without a professional distance, your authority can be undermined.

Program: TEFL
Location: Fiji
Posted: Jun 26, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
8

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - TEFL