Worldwide

Original Volunteers

Volunteering with Original Volunteers in Cambodia was a brilliant experience and definitely value for money. A friend and I did our two weeks when we were 18 and although we were the youngest out of all of the volunteers (only by about a year) we felt very welcomed and after the end of our time we were upset we couldn't stay for longer. The project coordinator was very friendly and along with the other volunteers eased us into the teaching, firstly placing us in classes as helpers and later on we led classes ourselves. The experience was incredibly rewarding and as well as insightful into the Cambodian culture. I have recommended original volunteers to friends who have then volunteered on different projects and have greatly enjoyed their time as well. I felt very secure and at ease, which is remarkable as it was my first time so far away from home without my family or a large group of friends. We were picked up from the airport by our project co-coordinator and trips were organised at the weekend for us to see different areas of the country with the other volunteers, we were very well looked after and had a great time. Hopefully in the future I will be able to go back to that project but I am also keen to branch out and try other volunteering opportunities in different countries organised by Original Volunteers.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Aug 16, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
9

Worldwide Helpers

Marque de sport, <a href="http://www.footlockernike.fr/">nike chaussure</a> est certainement une étoile montante (anciennement la Nike entreprises ruban bleu est né en 1963). Cependant, en 2007, acquisition de Nike de l'histoire centenaire de converse (créé en 1908), 2008, Nike a acheté UMBRO d'une histoire de plus de 80 ans (fondée en 1924). Nike est sans aucun doute le roi des marques de sport, quel est le secret de leur succès, l'auteur tente d'explorer les Nike du point de vue de l'innovation.

Soulevez le coke, serait penser à Coca Cola, porter des chaussures de sport, songerait à <a href="http://www.footlockernike.fr/">nike store</a>, succès de Nike. C'était le succès de Nike est attribuée à son modèle d'affaires unique – asset-light mode d'opération, qui est ce que nous avons l'habitude de dire gestion virtuelle.

Master tangmubidesi dit est: « font ce que vous faites le mieux et externaliser le reste ». <a href="http://www.footlockernike.fr/">nike air max</a> a commencé dans la gestion de virtual début 80 ' s. Nike fabriquera, distribution et détail entreprise externalisation de processus à une tierce personne de compagnie, comme la course, Nike gardent uniquement l'intégration du développement de produits et du marketing de la marque. Maintenant, Nike est sur plus de 900 usines de fabrication de l'outre-mer, la production de chaussures de sport et de vêtements pour Nike ; société Nike a des dizaines de milliers de détaillants ou agents dans le monde entier, vendant des produits Nike.

Gestion virtuel adopter un levier économique similaire, avec peu d'investissement capital pour le développement de produit et image de marque, pour déloger nécessite des cycles de fabrication et de vente importants investissements en capitaux, obtenant ainsi le développement l'échelle de l'entreprise à court terme. Société Nike à pénétrer le marché chinois, touché un grand nombre d'entreprises en Chine, beaucoup d'entreprises suivre le modèle d'entreprise virtuelle de <a href="http://www.footlockernike.fr/">nike free run</a>, belle prestige nation Tess et Li Ning sont gestion virtuel de chirurgies de correction de vision.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Aug 8, 2013
Overall:
2
Support:
3
Value:
2

Semester at Sea

Semester At Sea is a wonderful program! I am so glad I was able to attend the Spring 1999 program. It is amazing to me that 13 years has passed by! Even after all that time, Semester At Sea remains relevant in my life. The learning, growth, confidence, perspective, and life experience I gained during SAS prepared me for many, many, many more adventures! Living in Portugal for 2 years (2005-2007); graduate school (2000-2002); volunteering in Kenya, in my career field (2004); traveling around Europe (ongoing); working as a "traveler" all around the USA in my career field (2007-2009); and now enhancing daily family life and enriching my, and my family member's personal lives. My sister attended SAS for the Spring 2001 voyage; often everyday events or watching the news, will trigger great memories or give us understanding of situations. It is great having her to talk things through with and to support each other with the "out of the box" ideas we have. I believe our experiences with SAS helped develop our unconventional way of seeing the world. I hope my own children will one day be able to experience the world from the structure and expertise of Semester At Sea!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Aug 4, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

CSA - Center for Study Abroad

This website - Abroad Reviews - can not be trusted. Anybody can post reviews....and they are not "verified" in any way. Some people have a bad experience abroad...so they post a complaint....but their problem may have been their fault.....did something dumb while abroad. Overall, this website is not very useful.

Having said that, I must say that I used CSA services.....to study in France......and I have only good things to say about CSA -Center For Study Abroad.....I received my confirmation documents quickly and CSA was very convenient. They helped me study abroad at such a lower cost than many of the other providers......and I got to do some things myself and have control over my housing and airfare booking. Thank you CSA !

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Apr 1, 2012
Overall:
8
Support:
6
Value:
8

Global Volunteer Network (GVN)

Excellent program and people in the office have actually been to their sites in which they fund. Staff is educated and passionate about children and follow their mission statements. Web site is maintained and up-dated, they always return calls and provide detailed information and safety of their volunteers is the utmost importance.
GVN is also a receipt of funds from the Gates Foundation in the USA and have to maintain a high standard of care, plus they are affiliated with the United Nations.
I strongly support the education they offer volunteers and the great opportunities to which peoples's lives are enchanced because of this organization.
If you have been to their seminars (new) and where they are located you will see they are good stewards of the funds to which they are trusted to deliver.
Miki Teixeira
Director of Crowley Children's
USA

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Sep 17, 2011
Overall:
8
Support:
10
Value:
9

Orphanage Outreach

There are not enough words in the English language for me to describe how much I love Orphanage Outreach! I have served with them three time and each experience has been better then the last! The staff and long term volunteers are amazing and incredibly helpful both before and after the trip. OO offers excellent direct service opportunities as well as cultural experiences in the surrounding community. The meals/accommodations are modest and perfect. I highly recommend Orphanage Outreach to anyone who is interested in volunteering in a Spanish speaking country. They truly understand what it means to serve and how to serve and make an impact in the community. I have even had the opportunity to serve with the founder of the organization! He is amazing and passionate about Orphanage Outreach and does a wonderful job!
Please consider volunteering with OO, you will not regret it!
I cannot wait to go back for my 4th time!

ps- all the kids have beautiful spirits and are so genuinely excited to be with you!
pps- I don't speak spanish, you don't need to...actions speak louder then words!!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Feb 9, 2011
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Habitat for Humanity

I've done 4 volunteer builds with Habitat for Humanity and can assure you they are a fine and legitimate organization.
I've worked in Romania, Egypt, South Africa and China and will be going to Thailand in May of 2011. The groups are usually between 10 and 20 persons and besides working hard, you will meet wonderful folks and have a great time.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Dec 22, 2010
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

Travel to Teach

If you're looking for a rewarding, yet affordable volunteer experience, then I strongly recommend Travel to Teach. Travel to Teach has projects throughout the world that focus on teaching English, working with orphans, volunteering at Wats, restoration camps, and animal welfare.

Joe, the project coordinator, helped prepare me for the experience so that even before I arrived, I knew what to expect. His dedication and hard work ensured that all of the volunteers had a rewarding and enjoyable experience. The support was amazing.

I spent seven weeks in Thailand volunteering by day at a primary school. In the evening, we would go to the Wat and teach the monks. The smiles and hugs were the biggest rewards of all. Our free time was spent exploring nearby sights, going to festivals, and immersing ourselves in various village traditions.

Travel to Teach is great not only because it allows you the opportunity to work in some of the poorest regions in the world, but it gives you the opportunity to immerse yourself in the culture. The cost of the program includes, accommodation, cooking and language lessons. They also have great combination packs, so you can volunteer in several locations, like Laos and Cambodia for a great price.

I have volunteered with many organizations in my life, but Travel to Teach was by far the best. So much so, that next summer I am going to try Cambodia!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Dec 5, 2010
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

I volunteered with them too. What they don't tell you is that the owner of the company keeps all the money!!!! It's a fun company to volunteer with but its not a real non profit organization..it's 100% FOR PROFIT. My advice- find another organisation.

Cross-Cultural Solutions

I am a mother and grandmother and baking cookies for 24 grandchildren for several years could not even compare to the satisfaction one gets from being a volunteer in other parts of the world with Cross Cultural Solutions. My assignments were varied from Womens Empowerment Group, to schools to orphanages to senior day care centers. I loved them all. This month I am heading off to Lima, Peru for four weeks with Cross Cultural Solutions. They have been so good to me including the staff, the cooks,drivers and security. I sold my house, put my furniture in storage and have my one suitcase packed. "I can't sleep. I am so excited!" I will be 84 years old my next birthday. IT DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Oct 3, 2010
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

Darlene thank you for inspiring me. I was reading all these posts dreaming of volunteering wishing I had done it all sooner. Before coming to your post I was thinking that realistically being 45 with kids at home this might not happen for me. But here you are at 84 - amazing. There is hope!
Hello, I wanted to congratulate you in your adventure and also ask if you could share some of your experiences in Peru, I have a son who is planning on going there this summer, he is 18 and very excited about the trip. Anything you could share is great help for us, thanks! Kidzvillage

Original Volunteers

This is hands down the worst charity I have ever been involved with. My boyfriend signed up to be a member with them, because we were going to take a year off between high school and college. We had each saved up a lot of money and wanted to volunteer to help the poor. He paid over 600 USD for the membership, and a little over 2 weeks later he asked for a refund (the website said refunds are allowed within one month of buying). We had found another organization to work with. They took forever to get back to him, and by the time they did, they said he had requested the refund too late. He replied with documentation of when he bought the membership and when he had asked for the refund. Then original volunteers actually went and changed their website so that you have to ask for a refund within two weeks! I swear, when we bought the membership, it said you had a month to request a refund, and they changed it to two weeks after he made his request. I am disgusted that this organization makes their money by exploiting idealistic young people. I lost a lot of my faith in the goodness of people thanks to them. Please volunteer with a different organization.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Worldwide
Posted: Jun 9, 2010
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Comments

You should have registered with the company you wanted to travel with. - You did mess them around.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Worldwide