Spain

Adelante Abroad

Wow how do I start....

Well, please keep in mind that the positive reviews made before me are most likely written by Adelante Abroad staff itself... They have a tendency to do that if you look around study abroad review sites.

If I could do it all over again, I would not go through Adelante because I truly believe I was scammed by by the company and two of its employees, Kimberly Haber and Ellie Clarke.

I could go on and on for pages about how many fraudulent claims these two employees (and the website!) make, but I won't waste your time. The primary fact you need to know is that the staff is hard to reach/communicate with and that you may be exploited, especially if you sign up to work as a study abroad intern through this program.

The website clearly states that interns will work 4 hours max/day, which was not the case for me. AT THE END, I WAS FORCED TO WORK 12-HR DAYS, EVEN THOUGH I BEGGED THE INTERN COORDINATOR NOT TO. None of my requests were listened to though, and I felt helpless. I was only relieved of my grueling schedule after I continued and continued to complain and then contacted the US Adelante office. It was a nightmare and I was exhausted from working all of the time. Plus I had no free time since I sometimes worked on the weekends, meaning I did not get to travel as much as I had hoped... I'm still pretty disappointed about this.

I signed up to teach English, and to my surprise, I was more of a babysitter because I "taught" English to 2 and 3-year-olds. I voiced my discontent with my internship, but the intern coordinator gave me a hard time about switching internships. I was forced to keep working there even though I was unhappy. When I told the coordinator that I was dissatisfied with the internship because of the fact that I couldn't practice my Spanish with my "students" he simply told me to "find a Spanish boyfriend to practice talking to." I found this advice to be demeaning and unhelpful to say the least.

I am currently struggling with trying to get back my $5000+ tuition from Adelante Abroad, who is refusing to grant me any sort of refund fro my experience. I am going through my credit card company to get some sort of compensation though.

I would truly advise you not to choose Adelante if you want to have a guaranteed good time during your study abroad experience. Although I know some feedback from the company has been good, I seriously question its validity. I say this because one of the girls I knew in Spain constantly complained about how terrible Adelante was, yet has posted on several review sites how "great" her experience was... Hmmmmm. I can only guess that Adelante asked her to complete these reviews, and that she was fully aware that the staff would be checking the positiveness of her responses...

Good luck searching for the right study abroad program for you. If possible, I would select a program that is affiliated with a credible U.S. university... That's what I wish I did!

Program:
Location: Spain
Posted: Jun 26, 2013
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

Comments

Adelante Abroad response: To clarify - Jessica P. was in Madrid just over one month. During that one month, the first two weeks were spent, as all our candidates do, in intensive Spanish classes. Her contracted internship began the third week. This internship placement was exactly what the candidate requested, Teaching English to children. It was contracted with her long before she arrived in Madrid, including a detailed website where it is clear that the business is teaching English to young Spanish children! So, in total she interned about 6 business days. The hours were from 9 - 2 pm. When she requested to change her internship our Director in Madrid worked hard to find an alternative which she attended for one day then voluntarily chose to leave the program. Adelante Abroad provides internship programs for independent-minded individuals - it is not a hand-holding program and no one is ever 'forced' to do anything. As per our website this candidate received everything that we offer: airport pickup, housing in a shared apartment in central Madrid, intensive Spanish classes and an internship placement in a sector chosen by the candidate. Adelante Abroad does have many positive reviews for our programs on various 3rd party study/intern abroad review sites - please read for yourselves. We ask all our candidates, on completing their program, to post reviews. We are not familiar with abroadreviews.com and notice that their verified programs are all for Volunteer Abroad companies while we are Primarily for Intern Abroad or Study Abroad programs. This candidate signed up for a four month program and departed abruptly after just over one month. This candidate failed to disclose to us until days before her program start date significant medical and mental health history information. Upon arrival back home, this candidate requested a refund of her program fee. When we denied that, based upon our clear and widely published cancellation policy, she threatened to write as many negative reviews as she could publicly and at her University. She has waited till 3 months after returning to do this.
First off, telling people the truth about your less-than-ideal experience with a company is a political right... not to mention the RIGHT thing to do. It's not fun being bullied into silence. For anyone who reads this string of reviews, please keep in mind that Adelante sponsors many "third-party" study abroad review websites and gives them advertising money so that they can control what sort of reviews they receive... No wonder why so many of their comments are so great!! The bad ones are immediately deleted! The only reason why my newly-written comments are still posted is because I have personally called the websites to make sure they don't take my reviews down. It is my hope that by writing this review I will save at least one study abroad student from going through what I did... If you would like to see an entire website dedicated to Adelante abroad's horrible service, please visit: ****************** NOADELANTEABROAD.com ******************* You will see that I'm not the only student who has been having problems with Adelante. I stand by everything I have already stated above. Good luck with your study abroad decision and I hope you keep my story in mind!
Also, notice how Adelante did not say anything about me working 12-HR days... Hmmmmm.... Maybe because it's the truth!

Tía Tula

I am currently attending this school. It was a very good decision. It´s a mid sized school located in Salamanca, Spain. The teacher is really good, always encouraging, correcting both grammar and pronounciation. My spanish has greatly improved in the short time that I am here and I´m really looking forward to the improvement as I will be in Spain for a couple of months. The school organizes accommodation, they also have activities planned for each day of the week, the classes are small so you get really good attention from the teacher. The school is located a minute walk off of the Plaza Mayor in the heart of the city. Accommodation is also within walking distance to the school. Salamanca is also absolutely breathtaking with beautifully preserved historic buildings! There is a lot to do and see while you study which will really help in practicing to improve your spanish!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jun 14, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10

CSA - Center for Study Abroad

OK so some interesting reviews here so I think I owe these guys a review.

I've personally done a few study abroad programs, 2 during college and most recently as an adult learner so having been through these different options may offer some unique insight into the value of a company like CSA. For me, it was mostly about efficiency. They knew the process, they knew the documentation required, they also offered up some tips that I may not have received in doing it myself. My undergrad program did it all for me, it cost a lot and wasn't flexible (I had a great time tho!). I had to do it myself in grad school which was also good but a lot of work and didn't really want to go that route again but upon seeing the prices of some study abroad programs, I was tempted to go DIY again. CSA offered me a happy medium and did indeed deliver on that. I did Barcelona which was amazing. I did not experience some of the issues that some have outlined on this website aside from not answering phone calls (emails were satisfactory for me though) so I can't speak to those specifics, only that mine was a very good one.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: May 28, 2013
Overall:
8
Support:
6
Value:
10

Global Learning Semesters

I wonderful opportunity to study abroad in Barcelona, Spain, with Global Learning Semesters in the Spanish Language & Culture program. My entire experience abroad in Barcelona was enlightening and educational, and inspired me to continue learning languages and culture upon returning home to the United States. I lived in a small traditional flat in Barcelona outside a soccer stadium with two roommates, who are still my close friends. We would ride the Metro around the city having mini-adventures during the day, and cook dinner together each night. We trusted each other completely and stayed safe during the semester. As an international student, I attended classes at the Universitat Autónoma de Barcelona for four days of the week, and traveled for the weekend. My professors were incredibly intelligent and spectacular in each of my three classes. I took Mediterranean Culture & History with a quick-witted, straight-talking professor named Toni. He made lectures interesting by relating century-old events to the present, always reminding us that history repeats itself. In my Modernisme Architecure class, my professor David organized class trips around the city, providing first-hand insight into famous Gaudí architecture. Soon, our sketchbooks filled up with Gaudí architectural impressions and lasting memories. My Spanish class proved to be as entertaining as the rest, led by my charismatic native professor Mónica. She had a warm personality and funny charm that made everyone laugh the entire lecture. She also believed in learning Spanish not through textbooks but through conversation. Her class gave me the confidence to speak to natives around Barcelona and finally polish my language skills. My study abroad experience inspired my newfound goal to continue traveling and learn five languages. I strongly believe that learning new languages is always beneficial, allowing people to improve their communication skills, expand prospects for career opportunities, and simply connect with people whom you would otherwise never meet. Despite not having direct impact on my college engineering education, I believe having multilingual abilities will be productive in all aspects of life and help in the workforce. I

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Sep 14, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Learning Semesters

DONT GO TO SPAIN WITH GLS!

The payment amount for this program is radical and other programs that are linked with UAB have provided better facilities than GLS. Also when working with advisors and the secretarial service through GLS I felt that money has been the major priority and not student reassurance, which is very common when dealing with outside organizations.

I ran into way to many problems with GLS. I loved studying at UAB but GLS was unacceptable.
The biggest problem was the living situation. All the students are scattered all over barcelona city and my apartment had construction 5 out of 6 weeks that i was living there. I had noon classes, thinking i would be able to sleep in and enjoy the nightlife in spain, but that isn't possible when they building is jack hammering a concrete roof at 7 in the morning.
GLS should have provided a quite and appropriate living situation for students.

Overall way over-prized for the lack of activities GLS provided. They don't even have an office in barcelona. It is a completely new program and i wouldn't study with them. Spain is amazing and i would look into other programs in barcelona through UAB.

READ THIS!!!!! i was a little unsure if i was being to dramatic or if other students felt the same way so i surveyed other students in my program, and 13 students out of 14 said that they would not recommend GLS to a friend.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Aug 24, 2012
Overall:
2
Support:
1
Value:
5

Global Learning Semesters

Before I even completed my registration with GLS, I received at least 5 phone calls a week checking to ask why I hadn't paid my confirmation deposit, sent in all of my registration forms, etc. However, once my summer semester was over and I was back home, they weren't so eager to help. I was told on several occasions that someone would be in contact with me, and each time no one ever called me back. My bad experience with GLS started the minute that I landed in the airport. We were told to be sure that we arrived at the airport by 9:30 because that's what time we would be taken to our apartments. After an 8 hour flight, we ended up staying in the airport until 1, 3 and a half hours later, because the bus that was supposed to pick us up and take us to our apartments was not arranged properly. The housing that GLS provided was also poorly located from our college, and from the other student's apartments. They stated on their website that travel costs would be included in the program, but everyone had to buy a 50 euro metro pass which only lasted for 4 of the 6 weeks we were there. The metro pass was necessary because school was at least a 20 minute walk away, and some of the other student's apartments would've taken an hour to walk to. The "excursions" that GLS took us on were also disappointing. Students in other programs were taken on trips to Madrid, Valencia, etc. Our excursions were to areas no farther than an hour outside of Barcelona, and little to no activities were planned for us once we got there. The program leaders simply set us free in these cities, told us what we SHOULD go see, but didn't even take us there, so if you couldn't follow the map (IN SPANISH) you had no hope in finding the attractions that you wanted to see. They didn't include the price of lunch, entrance to museums or exhibits, or anything basically. Lastly, at the beginning of the program, I was told that 2 weeks after the program was over, I would receive my housing deposit. Now, one month later, and after much difficulty getting ahold of someone at GLS, they have said that it will be anywhere from 6-12 weeks. In general, I feel that GLS was unorganized, the cost of the program did not cover nearly enough, and if I were to study abroad again, I wouldn't go through this program.

Program:
Location: Spain
Posted: Aug 14, 2012
Overall:
5
Support:
5
Value:
5

Pretty much you do everything your self. They trick you by saying the program fee is a certain price and that the deposit is included but it isn't. They are really hard to get a hold of and the only thing that will make them answer you is when you have to pay them. There is no support for anything. You arrange housing on your own. I did the program to UCM in madrid. The staff. Is really mean and not helpful at all, they are also unorganized. If you don't know any spainish good luck finding where u are supposed to go. I speak spanish and I got lost. Most of the students are from China. I was the only one in the class that wasn't. Teachers are really mean to the Chinese. Next time I'll just rent an apartment and explore the city myself. Talking to the locals is way better, they are nicer and you will learn more. If you want to drop out of class because you don't like it you don't get ur refund even if it's only after 1 day.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jul 13, 2012
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Comments

CSA saved me much time and money ! They helped me avoid spending so much money with a packaged program. Much flexibility. You can even pay the program balance upon arrival check-in. Highly recommended for independent oriented students !
I agree with Alima. CSA was a godsend.....saved me both time and money. I went to Paris for a semester, paid much less than many of the other students who went on expensive packaged programs. I received my confirmation documents quickly, arranged my own flight and housing, and had a good experience. CSA provides a good service......thank you CSA !

API - Academic Programs International

The strong educational component provided by API without a doubt marks this study abroad program provider as number one in my mind. API's sole focus on offering students a strong educational experience really demonstrates the program's concern for students academic learning in the abroad sphere. Outside the classroom, API does a tremendous job of continuing students' learning, through cultural activities in the country of study to excursions within that country and abroad to working to offer the best host families and residential places to live that will give students a true insight to that country's culture. Everything API does focuses on providing students the most insightful, safe, fun, and education experience it can while they are abroad and I wholeheartedly support API as a program provider.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: May 10, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

AbroadCo

My daughter studied in Spain summer, 2011. We have YET to receive her transcripts. We have left numerous voice mails and sent numerous emails. NON RESPONSE from Chris. Daughter is graduating this semester and those credits are needed. I recommend you DO NOT use this company. Waste of money and time.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Apr 26, 2012
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

API - Academic Programs International

Studying abroad was one of the best decisions I've ever made and I'm so grateful that I chose to study with API. Both the onsite staff and the API team back in the United States were always extremely accommodating and helpful throughout the process, both before going abroad and after I returned home. Families for homestays were carefully selected and API always put us in good hands. Above all, the number of trips and excursions API took us on throughout Spain and even internationally along with the countless cultural activities they provided enhanced my experience greatly and gave me a deeper insight to Spanish culture than I could have done myself. Best of all, the program was cheaper than most other programs I had found--including the price of all the trips and events! I highly recommend studying abroad with API.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Mar 6, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Spain