Spain

Sol Education Abroad

After a while I felt comfortable walking around in the city alone and exploring, I even had favorite spot in the city to eat and relax. I love paella now. I was able to try foods different from home, even though I live in a spanish speaking household. There were some foods that did not sit well with me, but for the most part everything was good. I had a roommate from the states and a host family. Everyone was nice, but I enjoy having space to myself sometimes and I thought it was going to be me and the host family. However, it turned out better than I expected because I had another person going through the same living experience that I was! As for SOL - German was super responsive to any concerns I had regarding my academics or more places to go around the city! A.K.A cheap and fun! SOL was the most affordable and had so much to offer! A tip I would have is to talk to your host family in the native language. They know you are not fluent and that you are there to learn so practice with them. Especially during dinner! Talk to your other friends or people you meet in your program in the native language regardless if they respond in english, you are there to better your skills!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Oct 7, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

The Intern Group

had previously studied Spanish in Spain and knew I wanted to go back. I looked around for internships online and finely settled on Intern Madrid because it seemed like the best program and at a really reasonable price. The people were great right from the start. I had a couple Skype sessions in order to figure out my interests and what I wanted out of an internship and got a great placement. Upon arrival I immediately felt welcomed and there were lots of great events to meet people and make friends. The people at work were also really great and made you feel included.

Thalassa was really great and was always there if you needed anything. Whether it was a restaurant recommendation, bringing you to a store or even letting me borrow her iron when we didn't have one. She really helped to make this experience a great one.

The housing was great. I had a pretty big apartment and even a balcony in my room and overall I had no complaints about it.

My work experience at the job was great. They gave me a lot of responsibility and freedom and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I just found a full time job now that I am graduating and this internship really stood out. I was able to talk about so many applicable experiences that I feel set me apart.

Overall this was a great experience. I made a lot of great friends, got good experience and fell in love with Spain all over again. I hope to be able to return and work there again some day.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Sep 4, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

The Intern Group

Choosing to participate in Intern Madrid was a great decision. Once I was accepted into the program, I was able to communicate with Christina, one of the program coordinators, and she was always available to answer any questions I had about the Intern Madrid process.

As soon as I arrived at the airport there was a driver ready to pick me up, bring me to my apartment and give me the welcome packet. This feature made me feel at ease right away. My apartment was very nice - right in the heart of the city and just a short walk to the metro. There were many options for restaurants and shopping and I was so close to Retiro Park which was great! I really bonded with the other participants in the program and we still keep in touch! My internship was good as well. I worked for a marketing company and everyone in the office was very welcoming and friendly. I was a little nervous about not being able to speak the language fluently, but I was able to work in English, use a translator tool and improve my Spanish by speaking with coworkers and friends.

I also really appreciate the hard work and dedication displayed by the program coordinators - Christina, Thalassa, Olga - you ladies made my experience what it was and I can't thank you enough for your involvement and support!

Additionally, I liked the structure of the program - having pre-planned included events in conjunction with an internship was the perfect set up for me. I always attended tapas night on Friday - it was a great way to meet the other participants and create lasting friendships.

Madrid is a beautiful city; so full of life and culture, and you're guaranteed to have an amazing time! I was in Madrid for two months and they were two of the best months of my life! I highly recommend this program to anyone who is looking for a great internship and an awesome experience! :)

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Sep 4, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

The Intern Group

I approached Thalassa and the Intern Group with a somewhat peculiar situation, as I was already in Europe and looking for a way to stay, get a job and enjoy the Spanish culture. Within a few weeks (2) Thalassa had placed me in an incredible internship! Although my circumstance is not applicable to most interns/applicants, this attests to their flexibility, attentiveness and hard work in accommodating anyone's specific needs.

My internship placement could not have been more fun. Not only did the position fit my personality and professional interests, but my employers were incredibly helpful in recommending fun activities, places to eat, and trips to take around Spain. They truly understand that while you are there to work and gain working experience, this is also an opportunity for you to explore the culture and have fun! I found a great balance of work and play, which is exactly what I wanted.

Housing...at first, I had a brief issue with an overbearing landlord who decided it was perfectly okay to enter my apartment without warning, or even without me home, I expressed my concerns with Thalassa she sprung into action! Within 24 hours she had found me the most incredible flat in what quickly became my favorite neighborhood in Madrid--without a crazy landlord. She did so with no questions asked, simply concerned with my happiness and well-being. This set the tone for the rest of my program, encouraging me to approach her with any issues I may have had. This woman is amazing at what she does--I swear she never rests!

Don't worry about making friends--Intern Group goes out of their way to ensure friendships are made between interns and staff alike with Friday Tapas nights, movie nights, trips to Toledo, and just the normal-day "hey let's grab drinks after work!" Or, if learning Spanish is on your to-do list, Thalassa quickly found me an amazing Spanish tutor that I'm still in touch with!

I have, and will continue to, recommend this program to friends. And I cannot wait to return to Madrid and see the city I love, as well as the friends I made while there!

Program:
Location: Spain
Posted: Aug 20, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

API - Academic Programs International

it is no secret that API is cheap, however with paying so much money for an experience API and the Universidade de Deusto treat its study abroad students like elementary school children. Both API and Universidad de Deusto treat its students as if they are incapable of being responsible or making their own decisions. It may be on good merit, but it is completely unnecessary. We are not small children and take responsibility for our own actions,

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jul 8, 2014
Overall:
5
Support:
10
Value:
5

SPI Study Abroad

My son went to Santander with SPI last summer, and my daughter attended in Biarritz the summer before last. Both had truly wonderful experiences. Here is what I thought of SPI, overall:

4 week program: I would definitely recommend the 4 week program. I say this because, as in my son's case, it took him a few days to feel comfortable and get over any "culture shock" that he had. After this adjustment period, he was able to relax into his time there and really soak up the experience. He said there were some kids who had done the 2 week and were disappointed that they couldn't stay for longer.

Homestay: Both my children adored their homestays! Their "parents" were wonderful people, constantly cooking big meals for everyone and checking in to make sure they had everything they needed. SPI clearly does an admirable job of selecting families.

Supervision: It is made very clear by SPI that students are expected to abide by their code of conduct - this means making curfew and not taking advantage of any free time they have by staying out late. The staff is attentive and helpful and genuinely care about their students.

Activities: SPI has mandatory activities for a few days out of the week, and a couple days are reserved for electives and optional activities. This was definitely a great structure.

Classes: The classes are wonderful and stimulating. I liked that there seemed to be just as much of an emphasis placed on cultural discussion as there was on grammatical structure.

Overall experience: I have nothing but positive things to say about SPI. The staff, classes, activities and structure are just excellent. Most importantly, the immersion aspect of the programs is so well-designed. Both my children's language levels increased dramatically throughout the duration of their programs. My son is now continuing his studies in college and is planning on a double major in Spanish - thanks to his experience with SPI!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Apr 2, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

AmeriSpan

I went through AmeriSpan for a 6-week Spanish language immersion in Salamanca Spain in the summer of 2012. They responded to all my questions, and I got a substantial discount on the program I would have not received had I gone directly to the school. More than 90 days away from the program start, I changed my program by a week with no problem. Before I departed an AmeriSpan representative sent all the information I'd need to get to my homestay. I was very happy with the school (Enforex), and so I decided to use the two weeks I had intended to use for a little backpack through Andalucia to extend my program to 8 weeks. Again, Amerispan made the arrangements, and I was able to pay online which saved me the hassle of working directly with the school. I was very happy with the service I received and I am planning to go back to the same school soon and I am going to use Amerispan again. I posted a lengthy review of my experience on a Lonely Planet's Thorn Tree travel forum. In fact, to see it, you need only google the following: Spanish Language Immersion in Salamanca Spain

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jan 25, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Sol Education Abroad

Though I was only abroad for a month, the quality of my education and experience in Granada cannot be quantified in just this review. The staff based in the United States are punctual and professional, and the on site director was brilliant and helpful with any concerns that I had. I am fluent with the Spanish language, but their emphasis on the culture and customs of a new locale opened my eyes to the greater possibilities a college education can provide and is something I hope more students take advantage of. Whether you are a student or parent reading this, I can attest wholeheartedly that Sol is the best program for the nations of Costa Rica, Argentina, and Spain. You will not be disappointed.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Aug 13, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Adelante Abroad

I did the Adelante program in Madrid for four months. This was the first time I worked in an international company and in a different language, and I admit I was nervous! It was definitely a challenge but it was one of the best experiences in my life. All of Adelante's connections in Madrid are top quality. I had excellent language classes, and my apartment was amazing. I interviewed with two companies and selected the smaller company that provided a very supportive atmosphere. To this day my former bosses feel like my small Spanish family. I learned so much; not only about my internship, about the new country I was in, but also about myself. In addition to a quality program, Adelante provided great support. When I had some doubts after my first interview, Adelante encouraged me and was a great help. Throughout the whole experience, and now looking back, I recognize that Adelante was a very good value, and I'm so glad that I did their program. After Adelante I worked in France, then in San Francisco, subsequently I got my Master's Degree at NYU, and now I am a Director at a non-profit. My Adelante experience undoubtedly was a great foundation to my future career successes!

Program:
Location: Spain
Posted: Jul 19, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Adelante Abroad

My name is Ernst and I am from South Africa. I completed an internship in Barcelona through Adelante Abroad during the last 3 months of 2012 and cannot express the profound impact this has made on my life. I interned with American company www.partyearth.com, spending my time honing my social media skills and reviewing social hot spots in Barcelona. I fully believe that it's my extensive reviews writing portfolio that landed me a copy writing job withing 2 months of being back in South Africa. My new employers even commented on the high quality of work. Naturally I was glowing and well chuffed! but it wasn't all moonshine and roses...

Within my very first week of the internship (after my 2 weeks of intensive Spanish lessons) I had a massive freak-out, convinced that I had made the wrong decision and was determined to change my internship. Adelante very calmly got the ball rolling in finding out exactly what my issue with the internship was. After two days of counselling, supporting and soothing me they helped me realise that the sudden magnitude of working in another country where I didn't know anyone or speak the language got too much for me and that that was in fact the reason for my panic. They 'talked me down' so to speak, always kind and supportive. And today I am still more grateful than ever that they didn't let my fear get the better of me and helped me to persevere. I have SO MANY awesome memories of that specific internship, not to mention very specific experience and a huge portfolio that is also getting me a lot of freelance work. Simply put: they saved me from making a very stupid mistake. I will forever be indebted to them.

If ever you get the opportunity to intern though Adelante, know that you will be in safe hands. The fact that my initial interview was with Kimberly, the company's director, was already a huge bonus. Knowing that someone with such a high position in the company took time out of her busy day to make sure I knew exactly what I was letting myself in for was more than just a comfort.

I thank you will will promote your good name to anyone and everyone who I cross paths with.

Ernst

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jul 8, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Spain