Spain

Global Leadership Adventures (GLA)

Global Leadership Adventures provides an amazing experience with the comfort of safety. I never doubted that I was safe and sound in the hands of my program leaders (I went on the Cultural Kaleidoscope program to Valencia, Spain) but I was also able to have the absolute time of my life. We volunteered at an amazing local school with thirty Spanish kids, teaching them English. In our down time we went on weekend excursions, walked around Valencia, and even went to a few concerts. GLA gave me an experience I'll never forget. Helping the kids with English gave us an opportunity to see Spanish culture up close and also to give the kids a window into our own culture. This was a trip I wouldn't trade for anything!! (you can find out more about the program I was on here: www . yelp. com /review_share/p34Ky4z56J9m3_jYD9-D8w/review/TA1aV9luabPcAu0bBFhdkw?ref=ce) Definitely recommend to travellers of all kind!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Oct 20, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

The Intern Group

I did the 12 Week Internship Program with Intern Group and right from the very start I knew this would be an invaluable experience.
The fundamental information about the types of internship programs are all laid out on the website and there are plenty of contacts and outlets to reach out to, and who reply very quickly.

Intern Madrid have an incredible team of supportive and friendly people!
From the first day they are always ready and willing to help you in your intern life in Madrid.
Intern Madrid provide you with your metro card (free for the first month), key to accommodation, a map, and a network of friends so you have instant pals in your new city!

Intern Madrid found me an internship at a great start-up in Political Technology, and the skills and connections I made there will prove to be meaningful throughout my career journey.
The accommodation was excellent. No it wasn't a fully refurbished, air-conditioned villa, it was a typical Spanish shared apartment in the city! And that's what I wanted, to live like a Madrileño, not like a tourist. The location was perfect (5-10 minutes walk to everywhere really!) and had all the necessities.

As for the social side of Intern Madrid, the team there plan plenty of social events for you to catch up with fellow Intern Group people and to be culturally immersed in the Spanish culture.
From tapas nights to sightseeing, I felt that I learnt a lot about Madrileños and Spain through these planned outings.

Madrid is a beautiful city and I believe it's quite underrated compared to the likes of other European cities such as Paris or Venice! It's a lively city that has much to offer any time of the year. No wonder the Spanish have their siestas!

In summary, I have nothing but compliments and good memories from my Madrid Internship and hopefully will be back to work there! I cannot thank the Intern Madrid team enough for their hard work and dedication in making the interns have a fulfilling experience there :)

Program:
Location: Spain
Posted: Oct 18, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

The Intern Group

I did a 11 week internship in Madrid, Spain. It was honestly one of the best summer of my life. I was helped form the very start on my transition into the new country. The Program Coordinators were always there for me and wanted to help me in every way possible. When I was trying to see what to do with where to live and how to get around, they were very quick to help out.
Also, the Intern Group was great to have social events for the group as well. I have met some of my best friends in this program. I had amazing friends that went all around Europe with me and got to go to tapas nights or night clubbing. I still talk to a lot of them to this day!
But most of all, the internship was a great experience. My major is Computer Science and I got to work wait ha tech start up. It was an amazing first internship opportunity. I got to utilize my skills that I learned at my university while also learning Spanish as well. I got to work in a Spanish environment and increase my resume too. It was really worth it once I left Madrid and was at a Career Showcase. So many of the companies were interested at how my internship was in Spain. It helped me stand out and become a more unique individual.
In every way, this was a great experience. Inside and outside of the internship, I made sure to make the most of the program. The only annoying thing with the internship is the price. It was frustrating always having to tell people that I didn't get paid for this internship and that I did all the work for free. I wish the companies were a little more grateful for our work and helped contributed to our stay. It would make me feel a lot more appreciative and allow more people to want to apply to the program.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Oct 16, 2016
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
8

The Intern Group

Married is a culturally city, historical places, the capital of Spanish language and it is the center of Spain which means you can go to any place in Spain or Europe. As well as, Madrid is one of the cities that it doesn't sleep. So, there are many things to do during the day and night. Also in the weekends.
If you want to have an internship, learning Spanish and living in a city that it is not expensive if it compares to others European cities. Than Madrid is the answer.

In the summer, there are many events in Madrid and the whole Spain. So, you will not get bored.

Program:
Location: Spain
Posted: Oct 11, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Sol Education Abroad

When one thinks of studying abroad, things such as the chance to travel, immerse oneself in a new culture, and make lifelong friendships and memories come to mind. While all of this is true, those things are only the typical golden highlights of it.
SOL did so much more than that when it came to making my study abroad experience the best that it could be! The program directors did a fantastic job pairing roommates, not to mention the family placements. Moving to a new country is difficult enough without adding in the stress of having a roommate you don't get along with. With SOL, they carefully read your preferences and personal interests and match you with another student similar to yourself. My roommate and I were practically twins! My host family was welcoming and eager to introduce us to the Spanish ways of life, I never felt like an intruder in their home.
Apart from housing, SOL facilitates entertaining and culturally enriching activities to highlight the different things that Granada has to offer. A few of my cultural activities included a flamenco class, a visit to the Alhambra, Arabic baths, and horseback riding. Among the excursions we took were Sevilla, Cordoba, and Nerja. I loved the opportunity to be exposed to these three cities of Spain that I otherwise may not have seen. They were places filled with as much history as they were beauty.
Overall, SOL was very organized and did a great job in preparing events that truly engaged us in the cultural aspects that were most important. The on-site directors were always friendly and made sure we knew that they were available for anything we may need. If I were to study abroad again, I wouldn't want to go with anyone but SOL!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Aug 26, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Adelante Abroad

Internship Abroad Program (includes Spanish classes, internship and housing)

Program:
Location: Spain
Posted: Jul 22, 2016
Overall:
4
Support:
3
Value:
4

Frontier

I spent two weeks on the Tenerife whales project. Really enjoyed it! The staff are lovely and although I was only there a short time I really felt like a part of the team, and that my activities were part of something larger. On a typical day you will probably go out on the whale watching boats for half a day. During this we're involved in two main activities - cataloguing the whales and dolphins sighted (there are loads in this part of the world!) and raising awareness on sustainable whale watching.
The volunteer house is a real gem, it's far enough from the city centre that it's peaceful but you can walk to town in 10 or 15 minutes. There's loads of space to socialise, cook, and work on the project initiatives.
I'd like to have stayed longer but I am aiming to go back again in the new year.

Program: Gap Year
Location: Spain
Posted: Jun 27, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Sol Education Abroad

I can't give Sol Education abroad enough praise for the wonderful experience they provide to their students. Sol met and surpassed all of my expectations for a study abroad program. I experienced complete immersion through living with a host family who provided 3 traditional meals a day, through cultural activities and excursions led by Sol directors, and through classes taught by Spanish professors at a local university.
Granada is the perfect location in Spain for students because it offers everything you could want in one location: beautiful city streets and great places to eat and enjoy tapas, the Sierra Nevada mountains nearby for hiking and skiing, and golden beaches close enough for a day trip.
I would pick Sol all over again and every time!

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Jun 7, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

The tenerife project was incredible! I left with so much knowledge about cetaceans and experience with collecting data. I went on many boat trips with informative project workers and other volunteers monitoring and recording data about cetaceans. Within two weeks my skills on the boat trips and writing up data massively improved and so did the qualities of my photo ID pictures.

The house we stayed in was comfortable and so easy to settle into, it had a great atmosphere and lots of space. It was easy to bond and make friends with other people on project throughout the boat trips, activities, briefing and sharing house chores.

I would recommend that anyone thinking about signing up for this trip, should do it for at least 3 weeks , it was so hard to leave! I am going on to study zoology, and a project like this is the perfect introduction to field work and the type of amazing people that run conservation projects. I definitely feel like i've had an unique experience, and unforgettable encounters with pilot whales, dolphins and a brydes whale.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: May 18, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

I participated in a week long project in Tenerife, more specifically the Whale and Dolphin Conservation Project hosted by the company Frontier. I had an amazing time throughout this entire project, not only did I learn a lot of valuable information about the cetaceans that occupy the waters of Tenerife, I also gained a lot of knowledge about the Island itself. I found the volunteering and the tasks I had to participate in very enjoyable, definitely a memorable experience. The accommodation was excellent and I found the hosts very professional and accommodating. This is an excellent project overall, and very good value for money. This was the first time I have ever volunteered abroad and it definitely will not be the last. If you are thinking about volunteering or undergoing a similar project, I cannot recommend Frontier highly enough.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Spain
Posted: Apr 16, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Spain