South Africa

Askari WCP

"To put this wonderful experience into words is nearly impossible but I will try. Firstly Ed and Katie are 2 of the nicest people you could wish to meet. Their knowledge is amazing and enthusiasm to pass it on makes you want to try and use this knowledge to better yourself. The physical activities were very enjoyable and made you feel like you were really contributing something positive to the projects. We arrived as individuals and 4 weeks later leave as a very close knit team having experienced so much together. Anybody thinking of coming here, stop thinking and book your trip. I promise you will not regret it for a second and the experience will stay with you forever. Askari is a priceless diamond in the South African crown and must stay that way. Thank you so much for everything. "

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Jul 14, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

My second visit to Askari was even more amazing than my first - and I never thought I'd be able to match the first one! Every day is a new and different experience & adventure whilst at the same time contributing to the important conservation work that the reserve is dedicated to. There is a great variety in the tasks and the animal sightings, whilst never guaranteed, are always breath taking. Katie and Ed are amazing teachers and every volunteer leaves with so much knowledge, understanding and appreciation for the South African bush - plants, insects, animals and birds. If you want to get involved, get hands on with conservation work and have the experience of a lifetime then I can't recommend Askari highly enough. I can't wait to get back for another visit :)

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Jun 29, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

I felt privileged to work as a volunteer at Askari for a month, that I could share in the vision of a wilderness reserve managed for habitat and wildlife conservation as the first and only priority. And have such fun doing it! We slept under the stars one night and watched the sunrise with lions roaring in the distance. We watched hyaenas play, elephants wander up close, and lion cubs tumbling about under their mother's watchful gaze. A cheetah brought down an impala and fed with her cubs right outside the front gate - amazing to see. We rescued trees strangled by wire and murdered more prickly pear than I can remember. Thanks so much to the Askari staff Katie & Ed, and Pidwa staff Andrew and Elricht for their incredible knowledge, good company and honesty about the management dilemmas facing wilderness reserves and national parks under pressure on a crowded planet. It was a great experience -- highly recommend it!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Jun 14, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

Askari is a unique volunteer project that has real conservation goals. Whilst volunteering I learned so much you would never learn in another safari type experience. At the same time staying in a beautiful place with wonderful people, made great friends, had lots of fun, and contributed to the real conservation of South African ecosystems. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and the accomodation is beautiful and comfortable. Overall, definitely an amazing experience!!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Dec 9, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

Before coming to Askari I was very nervous but excited and I didn’t really know what to expect. But as soon as I arrived Ketie and Ed were so welcoming and I felt at ease straight away. Over the past month has been the most amazing experience. I’ve had opportunities to see Lions, Elephant, Honey Badgers and many more. I’ve learned so many things from all the different animal species to birds. We also had very full-on activities like darting Sable which was incredible a very special couple of days I’ve enjoyed every single moment here and it’s been a life time opportunity doing this amazing programme. I’ve met some amazing people and a big thanks to Katie and Ed for making this experience the best!!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Dec 4, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Daktari Bush School & Wildlife Orphanage

Ever since I first visited Daktari (over 9 years ago, not as a volunteer but as a friend) I made a promise to myself that I will come back but as a volunteer.
I finally did and it was even better than I imagined. I spent three weeks at Daktari teaching children, looking after the animals living there and mostly laughing and having fun with the other volunteers. The whole team at Daktari are great, they made me feel at home even before putting down my bags.
The work that is done at daktari is amazing, what Ian & Michele have created is really something worth taking your hat off to. Having lived and worked there for a couple of weeks, you really appreciated the amount of hard work that is put into it, they are literally changing most of these children's lives with the knowledge they give them during their week at Daktari.
It may sound exaggerated (I promis it isn’t) but the time I spent at Daktari was one of the best experiences of my life, just participating a tiny bit in what they are doing is a great honor and I was very proud to be part of it.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Dec 3, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

People often ask me what my experience with Askari Wilderness Conservation Programme, Pidwa Wilderness Reserve was like and I find myself speechless. The indescribable natural beauty, talented staff, comfortable accommodations, and unwavering amazement of the surroundings made it an unforgettable experience. Always feeling safe with our hosts Katie and Ed every moment was an incredible learning experience. In after two short weeks seeing and being able to identify over 100 species of birds and over 60 species of mammals this is an opportunity of a lifetime. When an opportunity comes up to volunteer with Askari WCP believe me you won’t regret participating in an incredible conservation programme within a benchmark wilderness reserve.
A chance unlike any other to learn about the importance of sustainable design and increase knowledge around environmental science, conservation, wildlife monitoring, and so much more. I hope to return and experience this wonderful and inspirational place, Pidwa Wilderness Reserve forever has a place in my heart. Thank you Katie and Ed for making it a truly amazing experience!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Nov 15, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

African Impact

I graduated college in the U.S. and was planning on starting work right after. But, I decided to pursue a dream of volunteering abroad. IT WAS THE BEST DECISION I EVER MADE... I chose African Impact because of their great reviews. But the reviews don't do it justice. From the moment I walked into the house, I felt like I was at home. The staff and other volunteers were extraordinarily welcoming. The best parts were obviously the projects. The kids are incredible and melted my heart everyday. When I tell people about my experience, I get a shiver down my body just thinking about how amazing the kids are. In addition, the program is really well run and you feel like you're making a true impact (it's not about just handing them toys and taking lots of pictures). The adults really appreciate our help and know that it is making an impact to improve their society.

Not only is volunteering incredible, but living in a house with all the volunteers is always a blast. From Monday Night Trivia to Events Night Thursdays to a random Movie Night with ice cream to crazy weekend adventures like shark cage diving, paragliding, a wine tour, countless hikes, and much more, there is always something to do in the house. The people here are incredible and you will without a doubt make more memories than you can imagine.

If you are even considering volunteering with African Impact, DO IT! And stay for as long as possible... I stayed for 10 weeks and wasn't ready to leave. Countless people during my stay extended there stay once they were there because they didn't want to leave. It may be scary to take the leap of faith and go to Africa. But, I promise you won't regret it!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Oct 29, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Daktari Bush School & Wildlife Orphanage

Fabrice and Cécile (Dad and Mum)
We lived an unforgettable experience at DAKTARI Bush School ! Our amazing hosts, Ian and Michele, and great volunteers were so kind with us ! Our entire family has been wonderfully well received (welcomed). Parents as children were immediately involved in all activities. To help with the education of great children and to take care for wild animals was an amazing and rewarding experience. We will never forget our hosts, all other volunteers, children and animals of DAKTARI Bush School. Thanks to all of you!

Marianne (Bobo), 14 years old
I spent only one week at DAKTARI, but it was so wonderful that I left in tears. Everything was perfect. We met very nice people who I will never forget. DAKTARI is just like South Africa: a beautiful place, unique in the world. That is why I want to thank all who were there and made this adventure amazing, especially Michele, Ian, Marta, Nathalie, Erica, Ernest, Manu, Toine, and also all the volunteers, Wellington, Thijs, Amy, Jodie, Julie, even Mirabelle and Nikita !
You can be sure that I will come back!

Baptiste (Baba), 12 years old
I had a brilliant time at DAKTARI : to take care of animals, meet other young people, walk in the bush, play cards and participate in daily tasks !
I feared not being authorised to participate in activities. But instead, I was busy all day with some great people and great animals. Thank you all !

Perrine (Bibi), 15 years old
I only spent one week at DAKTARI but if I could had made this experience last longer, I would have gladly done it ! We had a lot of fun with the other volunteers and children. The animals were just as amazing as the people. I really do hope I will come back one day !

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Sep 20, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

This summer, I went on a 2 week volunteer trip to South Africa at the ProjectsAbroad Human Rights Office in Cape Town. I didn't know what to expect, coming in as a high school student from Indiana into a program normally reserved for college students. Of course, I couldn't take on clients or perform any of the legal work, but the work I was able to do exceeded all of my expectations. For two weeks, I performed Human Rights work that involved travelling across Cape Town to different schools, townships, and juvenile detention centers, performing recreational and educational activities with the kids. ProjectsAbroad also granted me the opportunity to design and present my own educational presentations on a variety of topics to help troubled youths between the ages of 5 and 17 dealing with very difficult situations.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly throughout the program. At the beginning, all of the general ProjectsAbroad staff were incredibly welcoming and informative about every aspect of the program in which we were about to participate. Before coming to Cape Town, Coordinator Flora Mbambi gave me all the advice I needed about any belongings I needed to take with me and what I should expect. On the first day, I learned immediately about my duties, was introduced to the stunning city of Cape Town, and made some new friends. After my introduction, I met the two staff members with whom I would spend the majority of my work days: Ricardo, my supervisor throughout the trip, and Shuan, the head of the social justice area of the Human Rights Office. Ricardo was incredibly helpful in helping me to settle in and in teaching me all about Cape Town; He even showed me many of the local attraction in the short time that I was in town. Shuan was hilarious and incredibly helpful in guiding me through all of the social justice programs. The ProjectsAbroad staff also did an excellent job in organizing the weekend Garden Rpute Safari Tour for me.

Finally, I would be remiss not to include my incredible host family experience. My host mother was Faye, an amazing and sweet woman who has been hosting kids for the past decade. She would cook breakfast and dinner every day for all 5 of her volunteer kids, although she has hosted up to 30 at once. She made us incredible local food of every variety each day, and refused to let us pass it up. She helped to show the new volunteers different parts of Cape Town and was very gracious every time any one of us had a request. With Faye, it was almost as if she was our real mother.

I'll never forget my experiences in South Africa. My time there has changed and shaped who I am. I would recommend ProjectsAbroad to anyone looking for a valuable volunteer experience and the chance to see beautiful places, help underprivileged people, meeting great friends, and take memories with them that will last a life time.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: South Africa
Posted: Aug 3, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - South Africa