Peru

Global Crossroad

I spended two month in Cusco.That was the best time of my life. The people are socordial, I directly felt like being home.
I worked there in three different projects. The first time, I worked in a catholic girls school and helped the english teacher during the lessons with all things. I was in classes from the first to the tenth grade. The clasrooms are really good equipped, but the girls were not so motivated to learn. That makes the teaching a little bit harder. One week the teacher was on an excursion and I was in the class on my self. That was a really good experience and I enjoyed to be a teacher although that were really exhausting days.
After the school, I went to an orphanage were teen mothers living with their children. I looked up for the children and played with them, had them sitting on my lap and just was there for them.That was a really funny and also calm time and a good contrast to the hectic work in the school.
My last two weeks I completly changed my place of work and got the possibility to work with disabled young people. I didnt want to leave at work, because we had so much fun together. I helped creating the free time in this orphanage. We painted with our fingers, builded up towers of bricks and we danced a lot. One day we made an excursion and picnic. Although they are handicapped, they never lost the joy of life. It was funny to work with them and we loughed a lot toghether.
Everytime at work, wherever I worked, they gave me so much back. I smiled a lot and had much fun at work, which I didn´t expeted after a six to eight hours workday. But it´s not mandatory to work so long, I just did it, because I loved my work and the people I worked with.
When I came home, I had a lovely family and a nice homestay. I enjoyed to live with Maria my hostmother and my lovely sister. The other familymembers often came for visits and we had funny evenings and also a hilarious birthdayparty for two of us volunteers. My coordinator also lived with us, which was really practical, so I could ask everything on any time I wanted. Before I went to Cusco, I got all informations I needed from my coordinator and from the organisation. Everything was well organized and I felt welcome, when I came to Cusco.
I lost my heart in this city and gave it to the children, I worked with and the nice people I was permitted to met. Now my mind is full of lovely memories and I will keep them forever. If I get the chance to go back to Cusco another time,I would directly do it and just can say, it´s a nice and cordial country to visitand live for.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Dec 6, 2018
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
8

Globalteer

I will always cherish the experience in Peru

I grew up on a farm and have been passionate about helping animals all my life. I particularly connect with dogs so wanted to volunteer to help dogs in need. I already have experience volunteering with dogs at home but wanted to take on the challenge of helping at a shelter overseas.

The project did not disappoint, I was able to get stuck in straight away and the dogs were amazing, really friendly and loving despite their horrific backgrounds. The work was as expected but probably more rewarding than back home knowing these dog’s stories.

Cusco is a wonderful place to volunteer, beautiful city and friendly people. The staff and other volunteers were great. I never felt alone in the hostel, great place to socialize.

I would highly recommend!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Dec 4, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Globalteer

I absolutely love all dogs so decided to combine my holiday with helping dogs in another country again.

This project was amazing, the shelter owners were so passonate and there love for dogs was obvious. They worked so hard for many years to care for dogs in Cusco, I was inspired by their dedication!

The problem for dogs in Peru is huge, attitudes are different and there are so many dogs on the streets.

The support at this project was wonderful, Globalteer has an office in Cusco, so the staff were always there and available when I needed help. When I volunteered overseas before though a different organisation, their office was back home and support was via email so not so good as this project, especially as I have not really travelled independantly.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Dec 4, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

First and foremost, if you are considering volunteering overseas I commend you. It takes a certain type of person to want to spend their time abroad helping people, and Projects Abroad will help you immensely throughout the entire process as they did for me.

I was in Peru for a month doing Archaeology, though I got to meet other volunteers doing teaching, care, and other projects. Everyone was happy in their placement and enjoyed being apart of the local Peruvian lifestyle. Living with a local host family when I knew no Spanish was extremely daunting at first but I had no issues being able to communicate everything I needed with them, especially with my supervisor readily willing to help translate if I needed it. Mostly a series of hand gestures was enough, and they were able to teach me quite a bit!

The placement itself was incredibly fun and time went by extremely quickly. The people there are some of the friendliest you could find anywhere, not to mention that everyone is extremely likeminded. In my archaeology group we all shared similar interests and I have since made some lifelong friends from all around the world.

If you are considering this company I suggest sending them an email with all your questions, concerns, and anything else you may want to throw in there as they are quick to reply and help you. I had no idea what I wanted to do at first, but now that I'm home I'm so grateful for all the support I received from my first email to now. It was an incredible experience and I hope to volunteer with them again in the future.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Nov 19, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

RCDP Nepal

I spent six weeks in a Peruvian orphanage for teenage moms and their kids and stayed in a local host family in Cusco.

The overall experience was just incredible and those weeks have significantly changed my life forever. Therefore, I gave the whole amount of stars for the overall review and can also recommend a program like this.

Our local country coordinator (Roger) in Cusco did an amazing job and there is nothing I can say but THANK YOU to him. He did not just continuously ask if we were fine and made everything to make us feel comfortable but also organized trips for us and even joined us on several trips so that he can ensure that we were save. Therefore, he even acted additionally as a little tour guide and became a good friend. Before coming to Cusco I did not expect to have such great coordination and to feel this welcome as I did during the whole time of the stay. Planning and joining us on our trips and taking making sure all the time that we were fine was nothing that I expected from him to do so that I was feeling even more welcome in this country.

The work in the orphanage was incredible as well. It differed a lot from helping in the kitchen to cleaning the playroom and changing diapers. It is completely up to the volunteer what he/she wants to do to support. The tutors do not tell you what to do as they are already very grateful that you are there so that they do not want to force you doing something that you may not like. It was for example not an obligation to change diapers or mopping the floor but something that was necessary and where I thought it might help them in their daily progress. There is lots of self initiative necessary as otherwise you may sometimes not know what to do.

My host family was amazing as well!! There was one other volunteer living with me for the whole time of stay. Three others have also been living there but arrived later and partly left earlier (one was there just for one week, the other one for two weeks) so that there was usually always someone in the house. Our host mother is such a lovely person. We all liked her very much, the food was great and there was nothing that I missed.

I can just recommend to go on such an experience as it will change your life forever. The only thing why I did not give all stars to "value" is that the registration/application fee being payed to RCDP is a little high in my eyes because I was not sure for what they have been using all that money.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Nov 17, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Projects Abroad

Since the day I booked my trip the projects abroad team were super helpful. We had many email conversions as well as phone calls. They answered all my questions, no matter how silly they seemed. They have created a support page also with super helpful information and guides specific to your country. Including tips for their language, culture and VISA information.
When I got into Peru, I was picked up straight away. My host family from day one were super helpful and welcoming, they made me feel very safe. While in the country I could easily contact the staff, and they also took me on a tour around the town, showing me bus stops, were to get money out safely, and exchange.

Throughout my placement I played a lot of volleyball. It was so much fun!! I got the opportunity to help work with the students 1 on 1. This was such an incredible experience being able to bring joy to a school, and educate the students with new skills.

It was really special to be able to spend a afternoon a week with other volunteers from around the world, we also would organise many dinners, and my host family was very supportive of me going and having dinner with my new friends. To be given the opportunity to meet like minded people and from new friendships was such an incredible experience, and am very grateful for this.

I loved my whole experience with projects abroad. From day one I felt supported, safe and happy. I can not wait to volunteer again!!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Nov 14, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

It was a great experience and I got to be involved in the culture and learn new things about Peruvians. I thought the local team in Peru did an amazing job and the in-house coordinator was really on top of the ball. I highly recommend this program to any one who wants a more affordable option. I do suggest bringing more money than you think you'll need just because I know I ended up spending more than I thought I would.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Oct 31, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

It was a great experience and I got to be involved in the culture and learn new things about Peruvians. I thought the local team in Peru did an amazing job and the in-house coordinator was really on top of the ball. I highly recommend this program to any one who wants a more affordable option. I do suggest bringing more money than you think you'll need just because I know I ended up spending more than I thought I would.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Oct 31, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Peru
Posted: Sep 15, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Volunteers

Program:
Location: Peru
Posted: Sep 10, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Peru