Asia

Frontier

The Frontier trip was brilliant. I went on the South East Asia Ethical Trail and would recommend it to anyone who was interested in experiencing the culture of Thailand/Cambodia/Vietnam or simply wanted an amazing trip packed with unforgettable activities and the chance to meet a great group of people who will be friends for life! The team leaders were brilliant, they sorted everything out so that you don't have to worry about any of the responsibility, and you know that you will be looked after if (in the unlikely event) anything should go wrong. I would definitely go on another trip with Frontier in the future!!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Asia
Posted: Mar 17, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
8

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

+++ WARNING - FAKE REVIEW +++ THE FOLLOWING REVIEW HAS BEEN DEEMED A FAKE AND RATINGS MOVED TO ZERO. IT HAS BEEN BELIEVED TO HAVE BEEN CREATED BY A FAKE USER THAT DID NOT REPLY TO ABROADREVIEWS EQUIRIES +++ I trusted Go Abroad China to place me in reliable and honest organizations that are 100% committed to making a difference in my country. Go Abroad China brought me to Beijing in 2012. The trip was my own without any friends or family traveling accompanying me. But with Go Abroad China I honestly never felt alone. The best example of how much I trust this organization is that I went back to Go Abroad China for my next trip to Shanghai in 2013. They fit me with an organization as passionate as I am and knowledgeable as I hoped to be. My placement was incredible and I couldn't have imagined a better fit for me. I was working with at least four other interns at a time but we all worked in different areas.
Besides I was arranged to stay with a local family, which is my favorite moment in China. When I asked my "mum" if I could go to dance lessons during my time in Shanghai and she was like "dance lessons? Of course! Tonight we'll put on some music and I teach you how to dance.". And so we did and it was so much fun! :) ....At work it was simply every morning when I arrived and everybody screamed "good morning" and hugged me. I felt loved. Along with the time spent with Chinese people, my Chinese skills are improved much.
In addition to all of this, I met some other dedicated intern from around the world. In total, we were a group of 10 from 9 countries. The best part of this organization is that you can choose what part of the year you want to go on your trip, so people in the group came and left for various lengths of time. I still keep in touch with my friends overseas today to see how they're doing.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Asia
Posted: Dec 27, 2013
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Go Abroad China (GAC) ***Warning Fake Reviews***

+++ WARNING - FAKE REVIEW +++ THE FOLLOWING REVIEW HAS BEEN DEEMED A FAKE AND RATINGS MOVED TO ZERO. IT HAS BEEN BELIEVED TO HAVE BEEN CREATED BY A FAKE USER THAT DID NOT REPLY TO ABROADREVIEWS EQUIRIES +++ My name is Nick. I'm from the US, I took a semester off of college at a private school in New York called the King's college to intern abroad with GoAbroadChina.

It's been a pleasure to work with the people of my internship company as well as being involved in the actual work they are doing. It's fascinating to see the business side of China and to compare them to the way things are in developed countries. And my Chinese class is absolutely helpful. I have 20 hours a month of Chinese tutoring. It's one and one and it's awesome because it allows me to ask the things I want and the teacher is able to focus on me exclusively rather than having to split time within me and other students. In addition to taking the classes, you will learn just from riding the subway, ordering food etc.

My living accommodation has been the best part of me living in Beijing. I have an awesome roommate. He has made my experience in Beijing one I'll never forget. I haven’t had a lot of bad culture shock because I have set a strong community with people who look after me. I’m thankful for it.

This experience will impact my future in so many ways. I've always been interested in working in China and I knew that I wanted to do business here in the future but having gained experience in the space I've had access to during my internship, I know that the network I've developed and the work experience I developed are going to come in handy in the future.

Goabroadchina's program coordinator Ada is been awesome, she picked me up from the airport, took me to my accommodation. After that she has been in touch with me by emails, see how things were going. And she frequently invites me out to lunches, see parks or museums in Beijing. Just today we went to an art zone which is really awesome, called 798. That's the coolest thing I've seen in Beijing. So if you are lucky enough to have Ada as your program coordinator, you are in for a treat.

If you are interested in going abroad, GoabroadChina is the company to go through.

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Asia
Posted: Nov 13, 2013
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Frontier

Not to make it sound too clichéd or anything, but travelling to South East Asia with Frontier has probably been one of the best experiences of my life - and I'm only 3 weeks in! I always wanted a Gap Year and a chance to travel outside of my comfort zone, but due to knowing little about the culture and history of such countries, I felt unsure and uncomfortable at the prospect of doing it alone. Travelling with Frontier has given me the opportunity to explore and immerse myself in the places we visit. Yet by having 2 team leaders, I have felt safe the entire time. Furthermore, as the leaders are knowledgeable about the areas we've been to and have had experience here, they know the best places to stay, eat and the activities that are worthwhile. We're also allowed a significant amount of independence whilst here and a say over what we do, so it doesn't feel like a school trip! So far, my favorite place in Thailand has been Pai. It was a nice break from the busy, bustling streets of Bangkok. There, I went tubing, rode an elephant and participated in a 2 day trek to visit a hilltribe. Chang Mai is a second favorite, zipwiring over the jungle in the day and partying at night - one can't complain! Overall, I couldn't recommend Frontier more; I've had countless, unforgettable experiences and still many more to come!

Program: Gap Year
Location: Asia
Posted: Oct 27, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

I did the South East Asian ethical trail from July 2013 through September.

It is a difficult thing to review because of the multitude of different activities, smells, experiences, sights and places that are endured within the 10 weeks. It is the most action-packed couple of months I have ever partaken in and to say I have "enjoyed it" feels something of an understatement.

The staff involved were warm, amiable and down-to-earth; making the transition from everyday life into a very intense and jam-packed time in a foreign, sweaty and often dirty continent as smooth as possible. To have a bad time on the South East Asian ethical trail feels like a near impossibility; there are activities to suit interests of the broadest spectrum and the staff are immensely flexible to your individuals wants and needs as a person. You are attended to the whole time and the emphasis on the fact that this is "YOUR trip" is drawed upon heavily making the whole thing feel more comfortable and fun.

The activities were all worthwhile and rich cultural experiences; it did not feel as if we were merely grazing upon South East Asian culture but often getting knees deep in it. Particularly during the placements in Cambodia; of which I did both 2 weeks teaching in Siem Reap and 2 weeks at the Marine Camp in Koh Smach. Both challenging, rewarding and meaningful ventures in their own regard. The smiles of the Cambodian children we taught English to are forever stained into my mind and the experience of having stayed in the simple, beautiful and very remote Koh Smach is one I will treasure for years to come.

My companions on the tour have become my family and you learn a lot about social endurance as well as yourself and teamwork within the 10 weeks. The experiences I have had with these people; the good (temples, tequila, tailor shop trips), the bad (the heart of Asia is something of a diamond but as her worst she can be a rough place, not to mention the dreary buses from one place to the next) and the plain weird (be prepared to set sail with drunk locals and witness some very outlandish living situations), these are all the adhesive that binds us together as friends for life. I feel like I have grown a lot in these mere 10 weeks. And in all of the sweat I've repelled, money I've lost buying novelty Asian goods, and moments I've been saddened by the atrocities I've learnt that these mostly-wonderful local people have come from; I have enjoyed every moment of it.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Asia
Posted: Sep 10, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Frontier

My experience with Frontier has definitely been one of a lifetime. For the first month of the trail we visited Northern and Southern Thailand. The trek we did through the mountains in Chiang Mai was amazing. The view from the top of the first peak left me with a sense of achievement like none I'd yet experienced. Getting to play with elephants at the end was just icing on the cake! After a memorable drive north (763 curves), we were in Pai. There I took circus lessons (plate spinning, poi, fire staff, etc.) and a cooking class... So now I can make my spring rolls and juggle them, too! (and of course eat them... yum) We were in Bangkok for the Thai New Year, Songkran, during which the entire country engages in a 3-day long water fight. You can't go anywhere without being soaked! Needless to say it was an exciting time to visit the capital. I also especially enjoyed climbing to the top of the Main Pagoda at Wat Arun, which offers the most amazing views of all of Bangkok. South, we visited the Erawan National Park in Kanchanaburi. The waterfalls there are spectacular and have little fish that nibble at your feet and monkeys that swing from the trees above the pools. My favorite place so far was Koh Tao, where we got our open water diving certification. It was my first time ever scuba diving and I absolutely loved it. The corals were simply stunning and it was great to learn a new skill (the souvenir that keeps on giving!)
The second month of the trail was quite a change in pace, and equally as unforgettable. We spent it on the island of Koh Smach in Cambodia. The island had only about 20 permanent residents, and we quickly got to know the locals well despite the language barrier. Island living was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Each night in our hammocks we listened to the sound of waves crashing and frogs and insects chirping, and woke up as the sun rose. We were there at the start of the monsoon season which was very exciting. As if all that wasn't amazing enough, I also loved getting back into student mode after a year out of school. Our first week we learned the names and identifying traits of over 60 fish that we would be surveying as part of a study on Coral Reef Habitats. It was truly fascinating work, and it was exciting to really be a part of the science that up until that point I had only read about in books or heard about in lectures.
I'm writing this review poolside in Mui Ne, Vietnam. I sincerely hope that whoever is reading this review will seriously consider traveling with Frontier. Not only have these past 8 weeks been extremely fun, they have helped me to grow as a person. The 6-day storm on Koh Smach tested my patience and renewed my appreciation for the sunshine when it reappeared. Visiting the Bridge over River Kwai in Kanchanaburi, the Killing Fields and the S-21 museum in Phnom Penh, and the Cuchi tunnels and War Remnants museum in Ho Chi Minh City were emotionally trying experiences, but they gave me chances to reflect and grow and learn. This trip was no "walk in the park." It's not all fun and games; it's not tourism. It's traveling. Though parts have been difficult, this trip has definitely been one of a lifetime. It was my first time traveling and I was nervous at first, but the trail leaders have been really helpful. The trip has been very well organized and well structured which was vital to me as a first time traveller. For the more experienced traveler, however, there is plenty of opportunity to go off on your own if you want to. It's all very flexible. I can absolutely guarantee, from my experience, that you will have the time of your life--I know I have!
P.S. we're going sand boarding (which I imagine is like sledding down sand dunes) tomorrow and I'm really excited!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Asia
Posted: May 28, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
9
Value:
7

Visions Service Adventures

I've worked 8 sessions for Visions and there's a reason I keep coming back. The goals of the program really reasonate with me. We get to live in one community all summer and get to know people, the area, and become truly integrated in the short time we have. We do service projects that are chosen by the community and often get to work side by side with people who live there. The kids that choose a Visions program are people that really appreciate getting to know others and spend their summer doing service work, and those are kids I like spending my time with! Visions is a WONDERFUL program. I love it. :)

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa, Asia, Central America, USA
Posted: Jan 15, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

The trail has so far been really insightful and fun learning about the different cultures and exploring different parts of the countries. I thought the trail leader and rest of the group were all very welcoming and friendly and i feel i have made some really great friends. I'm really looking foward to this next month of teaching in Cambodia and would definately reccommend this project to anyone who is interested in an introduction to travelling and backpacking.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Asia
Posted: Sep 15, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
7

Comments

Hi, I am thinking about teaching in Cambodia for my gap year in 2013. How long have you gone for? Are there other people around the age of 18/19 on their gap year as well?
Hi Katie. If you fill out an online application for any of our projects then a volunteer advisor will give you a call and you can ask any relevant questions, including volunteer numbers and age ranges. There's no obligation at that stage - it's just an informal chat so you can get a feel for the project and ask any questions that you may have. Thanks, Frontier HQ.

Frontier

The South East Asia trail has been a great time full of new people, new places and new experiences. Highlights have been the many fun nightsvout, river tubing in Pai and elephant riding in the river as well as great times seeing both bustling cities and beautiful countryside.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Asia
Posted: Sep 15, 2012
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
7

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I chose a 4 weeks teaching program with IVHQ in India. I'm glad that I made this choice. India is an incredible country. I love the kids in my school, the Morning Star School, in Faridabad. They are smart and eager to learn. The principal, Mr. Raj, is full of passion and love. He and his family gave me a home with love in India. Their house is clean and lovely. The food is in India type and delicious. I really feel enjoyful to be here.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Asia, India
Posted: Jul 5, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

Thanks for your review, Stella! It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your experience in India and the company of your students and host family. Thank you for volunteering with IVHQ.
I'd love to hear more about India from you if that's possible! I'm looking into both India and Africa and they both sound amazing. My email is jennicaq@msn.com it would be great if I could get a chance to ask you some general questions :)

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Asia