Africa

Askari WCP

exceptional...magical...unforgettable...a dream...a unique experience...a human adventure...incredible encounters...magnificent wild animals, these are my 4 weeks spent in the reserve Askari. it was my first solo trip, my first trip to South Africa. I fell in love with the Bush, the landscapes, the animals. the days pass very quickly: animal observations, lessons on fauna and flora, crafts and lots of moments of sharing. daily outings through the reserve day and night, a night under the stars made this experience magical. The staff are adorable, we get attached to Bronwyn, Stuart and Katie. Every day, I think of them. I will definitely come back because we come back from this adventure better.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Dec 26, 2023
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

Askari WCP

I just concluded my second volunteer trip at Askari, and this place never ever gets old. My first time I spent 3 months, and most recently I stayed for 2 months, and my life was changed, enlightened and inspired both trips. We are involved in so many aspects of the reserve management, learning about the bush every day and making amazing friends along the way. Askari is special. I get choked up just thinking about how much its impacted my life and my passion for wildlife management and conservation. You will leave this place feeling inspired and proud of what you took part in, I guarantee it.
If youre wondering if you should come to Askari, do it! Your outlook on life will be changed for the better, and your breath will be taken away at least once a day...thank you Askari, I hope be back for trip #3!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Jan 28, 2023
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

This volunteering has been the best experience of my life! This was the first time that I travelled alone for my vet studies and I was just amazed day by day by the animals we discovered. I have got so many great moments that I will always remember, from seeing the lions up close, to seeing such young hyaena pups on our trip to Kruger (so curious and cute!) to having an elephant herd surround us, it was so beautiful! In the final week, we had an unexpected visit from a wildlife vet to assist with an injured cheetah, I am so grateful for that! I made new friends, we had lots of hilarious moments. The braai rendez-vous around the fire each Friday night was just perfect and memorable. Thank you Katie, Stuart, Bronwyn and all the staff for their kindness and their passion. They made me live my childhood dream! 

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Jan 4, 2023
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

Askari is my first volunteer mission and what a joy it was! These four weeks have passed at high speed as I loved all these moments spent along true enthusiasts – Andrew, Katie, Bronwyn and Stuart. The discovery of this beautiful reserve, the search for the wildlife that composes it… I learnt a lot during my stay and leave with my head, eyes and heart full.

Thank you again for your kindness, your teaching and all the good times spent together. Hope to see you again one day!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Nov 26, 2022
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

My wife and I attended the program for 4 weeks and had a great time. My highlights were seeing many animals in their natural setting and the opportunity to educate myself along the lines of a better understanding of conservation challenges in SA but also throughout the world. Greater learning gives me more knowledge to make better decisions about what I can do to help. Highly recommended and doing it with a group from New Zealand was an added bonus!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Oct 11, 2022
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

My stay at Askari was wonderful, I enjoyed everything in the bush, the sessions of work, the animals, the tour trips and the house. Askari is a real serious programme that really aims at working on the conservation of a reserve in Africa. I felt so happy and proud to have been part of such an amazing project. Each people I met were nice, helpful and available when we needed it. Katie is doing an amazing job as the manager of Askari and she is really passionate about it. It is such a pleasure to share this passion with her. Same for Donald, he is also passionate and involved in his mission here. The house of volunteers is also really nice and the food really good. To conclude, I spent an amazing time at Askari, I will never forget it and I am actually wondering when I am going to come back! Thank you for everything and congratulations for the great job you are doing, keep it up and never change!!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Apr 13, 2022
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

It was a life-changing experience for me! The staff is amazing and it's a great privilege to be part of an effort for conservation. Living in a reserve is an amazing experience and it made me review my priorities for the better. It was my first time in Africa, but I felt completely at home at Askari and learnt so much. I can't wait to come back.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Jul 21, 2021
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

What a fabulous programme and made all the better by being able to work alongside Katie and Robbie. These two are absolute stars and really know their stuff.
They have so much passion and energy for what they do it can't help but rub off and leave you feeling a whole lot wiser about Animal conservation.
As a complete rookie and a little apprehensive to begin with we were certainly put at ease and no question was too daft! Our month at Askari flew by and we had a blast learning laughing and experiencing some fantastic sightings that were truly magical.

The workload is fun and very manageable, the food is great and Sth African wine is fantastic!

Don't dilly dally, get yourselves there and be prepared for an adventure!

Tracey (48 1/2)

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Sep 19, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Askari WCP

Askari is a truly amazing place were you will foster a love and passion for conservation. You will be surrounded not only by amazing views, but amazing people. These people, Katie, Robbie, Andrew and everyone else will change you... so be prepared. They will fill your mind with knowledge and wonder, and leave you speechless. They are intelligent beyond belief and caring, but also passionate and dedicated people. IF you have a passion for the environment or even the slightest curiosity and feel like going abroad. Trust me, you will make no mistakes travelling too Askari. IF you are reading this I bet you're interested, and I bet there is something telling you to go. Oh.. yah that's me... GO. I didn't regret it, I bet you won't either. I will never forget this experience, and once you get a little taste, even a glimpse you'll want more. So prepare to go back... at least once or twice.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Aug 9, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Daktari Bush School & Wildlife Orphanage

In only two weeks DAKTARI Bush School & Wildlife Orphanage made me feel like I was at home. I lived the best moments of my life in this amazing project. The environment with the other volunteers and staff is just amazing, I will forever miss those people. I truly didn't want to come back home. The animals, the kids, and the overall community was so much more that what I was expecting. I admit, I am a princess and never was a bush girl, but the patience that you had for my comfort was endless.

DAKTARI, I owe you a huge THANK YOU, you are the best.

I will eternally miss you,

Your non bush girl.

Program:
Location: Africa
Posted: Apr 26, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Africa