Globalteer

Not Verified What's this?
8.3 / 10 after 17 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings

Submit a review

Our daughter's trip to Peru to volunteer was preempted because of the global pandemic. Globalteer refused to grant a refund, nor did they offer an alternative. We were simply put off by the manager who told us that we should seek recompense through travelers insurance. While they may be a very reputable organization, their handling of this was less than professional, and for that reason, I would recommend that people look deep into the organizations they are willing to help. We will from now on.

Program:
Location:
Posted: September 7, 2020
Overall:
2
Support:
2
Value:
1
By: clennreed
Age:
60

I volunteered at the dog shelter in Cusco in 2017 at which time it was not possible to leave a review. My experience was rather negative.

I was very upset by the conditions and the way the dogs were treated to the extent that I had to stop going there after the second day. I informed the Globalteer office in Cusco of my concerns and they took quick action to address the most serious of these.

After I returned home to the UK, I wrote an email to Globalteer detailing what I had seen and also setting out suggestions as to ways in which the dogs' welfare could be improved. I have been involved in animal welfare all my life and have volunteered at numerous shelters in various countries and therefore thought that my suggestions would be useful. As a Iawyer I am familiar with the UK standards. I received a response from the manager which I was not happy with as the statements contained therein did not correspond with what I had seen myself at the shelter, and direct questions were not answered. I asked him if my complaint could be forwarded to the trustees but did not hear anything from them. I then wrote a letter to each of the trustees at the company's registered address but did not receive any replies. I don’t know if my letters were forwarded.

I then asked my member of parliament (MP) if he would write to the trustees for me. He kindly tried to do so but only received a reply from the manager. I am sorry to say that in this reply, which my MP sent to me, the manager stated that I was making things up about the shelter because I wanted to get a refund of the fee I paid to do the volunteer placement. It also contained the same kind of inaccurate statements that I had received myself.

My MP then contacted the Animal Welfare Group in the UK Parliament about this issue, the chairman of which then wrote to Globalteer. Even he did not receive a response from the trustees but only from the manager.

Program:
Location:
Posted: December 5, 2019
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1
Age:
51

I volunteered with Picaflor House in November 2018 for couple of weeks
Globalteer team put children into their heart and they direct you accordingly during your volunteer program. The kids are amazing, teachers are so helpful and everything is so well organized that you don’t have anything to worry about.
I can’t stop talking & thinking about this amazing experience I had!
Wish others would also find the opportunity and be as lucky as I am to have such an amazing experience!
Thanks much for this great experience

Program:
Location:
Posted: January 10, 2019
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
By: Burgiu
Age:
35

I will always cherish the experience in Peru

I grew up on a farm and have been passionate about helping animals all my life. I particularly connect with dogs so wanted to volunteer to help dogs in need. I already have experience volunteering with dogs at home but wanted to take on the challenge of helping at a shelter overseas.

The project did not disappoint, I was able to get stuck in straight away and the dogs were amazing, really friendly and loving despite their horrific backgrounds. The work was as expected but probably more rewarding than back home knowing these dog’s stories.

Cusco is a wonderful place to volunteer, beautiful city and friendly people. The staff and other volunteers were great. I never felt alone in the hostel, great place to socialize.

I would highly recommend!

Program:
Location:
Posted: December 4, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
By: Carol77
Age:

I absolutely love all dogs so decided to combine my holiday with helping dogs in another country again.

This project was amazing, the shelter owners were so passonate and there love for dogs was obvious. They worked so hard for many years to care for dogs in Cusco, I was inspired by their dedication!

The problem for dogs in Peru is huge, attitudes are different and there are so many dogs on the streets.

The support at this project was wonderful, Globalteer has an office in Cusco, so the staff were always there and available when I needed help. When I volunteered overseas before though a different organisation, their office was back home and support was via email so not so good as this project, especially as I have not really travelled independantly.

Program:
Location:
Posted: December 4, 2018
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
25

Pages