Adelante Abroad

Not Verified What's this?
6.2 / 10 after 12 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings

Submit a review

Wow how do I start....

Well, please keep in mind that the positive reviews made before me are most likely written by Adelante Abroad staff itself... They have a tendency to do that if you look around study abroad review sites.

If I could do it all over again, I would not go through Adelante because I truly believe I was scammed by by the company and two of its employees, Kimberly Haber and Ellie Clarke.

I could go on and on for pages about how many fraudulent claims these two employees (and the website!) make, but I won't waste your time. The primary fact you need to know is that the staff is hard to reach/communicate with and that you may be exploited, especially if you sign up to work as a study abroad intern through this program.

The website clearly states that interns will work 4 hours max/day, which was not the case for me. AT THE END, I WAS FORCED TO WORK 12-HR DAYS, EVEN THOUGH I BEGGED THE INTERN COORDINATOR NOT TO. None of my requests were listened to though, and I felt helpless. I was only relieved of my grueling schedule after I continued and continued to complain and then contacted the US Adelante office. It was a nightmare and I was exhausted from working all of the time. Plus I had no free time since I sometimes worked on the weekends, meaning I did not get to travel as much as I had hoped... I'm still pretty disappointed about this.

I signed up to teach English, and to my surprise, I was more of a babysitter because I "taught" English to 2 and 3-year-olds. I voiced my discontent with my internship, but the intern coordinator gave me a hard time about switching internships. I was forced to keep working there even though I was unhappy. When I told the coordinator that I was dissatisfied with the internship because of the fact that I couldn't practice my Spanish with my "students" he simply told me to "find a Spanish boyfriend to practice talking to." I found this advice to be demeaning and unhelpful to say the least.

I am currently struggling with trying to get back my $5000+ tuition from Adelante Abroad, who is refusing to grant me any sort of refund fro my experience. I am going through my credit card company to get some sort of compensation though.

I would truly advise you not to choose Adelante if you want to have a guaranteed good time during your study abroad experience. Although I know some feedback from the company has been good, I seriously question its validity. I say this because one of the girls I knew in Spain constantly complained about how terrible Adelante was, yet has posted on several review sites how "great" her experience was... Hmmmmm. I can only guess that Adelante asked her to complete these reviews, and that she was fully aware that the staff would be checking the positiveness of her responses...

Good luck searching for the right study abroad program for you. If possible, I would select a program that is affiliated with a credible U.S. university... That's what I wish I did!

Posted: June 26, 2013
By: JessP


Adelante Abroad response: To clarify - Jessica P. was in Madrid just over one month. During that one month, the first two weeks were spent, as all our candidates do, in intensive Spanish classes. Her contracted internship began the third week. This internship placement was exactly what the candidate requested, Teaching English to children. It was contracted with her long before she arrived in Madrid, including a detailed website where it is clear that the business is teaching English to young Spanish children! So, in total she interned about 6 business days. The hours were from 9 - 2 pm. When she requested to change her internship our Director in Madrid worked hard to find an alternative which she attended for one day then voluntarily chose to leave the program. Adelante Abroad provides internship programs for independent-minded individuals - it is not a hand-holding program and no one is ever 'forced' to do anything. As per our website this candidate received everything that we offer: airport pickup, housing in a shared apartment in central Madrid, intensive Spanish classes and an internship placement in a sector chosen by the candidate. Adelante Abroad does have many positive reviews for our programs on various 3rd party study/intern abroad review sites - please read for yourselves. We ask all our candidates, on completing their program, to post reviews. We are not familiar with and notice that their verified programs are all for Volunteer Abroad companies while we are Primarily for Intern Abroad or Study Abroad programs. This candidate signed up for a four month program and departed abruptly after just over one month. This candidate failed to disclose to us until days before her program start date significant medical and mental health history information. Upon arrival back home, this candidate requested a refund of her program fee. When we denied that, based upon our clear and widely published cancellation policy, she threatened to write as many negative reviews as she could publicly and at her University. She has waited till 3 months after returning to do this.
First off, telling people the truth about your less-than-ideal experience with a company is a political right... not to mention the RIGHT thing to do. It's not fun being bullied into silence. For anyone who reads this string of reviews, please keep in mind that Adelante sponsors many "third-party" study abroad review websites and gives them advertising money so that they can control what sort of reviews they receive... No wonder why so many of their comments are so great!! The bad ones are immediately deleted! The only reason why my newly-written comments are still posted is because I have personally called the websites to make sure they don't take my reviews down. It is my hope that by writing this review I will save at least one study abroad student from going through what I did... If you would like to see an entire website dedicated to Adelante abroad's horrible service, please visit: ****************** ******************* You will see that I'm not the only student who has been having problems with Adelante. I stand by everything I have already stated above. Good luck with your study abroad decision and I hope you keep my story in mind!
Also, notice how Adelante did not say anything about me working 12-HR days... Hmmmmm.... Maybe because it's the truth!

I had an excellent summer internship experience through Adelante Abroad! I already had a place in mind that I wanted to intern at, but didn't feel secure going to a foreign country to do the job placement, without at least having some sort of agency to back me up. I was initially attracted to Adelante Abroad because of their price, and didn't really care what services/housing I was going to be offered....all I really wanted was to make sure that they could lock the internship in place for me and make sure I had some sort of a place to stay at in the city. When I told them what place I wanted to intern with, they immediately got into contact with the business, researched it to make sure it was safe, and had me a signed contract for the internship placement within less than a week. They stayed in constant contact with me, even when I had to be a little demanding with paperwork, because my school was being a bit excessive with everything I had to hand in. They also got me an amazing apartment, right in the middle of historic Madrid, less than a 30 second walk away from the metro stop (which I rarely even had to use, since I was located to close to my job and school). After I had been there for a couple weeks, they got into contact with me to make sure all was going smoothly, and I told them all was going well!
Everything about the summer was housing/location, my roommates, my internship placement, and Spain was just an all around wonderful experience...I also am still in contact with the advisors there, and they continue to happily help me with international career advice, even though I'm no longer a paying student participating in a program.

Posted: October 14, 2010
By: Anonymous


Would you care if I contacted you and heard more about your experience, I just have a few questions for you. I have just been accepted for a program in Spain and I would love to talk with you.

It's hard to evaluate Adelante Abroad, itself, as a company because most of the interaction/reviews I have are for the third party program I was involved with in Chile, The International Center.
Adelante Abroad fulfilled their initial responsibilites well and all in a timely fashion. Applying for the internship, working with correspondants in California in securing work placement and having a constant connection while I was stateside was great.
When I arrived in Chile, almost 2 hours late, I was releived that the airport transportation was still waiting for me. I got dropped off at my house with a set of keys,a map, an introduction to one staff member of The International Center and a 'see you on Monday.' This was fine with me because all I really wanted was to relax and unpack anyway. Luckily there was one other roommate in the house already and we ended up exploring a little together the first day. I have traveled before, am independent and had no real issues with the drop and go tactic...but I would have liked to have some information before I arrived as to who my roommates would be (if I would have any) at least.
I think because the overall experience is delivered by Adelante, a third party institution (Internatioanl Center) and finally your individual internship, it is hard to say where the blame/benefit can be placed. Not everything that was promised on the Adelante website was recieved.
CLASSES: The first 3 weeks of classes were fairly vague. Because there were so few students, the classes were divided into 'beginner' or 'advanced' groups but sitll, everyone had extremely different backgrounds/levels of Spanish. It was difficult to have had a class/coursework that would have focused on everyone's individual needs. Other than reviewing grammar and basic Spanish structure, we spent a lot of the classes focusing on Chilean culture, 'chilenismos' and other day to day things to expect while we were here. While this didn't satisfy some students expectations, I really benefited from learning what to expect from the Chilean culture/language structure since I had never been exposed to it before hand. It definitely helped me to feel more comfortable understanding and speaking in my new Chilean atmosphere. The professors at the Internatioanl Center are average, the coursework was average. Having arrived with an Intermediate Spanish level, the new material I learned was all conversational thorugh social connections and cultural through the courses.
INTERNSHIP: My internship was working at a winery in Casablanca. It is about 40 minutes outside of the city and unfortunately there is no direct transportation. Instead of taking 3+ different methods to arrive there, it was easier to take a bus direct to Santiago and jump out on the highway and walk a little. Definitely not the most convenient or comfortable, (nor the cheapest way to get there) but it worked out fine as my 20 hr a week schedule was completed in the first 3 days of the week. The transportation was the biggest downfall of my internship. I don't know how Adelante/The International Center secures internships for their students but all internships were very different, got different responses from the students and ultimately offered different things. For me, although it wasn't what I expected, it worked out and the personal benefits I recieved exceeded the downfalls.

Posted: April 14, 2010
By: Anonymous

At the end of your internship Adelante will ask you to complete a program evaluation like the one below. I thought it would be helpful to post my responses for other perspective students looking to go to Chile.
For those of you that don’t know, Adelante works with a partner organization in Chile that is called the International Center. In addition to the work they do with Adelante they also run an English language school.
In short, I believe the program is fair IF the Spanish classes were greatly improved. I expand on the problems below more, but basically they lacked structure, rules and guidelines for speaking the language. Another thing to keep in mind is the Spanish in Chile is a lot different from any other Latin American country. They do not pronounce their “D” and “S”, drop endings off of words and use lots of slang. I lived with a girl who had spoken Spanish everyday for the last 3 years with people from Ecuador and she said she could barley understand what Chileans were saying. Native Spanish speakers I talked with from Argentina also had this problem. If you’re a beginner to intermediate level speaker I would recommend studying elsewhere where the Spanish is cleaner. I have studied in Peru and Guatemala before and it was much easier to learn and speak, not to mention cheaper. So if your main goal is to learn Spanish I would go somewhere else.
However, if you’re looking for a descent internship to gain career experience then that might be difficult to find in another Latin American country. In Guatemala I volunteered and was very frustrated because I wanted to help, but there wasn’t always work available and my supervisor wouldn’t show up to work half of the time. It seems many organizations lack organization and many charge to volunteer in Latin America like Adelante. In Chile though my supervisors were always there. We didn’t always have work to do, but at least I could sit and practice my Spanish with someone. With that said too, you may be not always feel needed in your internship, but I think this is understandable. Many people only come for 2-3 months and then leave. It would be difficult for a business to operate purely on interns, not knowing when another is coming, what level of Spanish they have and how long they’ll stay. So many times you will probably be an extra hand. I found this to be true for myself and others I met down there. The one exception being English teachers, they were in high demand and many people got to teach their own classes after a week or two of training. I was okay not feeling needed since I was an environment to practice Spanish and focused on that instead.
Vina del Mar, Chile felt very safe and was an easy place to live. Public transportation was readily available and cheap. It’s more expensive to live in Chile than other Latin countries, especially Vina del Mar since it’s a large tourist destination.
If you live in the shared apartment with other students you're going to speak English. It's better in my opinion to live with a host family (at least part of the time) to increase your Spanish skills. It sucks though because the host family costs $200-250 bucks more per month. I was told it's more because the host family provides you with meals. That's true, but I think rent would cost less than an apartment because you're taking up a free room in a house and they don't have to rent some place for you. Something to consider.
If you decide to come, remember to take time to travel! There are many beautiful places to see and visit in Chile, Argentina and beyond. Some highlights for me were Iguazu Falls, Buenos Aires, El Chalten, El Calafate and Bariloche in Argentina and Torres del Paine in Chile.
Here is the evaluation:
City / Country:
Vina del Mar, Chile
Organization Name:
Adelanate/International Center – and the Catholic University of Valparaiso
Javier - International Center Fernando – Catholic University of Valparaiso
Evaluation Period:
Start Date: 1/11
End Date: 2/26
Year: 2010
Total number of hours worked during this evaluation period: 140
Directions: Please evaluate your experience objectively using the scale shown here:
E - Excellent
S - Satisfactory
U - Unsatisfactory
A – Above Average
N – Needs improvement
N/A – Not applicable
Arrival / Language Coursework RATING
Pre-departure Counseling and Orientation: S to E
Kimberly always seemed busy and rushed on the phone, but I felt she was thorough and direct.
Airport (or train or bus station) pick – up service: E
The driver was there at the airport and very polite, even gave us a Chile history course on the way to Vina from the airport.
In-country Orientation or Orientation at Language School: N
Oscar gave us a brief overview of some rules about the host families, apartments, classes and internships. Seemed to assume we would all be hung over for our internships and said it’s not good if we don’t show up.
I think giving more information about everything would be more helpful. For instance: where’s a good place to get money, to exchange money, this is how taxis/buses/subway work and how much they cost, here’s a good medical clinic to go to if you have problems, this is how you light the oven in the house, call me or call this person if there’s a problem or an emergency. Things like that.
For instance when living at the apartment we ran out of gas for the stove and hot water. No one knew it ran off of a propane tank or how to change it. This happened on a Friday afternoon so we couldn’t cook or take hot showers until the following week after I told someone at the school about it.
Intensive Language Coursework: U & N
I was very disappointed with the Spanish courses at the International Center to the say the least. I have studied Spanish in Peru and Guatemala previously and this was the worst. My teacher was Christian.
We watched a lot of movies (some included pornography), we learned countless ways to describe how drunk you are, we learned a lot of Chilenismos, read a bit and did exercise after exercise. We didn’t study or learn the rules of the language. If the class didn’t understand something right away the teacher would get frustrated and move on to something else saying we would learn about it tomorrow. Then the following day he would give us a worksheet on it and tell us to do it at home. At times each student had to give an example, but if they didn’t understand the exercise he would just skip them instead of helping them make sense of what we were doing. One time he tried to teach us pronombres, which was different then we had all studied previously. We spent maybe half the class on it, but then the next day Jennifer came in to the class and told us to forget what we learned because it was not correct and then proceeded to teach us the right way, which we all understood within about 30 minutes.
The bad thing about the Spanish program is they only have two teachers, Christian and Francesca. Thus, every month they split the students in to two groups; those who can speak some Spanish and those who can’t or very little. Unfortunately, Spanish levels cannot be divided up so easily. This made for a wide range of student abilities in each class. And maybe since I was placed in the upper class the teacher assumed we all knew things like the subjunctive or pronombres and so on. This was not the case though for me or others. I would have liked to learn the rules of the language and have been given some guidance on how to use each tense and when to use them.
Movies in the classroom are a waste of time to me. I can understand a short clip or something to reinforce a subject, but to watch a two hour movie and be told to write down phrases or words you don’t know is pointless. This is something I can do at home or anywhere. Movies could be available to students for after school activities if elected to do so, but not shown in the classroom. I paid a lot of money, I shouldn’t be watching movies.
I thought classes were half the day, meaning 4 hours. However they were from 1:00pm until 4:15pm everyday with a half hour break, so we were only in the classroom for 2:45 minutes every day. I think this should be stated up front in the program so you know what you’re getting and what you’re paying for.
During the Spanish classes Ellie from Adelante checked in with me to see how things were going. I told her my frustrations with the classes and received no response to my complaints. I also talked with Jennifer at the International Center and she tried to get us private classes with her, but Oscar wouldn’t allow it to happen without additional money being paid.
Also, I heard Jennifer at the International Center has a degree in Spanish, but she does not teach regularly. She taught us briefly one day and was very effective and clear. I know she’s busy with internships and taking care of student needs, but more teachers with her ability would help greatly. Plus having more than two teachers would be great. I believe the International Center has this for their English programs.
Excursions: S
We went on an excursion every week for the first three weeks. We took a tour of Valparaiso, went to a winery and went on a zipline tour outside of Vina. These programs were enjoyable to me, clearly lined up and organized. They did not cost any additional money outside of what we paid for the program fee to Adelante.
Intern Advisor / Internship Work Assignment
Training & Company Orientation: S
Both of my internships started with a brief interview with the main person I would be working with through the program.
Plus, I was able to start one of my internships early. I started working the second week I was in Chile while still attending Spanish classes. I felt this was great and helped start the immersion process quicker and it was nice to have a fuller day. I know most interns don’t start until week four, but I would recommend starting earlier if possible.
Gained career/professional knowledge: S
I was able to work in a couple different areas and with programs I had not worked with previously. Fortunately, some of the programs were new to the company as well so I felt I was able to contribute and help out in some capacity. The best thing was being able to work with native, Spanish speakers and being able to practice and listen. Both my ‘bosses’ were very helpful and patient.
Learned cultural information / International experience: S
I felt like I learned a lot during my second internship at the International Center because we didn’t always have work to do, but this gave me time to talk with my supervisor Javier and learn more about him, his family and a little about the Chilean culture in general. It was especially interesting since Javier was originally from Argentina and really seemed to renounce his roots and claim to be 110% Chilean.
A few things I learned were that the youth of Chile had no interest in politics including the Presidential Election going on around us, there seemed to be a lot of animosity between Chile and Argentina from a long history over land disputes and so forth, and that Chile would like to be the top Chilean country in Latin America if not the world. They definitely have a stronger work ethic than any other Latin country I’ve visited and appear to be more developed and better off for it. The police are not corrupt, Chile is generally safe and there is very little poverty.
Intern Advisor personal interview & assistance: S
I think this question is referring to Jennifer at the International Center.
Jennifer was always very helpful and responsive. I personally did not have any problems with my internships, but I saw her act quickly with others when they had a problem or need.
Housing – neighborhood, public transport, etc: S
My girlfriend and I lived in with a host family for the first month and in a shared house the second month.
The host family was very welcoming, had a pretty big house and was willing to talk with us and help us with our Spanish. They weren’t always around, but meals were always there and we had the opportunity to try some authentic Chilean cuisine. This option definitely helped with our Spanish. I would encourage others to take this route because if you live with other native English speakers in the shared house you will speak English.
The shared house was basic and had enough to get by. It kind of reminded me of a frat house. It was comfortable and centrally located to everything such as the beach, buses, main plaza, the metro and so forth.
All of Vina del Mar felt safe. We were out late at night on occasion and never felt threatened or anything like that.
Public transportation was easy and cheap to use.
Housing – cleanliness, roommates / owner, amenities: S
The shared house was clean enough. Once a week a person would come and check on things, clean the kitchen floor, take garbage out and change bed linens. Anything else like the living room or bathrooms were left to us.
We were lucky and had really good roommates. Everyone respected one another, cleaned up after themselves and liked hanging out together. We’ve kept in touch with our roommates since then and it sounds like this didn’t continue. So I feel fortunate to have had such a good experience while there.
Amenities were basic.
How did this experience affect your educational or professional plans? (check one)
q Confirmed Plans q Changed plans þ Other (explain) I did this to help improve my Spanish skills. At my current job we have many international employees. At times we have even had interns from Colombia or other Latin countries. I hope this helps improve communication with them and get a better understanding of what they go through while abroad in the States.
What would you consider the best aspects of this international experience?
The best aspects were living with a host family and working with Chileans. This provided the best opportunity to learn about their customs and ways of life. Even though it seemed to be discouraged during the interview process, I would recommend that everyone live with a host family for the above reason and to gain more exposure to Spanish. When I studied Spanish in Peru and Guatemala the school always encouraged a host family, I don’t even think an apartment was possible unless you set it up on your own.
What would you consider the worst aspects of this international experience?
The worst aspect was by far the Spanish classes. I talked about this earlier in the review, but the teacher (Christian) was awful and simply could not teach. I really wonder what qualifications you need to teach at the International Center. The classes lacked structure and didn’t teach any of the rules of the language or anything for that matter. I really feel it was a large waste of time and that’s really too bad because Spanish is one of the main reason for going. My girlfriend and I ended up paying for lessons with another instructor from Valparaiso, not part of the International Center, and had a much better experience.
Overall I feel the package would have been fair if the Spanish classes would have been up to par.

Posted: April 11, 2010
By: Anonymous


I love this review becuase it is so even handed: there are some bad things (the Spansih classes, which are so easily "fixed") and then of course all of the good things! Learning Spanish, living abroad, having a "boss" instead of just sitting in classes, and all of the extra travel you did sounds like you made the most of your time in Chile.

Where to start...
Well I've been down here in South America for the past 15 months now and at the time I didn't want to go back home just yet. So, I went online and did some researching about internships in spanish and places in South America. It so happened to be that I found the website of Adelante Abroad. Things went as smooth as butter as it seemed while I turned in my application along with the so called "interview"; paid the "economic" amount that they wanted and I was off.
Now things went fine when I got here but slowly the picturesque scene of what I imagined to be a great internship slowly started cracking.
1.) DEADTIME. Unfortunately, YOU don't get to pick where you intern at. They choose for you and you have no choice but to stick with it for atleast 10 business days. That doesn't sound horrible but if your program is only for the typical 3 months and you have to spend 2 weeks waiting for you to PETITION to place you in a new one then you've just wasted 2 weeks. Now finding another one is a gamble because it can take another week for them to search for a new one or it could take your whole program time. From other reviews I've read they said that they were often better off just looking for a new one by themselves during the meantime. They also fail to inform you that if you work at a winery, then you'll be placed outside of town and that you'll have to commute by charter bus for 2 hours there and back.
2.) IS THIS SPANISH OR CHILEAN? The spanish classes that they set you up on, in your first couple of weeks here aren't really classes of spanish. There more like classes of Chilean that you'll probably never end up using outside of this country. It's cool to learn the local colloquial but, I'd like to freshen up my spanish. If you're coming to Chile and you think you know spanish be prepared to be blown away. These Chileans talk fast, don't pronounce their "D" and "S" and use a lot of slang. Chile is the last place to reccommend for any novice spanish learner.
3.) SPANISH "IMMERSION". The only spanish "immersion" you're going to get is the fact that you'll be in Chile. You're stuck in home with a bunch of Gringos and since your new roomates become your core group of friends that speak'll struggle speaking the language as much as you'd like. This will also hinders your abilities to sway in Chilean friends; since A. you're not improving your spanish much and B. your loud gringo group mentality shenanigans are only going to reinforce the negative Gringo stereotype which only scare off the locals.
4.) IS THE MONEY WORTH THE HOUSING? No. Definitely not. Now I can understand this is a business that plays the middle man, finds your housing, your intern and feeds off your nervousness with a quick solution to resolve all.You are an "extranjero" which means prices of things are gonna be more for you than they're going to be for the locals. But if you take a local newspaper and you read the housing/rent page you'll realize that you're probably paying atleast double for a "livable" apartment that you share with 5 people instead of a nice beach penthouse for two. There is also cleaning lady that comes in once a week but she too complains about how much the company pays here and that I'd be better if you paid her directly instead. She won't do the dishes (or you pay extra).
5.) LIVING WITH A FAMILY. This is by far the best way to improve your Spanish since your with a local Chilean family. But Adelante Abroad/International Center will ask you to sign a contract that states that you need to pay an additional $200-250/ month for laudry, food and etc. But you'll soon find out that the International Center is only paying $360/month. This doesn't equate since you've paid at least $800-1000/month for "package" of housing, service (very vague word and they'll take it to another level when you complain about how much you're paying). But if you take that $200 out of the $360, you're left with $160. So they're only paying $160 for housing out of your monthly $800-1000? Are you kidding??? You will not get your money back since you signed away blindly at more than 5 different contracts that are just as vague as the "services" they say to provide; which consists of pretending to care by asking for updates, trips which cost no more then $40/person once a month,
If you love aspirins and headaches. This program is for you!

Posted: April 11, 2010
By: Anonymous


The newer comments are listed as the first by the way! :O Start reading from the last :) Sorry for the inconvenience!
Hello Ellie of Adelante who likes to comment on every negative comment because her business is suffering from people that went through her program FIRST HAND. To answer your question, just because you have good review from the Better Business Buerau doesn't defines that you have a good business outside of the nation. The problem is that they only have JURISTICTION INSIDE THEIR OWN NATION. Meaning that whatever happens outside from a "second-hand" business owner (which whom Adelente is passing business to) is not inside their jurisdiction, nor will the business that has a complaint be dealt with internationally by them. I can't comprehend how you guys automatically get so defensive without hearing the other side and I find it personally insulting that you must step so low to defend yourself on a website that's founded on the program alumni's review. Was Adelante Abroad personally there when I was interning abroad in Chile? No (You work with a second-hand company called the International Center). Was Adelante Abroad there to manage how the money was handled personally? No. Did Adelente fail to tell me that the only internships available for my major were two hours outside of the city? Yes. Was it possible to Change internships instead of working so far? Yes, but you'll be placed in an internship where you teach english or babysit ninos. The only one in my field being the winery (I'm a marketing and sociology major by the way. Very broad.). I'm not saying that they have a problem within themselves, but the problem lies with whom they pass their business off to in Chile. Meaning that the revered Adelante Abroad office can only do so much, but throw "strong words of discontent" when something goes wrong with the "International Center". The owner of the International Center is named Oscar, he likes to say one thing to the face of the interns and to Adelante. So they bicker in fight and he doesn't, while he shovels in the money from both sides. I also find it highly dissapointing that Adelante Abroad failed to show me a "reciept" of what I paid fully but not indivually. Ellie above likes to use the analogy of a restraunt to my payment. First of all my 6 month stay is not a one-time meal at a restraunt and doesn't cost $6,000. When money goes into the thousands; clarity is needed. I'm not asking the restraunt for salaries, tax-cut information, rent nor the price of the dishes. I'm only asking for what I PAID. Which I feel I AM ENTITLED TO SEE. Much like going to a restraurent and asking how much it was for extra mushrooms :). Adelente speaks of "Very Independent". What they really mean is "low manteniance". You're free to do as you wish and as you please but please don't ask us for help. They pay for the airport ride when you arrive but fail to tell you that YOU, yourself must find YOUR OWN way back which happens to be a good two hours away. Taxi fee = hundreds of dollars. I happened to be in Chile during the 8.8 earthquake and Adelante was the last person to verify if I was well and the situation with my internship. I don't mean one or two days, I mean two weeks later. Classes are also for only a week out of the 6 months I was there. Excursions meaning one, and not the monthly ones that are promised. Thanks Independance! Really, If you don't believe a peer that went and experienced it first-hand or the reviews of the other collegues. Go find out how much it's not worth the money yourself. Quoting Ellie "...maybe just best to do it all on your own instead of paying a program to arrange everything for you." Maybe if you arranged and managed like planned, then we customers wouldn't have a problem?
Seems as if what you paid for was what you received: the Adelatne programs read as very independent and they have been in business for 12 years and they have a pretty good rating on the Better Business Bureau. Trying to divide yup what you pay for rent, classes, etc is a pretty futile excercise (do you try and figure out how much a restaurant paid for the meat they are serving you? The dishes? what about salaries, rent, taxes, insurance, etc to run the business) Anyways, if you paid for airport pick up, classes, your internship some excursions and your housing was excellent, you got what you paid for. (By the way, any winery will be outside of town!! Have you ever visite da winery in a city? Impossible, they are acres and acres, of course, so the are logically located outside of urban areas - this too, is on the Adelante website) good luck in future travels, maybe just best to do it all on your own instead of paying a program to arrange everything for you.