Nepal

Projects Abroad

Projects Abroad was the best experience I have ever had with a medical experience abroad. Every week before the trip the staff were checking in, answering questions, and providing lots of information for my arrival. When I got to Nepal, they showed me around and made me feel right at home. They contacted me almost everyday with events going on or checking in to make sure everything was going smooth. The medical experience was hands on and very real. Everyone was so kind and gave me so many opportunities to learn. I gained so much knowledge all thanks to projects abroad. They set up events where all the volunteers could meet up and do cultural things to meet. The host family they set me up with was so kind and made you feel like part of the family. Thanks for such an amazing trip projects abroad, 5 stars!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Aug 17, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Involvement Volunteers International

Earthquake rebuilding was definitely my favourite week, it was so authentic and I felt that I was making a real difference there. The host mother was beautiful and fed us very well. It was nice to get involved with the locals more than I did in Kathmandu as well.

The hospital was great I learnt so much from Dr Shanta he was an amazing mentor.

Doing the extra activities including the HealthOutReach program was really good as well because I could see there had been a lack of education around basic hygiene, nutrition and first aid so I think it was really beneficial to the schools that we went to to teach them this. And I hope that they will talk with others in the community about what they learnt so that it can spread and do greater good.

The hosts were fantastic, all the staff were friendly, efficient and ready to do absolutely anything to help us. The food was great and so was the accommodation, it was located in a good spot and I felt safe at all times.

Honestly I think you guys have been amazing, both in Nepal and before we left. I have no complaints and will definitely be recommending you guys (and possibly coming back again!)

Jessie (Australia 2017)

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Aug 16, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

My experience with projects abroad was amazing. I went into this placement as a curious student of biology, wondering if I should go into the profession of nursing. My day to day tasks consisted mostly of shadowing nurses, doctors and other clinical professionals in the town of Chitwan, Nepal. I witnessed several cesarean sections, orthopedic surgeries, and debridement of burned victims.
I also took part in pop up treatment camps in some rural villages, where I took vital signs to aid in the care of patients.
Making friends was easy, where I had the pleasure of spending down time with a nurse from France, a physiotherapist from Sweden, a physician from Spain, and many others from different walks of life. Help was available at the drop of a hat as well, with the volunteer coordinator being available 24/7.
I want to go back and help out as a full fledged registered nurse in a couples years after I finish my degree, and I plan to go with projects abroad with their medical professional program.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Aug 15, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

My experience during the Himalayan Mountain Conservation Project in Nepal with Projects Abroad was absolutely incredible and I would do it again in a heartbeat. Ghandruk is a beautiful village with a breathtaking view of the Himalayas and it's worth the trip just to see the mountains! The people in Ghandruk and in Nepal as a whole are the nicest people that I have ever encountered.

The trip was very organized and all of the Projects Abroad staff members were helpful, full of knowledge, and always available if I had any questions. The actual conservation work in Ghandruk taught me quite a lot about the plants and wildlife in that area of the Himalayas. I was able to see certain animals and plants that I have never seen before, such as a snow leopard on the camera trap (which is very rare). There are many stairs that make up the village so you will get a great workout and be in fantastic shape by the time your project is over. You will also meet other volunteers and form friendships with people from all around the world. I would recommend this project for anyone that loves nature and is looking for a bit of an adventure. I promise that it is an amazing and life changing experience from beginning to end.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Aug 10, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

Volunteering at the Monastery in Nepal Kathmandu was a beautiful experience. I had never taught before, but after a while it felt very natural. This is something I think everyone will benefit from if given the chance. The local coordinator and his family were very welcoming and kind. He was able to provide me with information about anything I needed to know about. He checked up on me everyday asking how I was and if I needed any help. Both he and his family made me feel at home and were very welcoming. I will cherish the memories of this trip for years to come. From teaching, hiking, to meditating it was all very soulful and I feel much different after this trips. Hoping to come back again.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Aug 10, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

I absolutely loved my time volunteering in Nepal. Projects Abroad was very helpful in the pre-trip process, while I was there, and following up once we left. The people of Nepal are some of my favorite people I've met in all of my travels. Projects Abroad was a very good mix of support while there and allowing us to make the experience our own. I volunteered in a Physical Therapy clinic and the Therapists there taught me so much and I now feel so much more ready for graduate school. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Aug 9, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

RCDP Nepal

My experience with RCDP was very good. Hom answered all the questions I had beforehand by email and when there was a problem with the payment he quickly offered a solution. The organization is also very flexible. I could easily cancel my airport pick-up. The school was an interesting place to work in and the principal, the teachers and the students made my feel very welcome. I could to work that was meaningful and which I felt comfortable with (not to demanding). The hostfamily treated me as one of their familymembers and the were nicer than I could have imagined.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jul 28, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

Program:
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jul 27, 2017
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
7

RCDP International Volunteer Abroad

RCDP is very organized in my opinion. I had a great experience in a way that everything went as planned and although I was so far from my country I never felt alone. I always had someone to contact or a place to return and sleep.I love Hom and Pratima they are amazing people and they made my stay so great. At the orphanage I felt that the ones taking care of the kids wanted me there not so much for my help or love but for my money. They were really nice to me at all times and the kids are just amazing and soo smart. But it started to make me feel unconfortable when the owner of the orphanage started to ask me for money. Even though I had a good experience because the kids really wanted my love :)

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jul 2, 2017
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10

VCD Nepal (Volunteer for Community Development Nepal)

Originally from Canada, I decided to study education for a year in Queensland, Australia. While
working towards my diploma in education, I founded and chaired Teachers Without Borders (TWB) USC On-Campus Chapter to help bridge the gap in education. As an official student group, TWB hosted barbeques, garage sales, wine and cheese nights and received generous donations to aid Nepalese children and teachers.

Once my studies were complete, I travelled to Nepal to volunteer and unearth an organization that was helping improve the quality of life for students and teachers in the country. I arrived in Nepal on November 21st, 2008.

Soon after my arrival, I met Kanute, an American eager to see the world. Kanute introduced me to Bikram, the director of Volunteer for Community Development Nepal, a small grassroots organization located in the heart of Kathmandu. I felt welcomed and comfortable in Bikram’s presence; his goals and his passion to achieve these goals were immediately evident.

Bikram arranged for a home stay at an orphanage outside of Kathmandu. I had the privilege of living with five orphans for two weeks. Helping the kids with their studies, making crafts and picking up litter in the community, I was able to experience Nepalese culture firsthand. During my stay at the orphanage, Bikram maintained contact and ensured that I was both safe and happy. At the end of the two weeks, I decided to make a monetary donation to VCD Nepal.

I sincerely believe VCD is the exemplar for volunteer abroad organizations. I would like to thank VCD Nepal and VCD director, Bikram, for giving me this unforgettable opportunity to make a difference at a grassroots level!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Nepal
Posted: Jun 26, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Nepal