India

Leave Ur Mark

I spent 3 weeks interning in Bangalore with LUM this past January. I was working with deaf children at Sheila Khotavala Institute for the Deaf.

Volunteering review: The children were amazing and made every day volunteering worthwhile. They are both deaf and hard of hearing and it broke my heart to see them have to go without hearing aids since their parents/school couldn't afford it. Funds are definitely needed to get the children on equal footing with other countries. I shadowed a teacher who was sometimes a bit strict with children and sometimes didn't know what to do with me as a volunteer. However, I made my connection directly with the children and they would come to me with questions, try sign language, and try communicating. Focus on the children--not the teachers. The school can feel like its going in many different directions at times. Long term volunteers can really make a stronger impact here. The work hours usually end at around 2 PM so it's nice to be able to fill your evenings with relaxation, reading, exploring the city.

Housing review: LUM didn't set up my housing...I set up my own. I stayed at a hostel near to the school with a lot of international travelers that were coming and going. This was fun and social but the rooms..sometimes with 5 girls at a time felt cramped. However, if you have a bigger budget you should go for private rooms.

LUM review: this is not a program for those volunteers that can't be independent. I liked the idea of being supported prior to my trip and upon arrival but after that, LUM staff mostly lets you be and you have to solve your own problems. It is therefore a volunteer placement agency. It's great for those that want to settle into India and have guaranteed work and some guidance. It's not great for those that need to be handheld everyday. Only use LUM if you are a savvy traveler looking for a 20% guided, 80% independent experience. For me it was perfect as I wanted to make friends with locals and I loved designing my own free time. I would recommend it to anyone looking to get some quick and easy way to work in India.

India review: India is incredible. The people, the food, the weather and the fact that something is always happening has made me feel like I can live here for longer and I plan to return next year.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Feb 3, 2017
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
9

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

My experience with IVHQ New Delhi, India has been a very memorable and incredible experience thanks to the hospitality of my host family Mohit and Chandni who provide a very clean, comfortable and welcoming home. I stayed with them for 3 weeks out of my 4 weeks in India. They are helpful with anything from weekend travel tips to where to do some shopping locally or in other cities,etc. I felt very at home and I am so grateful that i was placed in the best house in IVHQ India! They were there for me 24/7 with support and they interact with all the volunteers who come through the house.

My experience at the projects was very interesting everyday. We planned lessons to teach the children and we got the freedom of creativity to teach them different insightful lessons. I am so happy I had chosen the Slum Teaching program. It has been such a fun and rewarding last 3 weeks. I felt very comfortable with the children and the staff at school. It was within walking distance from my homestay and I loved being able to walk there and be able to walk the streets which are safe.

I came across many IVHQ staff members during my month here. They all were friendly and hospitable. I did orientation week and I am so glad that I did! It made it easy for me to get around and see the sights of Delhi without having to navigate myself, so I would highly recommend that.
I had done research with other volunteer companies and I'm sure every one would agree with me that, IVHQ provides the most affordable fees. Once i got into the country on day one they explain where the fees go and how they benefit the people within the company, locally and abroad. I feel that my time here was well spent and its definitely something that i will always recommend other people to do.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Dec 30, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

So the first I can say is that always apply for more weeks than the ones you real want to do. I will explain now what I am saying.
If you want meet a new culture, new realities and find out more of what our world has to give us you can definitely found that in India with IVHQ.
I applied for 2 months, I am leaving tomorrow and it looks like I was here 2 weeks. It was the best experience I have had in my life so far.
If you apply for India be ready, it will be an adventure. Nobody is prepared to come to India until you come but believe me, after this you are ready for everything (and you will never want to leave)!
So the program starts always on a Monday but I would advise you to arrive Saturday night or Sunday morning, don't worry that will always be someone to pick you up at the airport.
I stayed in a girls orphanage and it's incredible to live in the orphanage and learn girls habits and listen to their stories. It's a safe place with girls from 4 to 20-24 years and it's a unique experience.
My other month was about teaching in a slum school.You go to the school and you can choose the class you want to teach and what you want to teach, the students are incredible and will invite you for cricket! I stayed with THE BEST indian family you can have (so ask to stay at Mohit's and Chandni's house)!!
Apply to IVHQ India Delhi program, it will change your life forever!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Nov 26, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I spent 6 weeks volunteering with the Slum Teaching program in India and it was an amazing experience that I will never forget. From the beginning to the very end you are supported and looked after. I was so nervous arriving in India alone but once I was met by the IVHQ staff at the airport all my worries disappeared. Definitely do the week long orientation, you get to see so much of India plus you will establish life long friendships with the other volunteers during this week. It also helps you to immerse yourself in the Indian culture so you won't be faced with culture shock once you start volunteering! The Hindi language lessons are fun and you'll learn the basics to make communication a little easier with the kids.
The kids at the school are so amazing! They are kind, caring, funny and sweet and despite not having much they always have a smile on their faces. They are eager to learn and it is so rewarding working with them. They will probably teach you as much as you will teach them!
A great feature of this program is having your afternoons and weekends to explore India. I did trips away every weekend and managed to see so much of this beautiful country in my spare time.
The host family you stay with are so welcoming and will help you with anything you need- directions, advice, translating, booking weekends away, nothing is too much for them. You really feel like part of the family and now I have a second home in India.
This really is a once in a lifetime experience and I would recommend this program to anyone wanting to make a difference while being fully immersed in the Indian culture. Come with an open mind and treasure every moment!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Nov 11, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

My experience with IVHQ has been an incredible one. The orientation week is a great way to immerse yourself into the culture slowly and on the days you go out to are able to visit quite a few places. The most amazing part of the trip was of course working with the children at the program, the kids are shining stars! Our homestay with Mohit and Chandi was awesome, we felt welcome the moment we walked in and they created such a family atmosphere.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Oct 28, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I spent the last month in India volunteering with IVHQ teaching children that live in the slums. The whole experience was nothing short of incredible!

India in itself is a country so rich in culture, so there is constantly so much to do and see. The best part about the IVHQ Program is that they offer a 1 week orientation where you are introduced to the Indian culture, language and customs, as well as taken to many of the main sights around Delhi and the Taj Mahal. This week was definitely helpful for not only the program, but it was also a great way to see many parts of Delhi and meet a lot of new people who you'll be able to travel with on weekends.

After the orientation week, you are taken to stay with a family for the duration of your placement. The family that we stayed with, Mohit & Chandni, were the best! So welcoming and they make you feel like you're a part of the family. The food was amazing and they are also there for you if you need any advice on where to go, how to get there and the best way to go about anything and everything! They make the experience so much more fulfilling.

Teaching at the school can be overwhelming, but at the same time it is so fulfilling and rewarding especially when you see the smiles on the kids' faces! By the end of it you'll never want to leave.

Overall, I would definitely recommend IVHQ to anyone! The staff are there for you from the minute you arrive at the airport and the whole way through your project for absolutely anything!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Oct 27, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I had a wonderful experience with my volunteering program in ivhq. I received all of the help and information I needed since the moment I applied online and throughout the whole process. Since the moment the staff picked me up from the airport I felt so safe and taken care of. I had a really nice welcome in the orientation house and I met a lot of other volunteers from all over the world who were so friendly and kind. All the staff from ivhq was always very nice and friendly and always willing to help me in any way they could. Once I got to my homestay the family I stayed at was really nice with me and they helped me to get familiar with my program and the activities I had to do as a volunteer. I did the slum teaching program in Faridabad and the school I taught at was the best! I met the most kind, smart and loving kids and all the teachers and the people at school were so kind and happy to see us every day, even if they barely spoke English they always greeted me with a smile and nice words. I loved my whole experience with IVQH, coming to India was one of the best decisions of my life and I'm so happy to have been able to do it through their program. I felt very welcome and happy all the time, I was also able to travel and I learned so much; it was overall a really awesome experience! I really hope I can be able to volunteer with IVHQ again!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Oct 13, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I volunteered teaching in the slums of India with IVHQ, it was an amazing experience. I highly recommend it. I was placed with a local family who treated like me like my own family. Always looking out for me and making sure I was conformable. One thing that really stood out for me was their willingness to support you in way they could. I brought money with me I raised back home. They helped me find ways to use the money to provide those in need. They made the arrangements necessary and provided amazing logistical support. These are things up and beyond their responsibility. They truly made my experience the best it could be. I will certainly will go back there next time I volunteer in India.

The IVHQ staff was also amazing. They visit me every week to make sure I was okay. They always made sure I was getting the most out my volunteering experience.

Without a doubt, I will continue volunteering and will use IVHQ again.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Oct 9, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Volunteering Solutions

My time in India was such an eye opener. I was quite nervous upon arrival but soon settled in with a nice group of people. For me Delhi was a little overwhelming, although a worthwhile experience. The food was incredible and it was great to experience their culture. For the most part the accommodation was nice and clean, although I did find the odd cockroach lying around.

My favorite part of the trip was visiting the Taj Mahal in Delhi. A once in a life time opportunity and I got the perfect selfie. The company was well organised and our tour guide was incredible.

I will be doing my next tour with Volunteering Solutions.

Program:
Location: India
Posted: Aug 6, 2016
Overall:
8
Support:
6
Value:
7

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

When choosing to volunteer in India I had two things in mind. The first one was the program that I would be participating in for an entire month. As a pre-Medicine student I wanted to do something that I will learn from, and the healthcare program has exceptionally exceeded my expectations. I have gained a tremendous amount of knowledge from the doctors, patients, and my peer volunteers. The second thing I had in mind was my host family, the strangers that will become my family one long month. I was fortunate enough to be placed with the most welcoming, humble, funny, caring and kind family that I have ever met before. From the first day I arrived at Chandni and Mohit's house, I felt like I have knows them forever. Chandni and Mohit were exceptionally amazing, from making sure that I was adjusting to this new country, to providing me important informations, they were beyond helpful. My placement site was a little far from the house, but Mohit made sure that I had a ride to and from my placement site each and every single day. He would ask me how my placement was going, and if there were any problems. I have met a couple of the local IVHQ coordinators, but no one compares to the work and effort Mohit and Chandni put to make sure that the volunteers are satisfied with their stay. My Indian experience would have been extremely tough without the help of Mohit's and Chandni's extraordinary hospitality. My placement site and the amazing host family I had has exceeded my expectations about my Indian trip. I will forever remember you Mohit, Chandni, and the rest of your family. Thank you so much for being the best host family I could ever imagine to have. Mohit and Chandni are the best staff members IVHQ can ever have

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Aug 5, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

Hi there, Thank you for choosing to volunteer on the Healthcare project in India. We are so thrilled to hear about the hospitality, care and support that Mohit and Chandni provided to you – we will be sure to pass your kind words on to them. Thanks for being an IVHQer!

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - India