India

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

Program:
Location: India
Posted: Apr 7, 2017
Overall:
8
Support:
10
Value:
7

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

Namaste!
There's so much to say about this program. First of all: I highly recommend it to first time travelers. If you're young, want to meet people, live with an awesome homestay family, and do some volunteer work at the same time- then IVHQ is for you.
I was lucky enough to spend six months in India working in one of the slum schools of Faridabad. It was a wild and magical experience. The school itself is disorganized, loud, and overwhelming at times. But, that's what makes it volunteer work a memory to last forever. These kids need you more than a highly functioning, well funded school. Here, you really get to know the children individually. Through laughter, the best Hindi you can muster, art, and cultural exchange you see the children for the beautiful beings they are. What I highly recommend to other volunteers is to do some basic research on teaching if you've had no prior experience. That made a difference for me when I started my first week of teaching. I did a lot of projects ranging from science, to math, to writing poetry. The thing with all of those topics is that it's still teaching English- even just talking to them is teaching them something.
As for my homestay family... well, that was the best part of the program. I really lucked out with the house I was placed in, and at the end of my six months I considered them to be my family. They took such good care of me. Always seeing to my needs and cooking me delicious food. The hardest part about leaving was saying goodbye to them.
India is forever part of my heart now and I already can't wait to go back.

Program: Gap Year
Location: India
Posted: Apr 7, 2017
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Vision International (GVI)

I volunteered to do construction work in Kerala, India during the summer of 2016. It was one of the best experiences of my life, so good that i was only home a month before i had booked another two trips with GVI again! My first week was spent renovating the outside area of a school for children with special needs, an extremely rewarding experience. In the evenings there was always an activity for us today since this was the under 18's group, such as martial arts or indian cooking classes. My second week was spent in the district of wayanad hiking through the mountains getting to see the most beautiful views and camping in the evenings. My time in India certainly pushed me out of my comfort zone but with the fantastic support from the staff and my fellow volunteers whom i am still in contact with, the thought of being so far from home wasn't so bad.

If you're looking for an under 18's trip this is definitely the one i'd go on!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Mar 7, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Sankalp Volunteer Society India

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Feb 10, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

On one of the days, we visited a local school to conduct a health check up. The school did not have proper walls and the coordinator told me that for some time, the school did not have a proper roof. Inside one of the classrooms, I saw 15 little children bundled up in scarves and jackets, eager to learn. It warms my heart to see the dedication and passion these children had for their education. The children were so respectful and stood up and greeted me when I entered their classroom. It was a privilege to do a health check up for these children. I checked their height, weight, and eyesight. Most of the children were underweight. It was inspiring to see how happy these children were regardless of the condition of their school or their financial backgrounds. They were determined to study and progress their careers. Despite the fact that these children were from humble backgrounds, their lunches were all homemade and healthy. During my stay in India, I often observed that middle class and upper class children ate a lot of unhealthy refined flour products like Maggi, biscuits, and namkeens for lunch. Despite the fact that these children were from humble backgrounds, their lunches were all homemade and healthy. This was also great to see. I truly enjoyed visiting the school, and I wish I had had more time to visit another one of the schools.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Feb 5, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Leave Ur Mark

I spent 3 weeks interning in Bangalore with LUM this past January. I was working with deaf children at Sheila Khotavala Institute for the Deaf.

Volunteering review: The children were amazing and made every day volunteering worthwhile. They are both deaf and hard of hearing and it broke my heart to see them have to go without hearing aids since their parents/school couldn't afford it. Funds are definitely needed to get the children on equal footing with other countries. I shadowed a teacher who was sometimes a bit strict with children and sometimes didn't know what to do with me as a volunteer. However, I made my connection directly with the children and they would come to me with questions, try sign language, and try communicating. Focus on the children--not the teachers. The school can feel like its going in many different directions at times. Long term volunteers can really make a stronger impact here. The work hours usually end at around 2 PM so it's nice to be able to fill your evenings with relaxation, reading, exploring the city.

Housing review: LUM didn't set up my housing...I set up my own. I stayed at a hostel near to the school with a lot of international travelers that were coming and going. This was fun and social but the rooms..sometimes with 5 girls at a time felt cramped. However, if you have a bigger budget you should go for private rooms.

LUM review: this is not a program for those volunteers that can't be independent. I liked the idea of being supported prior to my trip and upon arrival but after that, LUM staff mostly lets you be and you have to solve your own problems. It is therefore a volunteer placement agency. It's great for those that want to settle into India and have guaranteed work and some guidance. It's not great for those that need to be handheld everyday. Only use LUM if you are a savvy traveler looking for a 20% guided, 80% independent experience. For me it was perfect as I wanted to make friends with locals and I loved designing my own free time. I would recommend it to anyone looking to get some quick and easy way to work in India.

India review: India is incredible. The people, the food, the weather and the fact that something is always happening has made me feel like I can live here for longer and I plan to return next year.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Feb 3, 2017
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
9

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

My experience with IVHQ New Delhi, India has been a very memorable and incredible experience thanks to the hospitality of my host family Mohit and Chandni who provide a very clean, comfortable and welcoming home. I stayed with them for 3 weeks out of my 4 weeks in India. They are helpful with anything from weekend travel tips to where to do some shopping locally or in other cities,etc. I felt very at home and I am so grateful that i was placed in the best house in IVHQ India! They were there for me 24/7 with support and they interact with all the volunteers who come through the house.

My experience at the projects was very interesting everyday. We planned lessons to teach the children and we got the freedom of creativity to teach them different insightful lessons. I am so happy I had chosen the Slum Teaching program. It has been such a fun and rewarding last 3 weeks. I felt very comfortable with the children and the staff at school. It was within walking distance from my homestay and I loved being able to walk there and be able to walk the streets which are safe.

I came across many IVHQ staff members during my month here. They all were friendly and hospitable. I did orientation week and I am so glad that I did! It made it easy for me to get around and see the sights of Delhi without having to navigate myself, so I would highly recommend that.
I had done research with other volunteer companies and I'm sure every one would agree with me that, IVHQ provides the most affordable fees. Once i got into the country on day one they explain where the fees go and how they benefit the people within the company, locally and abroad. I feel that my time here was well spent and its definitely something that i will always recommend other people to do.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Dec 30, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

So the first I can say is that always apply for more weeks than the ones you real want to do. I will explain now what I am saying.
If you want meet a new culture, new realities and find out more of what our world has to give us you can definitely found that in India with IVHQ.
I applied for 2 months, I am leaving tomorrow and it looks like I was here 2 weeks. It was the best experience I have had in my life so far.
If you apply for India be ready, it will be an adventure. Nobody is prepared to come to India until you come but believe me, after this you are ready for everything (and you will never want to leave)!
So the program starts always on a Monday but I would advise you to arrive Saturday night or Sunday morning, don't worry that will always be someone to pick you up at the airport.
I stayed in a girls orphanage and it's incredible to live in the orphanage and learn girls habits and listen to their stories. It's a safe place with girls from 4 to 20-24 years and it's a unique experience.
My other month was about teaching in a slum school.You go to the school and you can choose the class you want to teach and what you want to teach, the students are incredible and will invite you for cricket! I stayed with THE BEST indian family you can have (so ask to stay at Mohit's and Chandni's house)!!
Apply to IVHQ India Delhi program, it will change your life forever!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Nov 26, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I spent 6 weeks volunteering with the Slum Teaching program in India and it was an amazing experience that I will never forget. From the beginning to the very end you are supported and looked after. I was so nervous arriving in India alone but once I was met by the IVHQ staff at the airport all my worries disappeared. Definitely do the week long orientation, you get to see so much of India plus you will establish life long friendships with the other volunteers during this week. It also helps you to immerse yourself in the Indian culture so you won't be faced with culture shock once you start volunteering! The Hindi language lessons are fun and you'll learn the basics to make communication a little easier with the kids.
The kids at the school are so amazing! They are kind, caring, funny and sweet and despite not having much they always have a smile on their faces. They are eager to learn and it is so rewarding working with them. They will probably teach you as much as you will teach them!
A great feature of this program is having your afternoons and weekends to explore India. I did trips away every weekend and managed to see so much of this beautiful country in my spare time.
The host family you stay with are so welcoming and will help you with anything you need- directions, advice, translating, booking weekends away, nothing is too much for them. You really feel like part of the family and now I have a second home in India.
This really is a once in a lifetime experience and I would recommend this program to anyone wanting to make a difference while being fully immersed in the Indian culture. Come with an open mind and treasure every moment!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Nov 11, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

My experience with IVHQ has been an incredible one. The orientation week is a great way to immerse yourself into the culture slowly and on the days you go out to are able to visit quite a few places. The most amazing part of the trip was of course working with the children at the program, the kids are shining stars! Our homestay with Mohit and Chandi was awesome, we felt welcome the moment we walked in and they created such a family atmosphere.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: India
Posted: Oct 28, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - India