Ghana

uVolunteer

When I arrived, it was amazing to realize that everything I had seen on documentaries or the news on TV was all both, real and really impressive. Living in Koforidua made me appreciate everything I have at home, in Spain, the hot showers, the washing machines, the advanced technologies, the shops, the clothes and life in general. Although my time in Ghana will always be remembered as one of the best in my life, I must say that generally speaking the place where I live is much more developed and that is something that, in broad terms, we should certainly appreciate more.
The showing of affection, respect, friendship, generosity, just to mention a few was so widespread that it was hard to believe that all these things could be found altogether in one place at the same time.
The staff that works for uVolunteer made my stay really comfortable as well as pleasant. I was able to visit famous places around Koforidua and also to make my wish come true, which was to teach the Ghanaian children and at the same time learn from them. I learnt people should try to share everything they have, life is warmer and more agreeable if you offer what you have, to those not only you most love but also to the ones that have nothing to live on.
I also learnt customs I was never taught at home such as praying at assembly and before meals, etc. Their culture was something that made me think as it was very different from mine but nonetheless important.
I think volunteering with all such generous and non-prejudice people has made me open my

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 21, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

I was really surprised when I first saw the house I would be living in for 4 weeks. The room I was first placed was huge and had 2 fans. Everything was already set up perfect as I arrived late at night and was exhausted. The shower had running water and I was anticipating for the worst temperature but it was refreshing after a long day. Everything was always clean and the bathroom exceeded my expectations by far. Everything and everybody helped make the home base like my home, which I’m going to miss extremely. The food was amazing; Mary Ann is a fantastic cook!
The people who work here are so welcoming and treat you like one of their own. I don’t consider them as staff but more of a huge family. You can ask them any question and any preoccupation you have and they will do their best to help. I fell ill during my stay and they were so kind and did their best to help me.
I was placed at countryside orphanage and I taught for 2 weeks there. It was a shock at first and sometimes difficult but the kids are adorable and so affectionate. The third week, I didn’t really teach because the school had exams, but I still kept the little ones company. During my very last week I went to a school in the village of Bentum which really needed help. It was truly life changing opportunity to see the condition of some of the orphans.
I don’t regret choosing IFRE and I’m so grateful for this life changing opportunity to volunteer in Africa. IFRE made sure that this dream happened. I wish there would be a little more information on what we were doing in the orphanage, which was mostly teaching

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 21, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

This past June I went to Ghana with Projects Abroad. I researched a few companies and chose Projects Abroad due to the price and reviews that I read. I am happy I selected this program for my big trip. There was a staff member helping me from the moment I signed up for the program until I arrived safely back at home. I knew that if I had a question about anything that they were available to me. The steps on the website were very clear and helpful in getting my Visa, application, the vaccinations needed, and packing for my trip. When I arrived in Ghana, I had staff waiting for me at the airport who took me directly to my host family after showing me around the city I would be living in, helping me exchange currency, showing me how to use public transportation, and much more. The staff members were so personable I felt safe and welcomed during my entire stay. I was homesick for a few days and the staff members tremendously helped me through it by taking me on different adventures, meeting up with me, and simply just listening to me. Going to a different country all alone sounds terrifying yet exciting but the staff at Projects Abroad truly made the experience a positive one for me through their support.

i would recommend this organization to anyone-- first time travelers and even experienced travelers!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 19, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
8

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

The home base was really a nice place to stay. I didn’t expect my room to be that spacious. The bathroom, dining room and the kitchen were always clean. I was a little concerned about the food because I had never tasted Ghanaian food before but Mary Ann did magic in that kitchen. I loved every single dish she made for us. Mary, Josephine Mary Ann and Franklin helped me every time I needed help and that makes the home base feel like home.
I love all the people in this house since day one. I felt very welcomed and everyone is always around to help me if I had any problem. I was really afraid I will get lost because I didn’t know any place in Ghana and everybody speaks “Twi” but they are always giving me the right instruction to go to any place I needed. Between the other volunteers and Franklin's family, I have never felt alone or unloved in this house.
As a physician, I expected to do more medical work but I couldn’t due to the language barrier even though I learned new techniques. I had the opportunity to deliver some babies and experiment a new health system. Franklin allowed me to see other programs even though I did not sign up for them. An example was the orphanage/school in a village called Bentum. This school has 3 classrooms,5 classes and one teacher who teaches, cooks and takes care of 17 orphans besides 33 students at the school. I had the opportunity to teach them making me feel more needed than ever.
Without any doubt, I couldn’t have chosen a better organization for my volunteering. The information was sent to me as soon as I requested for it. The price and the support was amazing. The only thing I wish I could have done was to have spoken to some of the volunteers who have been there before to learn about their experience. It would be better if past volunteers leave some contact so that new volunteers can contact them for information.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 10, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

My volunteer experience with Projects Abroad is an unforgettable experience that I will treasure for the rest of my life. From the second I got off the plane in Accra, to the day I left, I felt welcomed and cared for during my stay. I was in the program for highschool students: the 2 week Medical special. It is a relatively new program, but I had no complaints! The program and staff were well-organized and passionate about the program.
My placement during the highschool special was absolutely incredible! The host family was very welcoming and they also had great food. As I am home right now, I miss the Red Red.. Mmm! Whenever I had questions about the culture, the host mom or the daughters would give me thoughtful answers. Living with the family was a gate way for me to learn about the language and the lifestyle! It is a bit shocking that I learned the most fante( local language) from our driver,Steve! It proves that Projects Abroad thinks through all of their staff placements and the qualities which all of them obtain.
Next, the actual field work! It was an eye-opening experience. I got to actually treat patients: dress wounds, test for malaria, blood tests, etc. I was so excited that I finally found a program that would teach me the beneficial first aid techniques that many other programs do not offer. The medical advisors Eric and Abigail are my inspirations to become a doctor in the future. I would recommend this experience for anyone, it is truly life changing.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa, Ghana
Posted: Aug 8, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

I participated in the Public Health Alternative Spring Break Trip in Ghana offered by Projects Abroad this past spring. The Projects Abroad staff was extremely supportive throughout the entire process. I was especially impressed by the support they provided me in preparation for the trip. Their travel team made sure that I had everything I needed and made planning the trip as easy as possible. They helped me with my flight itinerary and with obtaining my visa. Additionally, they provided me with a volunteer adviser who helped me extensively with any questions I had along the way.

Once I arrived in Ghana, the Projects Abroad staff continued their great support. The first day, we had a staff member take us around the town and taught us things about the culture. This was really helpful to provide us with insight for the rest of the trip.

The staff had provided us with an excellent itinerary for the entire week to ensure that our time in Ghana was the best it could be. They organized opportunities for us to do medical checks at several schools and orphanages as well as a leprosy camp.

Overall, my experience with Projects Abroad was wonderful, and I would highly recommend going abroad on one of their projects.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 8, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

New Hope Volunteers

The accommodation at this home exceeded my expectations. The food was absolutely delicious, the rooms were nice and spacious and the washrooms were clean! It felt extremely safe in this house and there was never the issue of something going missing! The house had such a homely feeling and our hosts/roommates all felt like family.
The was always help when needed. Whenever I needed to go somewhere I was provided with directions and suggestions. One of my biggest fear prior to this trip was that I didn’t know places in Ghana and I would get lost. This was never an issue. On my first day, Franklin took me to the school I would be volunteering at. I also appreciated the fact that I could move around ( to a less fortunate school) when I felt like I needed to do more. Mary Ann is such an amazing cook and would cook extra food (when we wanted e.g fried plantains)
Working at countryside and Bentum was such a humbling experience. We could move around until we were satisfied with the students we were teaching. The kids are so welcoming and kind. This experience can be amazing but you need to be willing and open to adapt. The one thing all these kids are looking for is love, so as long as you go to school with an open heart, you will realize how blessed you are to get to be part of this experience.
Before arriving, I was really worried about whether this was a legit organization. Because it is new, there were not a lot of reviews and the accommodation price was so cheap relative to other organizations so it worried me. To change this I’m definitely going to post a review so that people can read about my amazing experience and about the loving family I have made here.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jul 28, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Crossroad

I loved living at the home base. By the end of my stay it really felt like it was my home. The environment in the house is always cheerful and exciting. I would always look forward to the evenings with the family and the other volunteers. I made so many friends that were like brothers and sisters to me. The house always felt safe and the occasional power outages and days with no running water only made me appreciate them even more when they were there. The food was always amazing and the environment was kind, caring and fun.
I never felt unloved or alone. The house was always filled with smiling people eager to talk and do things with the volunteers. I enjoyed making bracelets, learning the twi language and playing soccer with the friendly people here. They have become family to me.
I spent my time here at Good shepherd International School and at God’s Vision School in the village of Bentum. At Good shepherd the kids were always eager to greet new volunteers. I had a great time teaching there. God’s vision school and orphanage was really an eye opening experience. The orphans attending the school really have nothing. It was so touching to have been able to teach and spend time with these kids.
It was everything that I hoped it would be. I am so happy that I came to Ghana and was able to experience so many new things. I made so many new friends and learned so much. I am happy that I was able to go to different places apart from one place mentioned in the project description. Franklin and his family were amazing and I would recommend this experience to everyone.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jul 27, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

The house is fantastic and has everything I needed. The bedrooms are big and have at least two beds which mean you can share a room with a friend like I did but it’s also a great way to meet new people. I’m especially grateful for the two fans in my room after a long hot day. The bathroom and toilet are much luxuries than I would have expected which made my stay even cozier. Honestly, this house has exceeded all my expectations in the best way.
Everyone is so welcoming and not only the other volunteers but especially the staff. Mary Anne has cooked some delicious meals for us every day and is always there at night to stop our cravings by making fried plantains. I’m so thankful that when my friend and I got sick, they were there to take care of us in every way. Their care really helped my recovery. I also thank Mary for always making us laugh and taking me to the hospital!
I worked at the orphanage at countryside. While I was there I taught at a few levels but my favourite class was grade five. While I was teaching English, mathematics, French… I really discovered a true pleasure in teaching these children and watching them succeed. Plus the kindergarten kids were adorable, running into your arms. Seeing the schools in Ghana was definitely a reality shock. The children at countryside were a bit behind in the syllabus but nothing compared to the school in Bentum where there was only one teacher for 4 classes. Most of them still had trouble reading and writing by the time they were 8 years. It made me realize how fortunate I was but also a lot of schools need help in Ghana and that we volunteers should do everything to help them get the education they desire.
This was a fun, rewarding and life changing experience for me and I definitely recommend it to everyone. The feeling that you get after you’ve taught the children is indescribable. Ghana is also a great country to visit and the people are friendly. I thank everyone for making this summer unforgettable!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jul 27, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Alliance for African Women Initiative (AFAWI)

When I chose to volunteer with AFAWI I was looking for a hands-on development field work experience with a local NGO. Working with AFAWI not only fulfilled this goal, but taught me more than I could have imagined about working in African development.

I stayed with AFAWI for two months, focusing on the Livelihood microfinance project. Working day in and day out in local communities gave me a far more visceral understanding of poverty alleviation than I had ever learned from a textbook or sitting in a university lecture.

In no way did AFAWI dictate the terms and objectives of the project I worked on. Instead, I was given far more responsibility than I had ever had in previous jobs and internships.

From the start, myself and the other volunteers were allowed the space to make key decisions, lead financial training seminars, carry out business data analysis, and undertake monitoring and evaluation in the field.

In addition to the invaluable field-work experience, I learned about the inner workings of a local NGO and how to work productively alongside colleagues from countries as diverse as Bosnia, UK, Mexico, China, and Ghana.

In sum, AFAWI affords its volunteers a cooperative environment fostering project creativity and a unique balance of support and autonomy to coordinate effective and hands-on development projects.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jul 25, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
9

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ghana