Ghana

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I spent 4 weeks in Ghana this summer volunteering at a children's home on the Pink Program. I originally chose IVHQ because their program fees were the cheapest by far compared to other well-known volunteer companies and they seemed to have excellent reviews from previous volunteers. I had a fantastic experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend IVHQ to anyone interested in volunteering with children in Ghana. There was a diverse mix of people volunteering there, from lots of different countries and ages ranging from 18-45. I was really happy to be placed with a group that were all around the same age as me. The program is very flexible, it's up to you how many hours you put in and you're free to travel at the weekends. Fortunately, we didn't have any major issues, but any concerns that we had were dealt with promptly by IVHQ staff, and our program coordinator visited us on a weekly basis. All the staff that I met (Benedict, Gideon, Elvis etc) were all extremely helpful and approachable. The meals that were provided were filling and varied and we felt safe and looked after in our accommodation which was basic but perfectly adequate and clean. I learnt a lot about a whole new culture, made some great friends, met some beautiful and inspiring children and overall had an incredible experience. The more you put into it, the more you get out, but IVHQ were certainly big part in making the trip such a great success.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Sep 8, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

It is great to hear that your experience in Ghana was incredible. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you volunteer with IVHQ again in the future.

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I spend 10 weeks in Ghana this year volunteering at an orphanage and it was incredible! Those 10 weeks have definitely been the most rewarding and live-changing weeks of my life. I absolutely loved my time there. I made wonderful friends, both locals as well as other volunteers with whom I will definitely keep in touch, and overall I could not have asked for a better experience. It was my first time traveling to Africa, so I was a little nervous and did not really know what to expect when before I got there.
The local staff members from IVHQ were very welcoming though, they picked us up at the airport and brought us to the volunteer house in Accra where we spend the first night and had orientation the following day. After that we were brought to our placements, I got placed in the pink program in Dodowa, which is about an hour from Accra, and I could not have been happier about that. It was amazing, I had a wonderful time and enjoyed every minute of it. The kids at our orphanage were so sweet and I cannot keep them out of my mind ever since I came back from Ghana.
Even though we had some problems in the beginning, everyone at IVHQ was always very friendly and helpful at any time, and I felt very safe and welcomed the whole time I was there.
Ghana is truly amazing and I can only recommend volunteering there with IVHQ to everyone, you will not regret it! It might change your life and your view on a lot of things and your friends back home might be annoyed by you when you come back (If you ever want to come back...), because most likely you will have had the greatest and most amazing experience of your life and you will not be able to stop talking about it, but it is definitely so worth it.
Leaving Ghana was one of the hardest things I ever had to do, and I am looking forward to coming back every day since I left.

Program:
Location: Ghana
Posted: Sep 6, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

Hi Karen, Thank you for volunteering with IVHQ in Ghana. It sounds like your 10 weeks in Ghana was totally unforgettable. Thanks for your feedback and we hope that you will volunteer with IVHQ again soon.

Cross-Cultural Solutions

My 16 year old daughter and I volunteered with Cross Cultural Solutions in Hohoe, Ghana this summer. Cross Cultural Solutions is a top notch organization that I highly recommend for a great volunteer experience and authentic cultural experience! The staff were very professional, took care of our every need, made us feel comfortable and safe.

We were matched perfectly with a kindergarten and first grade classroom at a local primary school. We were able to see our positive educational impact in the two weeks of service. The CCS staff provided the needed supply's to teach and the college students that we shared the house with were so helpful to offer creative teaching ideas that had worked for them.

We woke the first morning to roosters crowing outside our windows and the view of women with happy babies strapped to their backs walking down the path to the community well with water containers on their heads. Goats, sheep and chickens roamed the neighborhood. The neighbors were so very friendly and welcoming.

My daughter and I enjoyed all of the cultural activities such as visiting Tafi Atome monkey sanctuary( feeding a Mona monkey that hoped on my shoulder), hiking to and swimming in the highest waterfall in west Africa, climbing the highest mountain in west Africa, batik lessons, language lessons, visiting a witch doctor and bone setter, pounding cassava, weaving kente clothe visiting a church and having traditional skirts made for us.

We hope to participate in another Cross Cultural Solutions program in the future.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Sep 5, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

uVolunteer

Volunteering had always been something I'd dreamed of doing but never seemed possible while bringing up my three children. However on mentioning it this year at home was amazed to hear all the family saying "I want to go too".

The next step was to find an organization and after searching the net I came up with uVolunteer who seemed to combine both volunteering and time off for traveling. After contacting them I was quite sure that this was the program for all of us, since our normal work is related to Sports and English teaching which was just what uVolunteer had planned for their summer camp programmed at the Orphanage on the outskirts of Koforidua.

Our first weekend was orientation when we got our first taste of life here in Ghana and I must say was a real shock to the five senses in every way despite the open mind I had come with. We were also taken to the orphanage to see our work place for the next two weeks and it was there and then that I realized I would shed many tears before I left. The children were some of the poorest I have ever seen but so friendly and pleasant that even on that first day I realized they would be teaching us more on the value of life than we would be teaching them. Working the program has shown us just what beautiful they really are in ways such as friendliness, willingness to learn, obedient, willingness to share with others what little they have, the older ones always taking care of the younger ones and all these qualities just to mention a few. All in all it has been a most memorable experience and without a doubt one I would have no hesitation recommending to other people and if possible one that all being well I hope to repeat in the not too distant future.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Sep 4, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

I volonteered in Ghana with IVHQ (Ghana Volonteer Corps) for 6 weeks in an orphanage. I have to say that it was a great experience to discover the ghanaian culture, the ghanaian people who are so nice and always smiling, the wonderful nature ... For the moment I flew into Ghana, a staf member was there for me. I arrived in Accra with a flight delayed of an hour and a half, after 11pm, but despite this, there was someone waiting for me. During my whole stay the Ghana Volonteer Corps Staff was very helpful if we needed anything, driving out to our placement every weeks to check if all is doing well. I recommand volonteering with IVHQ and Ghana Volonteer Corps.
It was an amazing experience that I’ll never forget !

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 27, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
10

Comments

Hi Emmanuel, Thank you for volunteering in Ghana! It is always awesome for us to hear about our volunteers amazing experiences. Thanks for the feedback and we hope to have you volunteer with us again soon.

uVolunteer

When I arrived, it was amazing to realize that everything I had seen on documentaries or the news on TV was all both, real and really impressive. Living in Koforidua made me appreciate everything I have at home, in Spain, the hot showers, the washing machines, the advanced technologies, the shops, the clothes and life in general. Although my time in Ghana will always be remembered as one of the best in my life, I must say that generally speaking the place where I live is much more developed and that is something that, in broad terms, we should certainly appreciate more.
The showing of affection, respect, friendship, generosity, just to mention a few was so widespread that it was hard to believe that all these things could be found altogether in one place at the same time.
The staff that works for uVolunteer made my stay really comfortable as well as pleasant. I was able to visit famous places around Koforidua and also to make my wish come true, which was to teach the Ghanaian children and at the same time learn from them. I learnt people should try to share everything they have, life is warmer and more agreeable if you offer what you have, to those not only you most love but also to the ones that have nothing to live on.
I also learnt customs I was never taught at home such as praying at assembly and before meals, etc. Their culture was something that made me think as it was very different from mine but nonetheless important.
I think volunteering with all such generous and non-prejudice people has made me open my

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 21, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

I was really surprised when I first saw the house I would be living in for 4 weeks. The room I was first placed was huge and had 2 fans. Everything was already set up perfect as I arrived late at night and was exhausted. The shower had running water and I was anticipating for the worst temperature but it was refreshing after a long day. Everything was always clean and the bathroom exceeded my expectations by far. Everything and everybody helped make the home base like my home, which I’m going to miss extremely. The food was amazing; Mary Ann is a fantastic cook!
The people who work here are so welcoming and treat you like one of their own. I don’t consider them as staff but more of a huge family. You can ask them any question and any preoccupation you have and they will do their best to help. I fell ill during my stay and they were so kind and did their best to help me.
I was placed at countryside orphanage and I taught for 2 weeks there. It was a shock at first and sometimes difficult but the kids are adorable and so affectionate. The third week, I didn’t really teach because the school had exams, but I still kept the little ones company. During my very last week I went to a school in the village of Bentum which really needed help. It was truly life changing opportunity to see the condition of some of the orphans.
I don’t regret choosing IFRE and I’m so grateful for this life changing opportunity to volunteer in Africa. IFRE made sure that this dream happened. I wish there would be a little more information on what we were doing in the orphanage, which was mostly teaching

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 21, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

This past June I went to Ghana with Projects Abroad. I researched a few companies and chose Projects Abroad due to the price and reviews that I read. I am happy I selected this program for my big trip. There was a staff member helping me from the moment I signed up for the program until I arrived safely back at home. I knew that if I had a question about anything that they were available to me. The steps on the website were very clear and helpful in getting my Visa, application, the vaccinations needed, and packing for my trip. When I arrived in Ghana, I had staff waiting for me at the airport who took me directly to my host family after showing me around the city I would be living in, helping me exchange currency, showing me how to use public transportation, and much more. The staff members were so personable I felt safe and welcomed during my entire stay. I was homesick for a few days and the staff members tremendously helped me through it by taking me on different adventures, meeting up with me, and simply just listening to me. Going to a different country all alone sounds terrifying yet exciting but the staff at Projects Abroad truly made the experience a positive one for me through their support.

i would recommend this organization to anyone-- first time travelers and even experienced travelers!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 19, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
8

Institute for Field Research Expeditions - IFRE

The home base was really a nice place to stay. I didn’t expect my room to be that spacious. The bathroom, dining room and the kitchen were always clean. I was a little concerned about the food because I had never tasted Ghanaian food before but Mary Ann did magic in that kitchen. I loved every single dish she made for us. Mary, Josephine Mary Ann and Franklin helped me every time I needed help and that makes the home base feel like home.
I love all the people in this house since day one. I felt very welcomed and everyone is always around to help me if I had any problem. I was really afraid I will get lost because I didn’t know any place in Ghana and everybody speaks “Twi” but they are always giving me the right instruction to go to any place I needed. Between the other volunteers and Franklin's family, I have never felt alone or unloved in this house.
As a physician, I expected to do more medical work but I couldn’t due to the language barrier even though I learned new techniques. I had the opportunity to deliver some babies and experiment a new health system. Franklin allowed me to see other programs even though I did not sign up for them. An example was the orphanage/school in a village called Bentum. This school has 3 classrooms,5 classes and one teacher who teaches, cooks and takes care of 17 orphans besides 33 students at the school. I had the opportunity to teach them making me feel more needed than ever.
Without any doubt, I couldn’t have chosen a better organization for my volunteering. The information was sent to me as soon as I requested for it. The price and the support was amazing. The only thing I wish I could have done was to have spoken to some of the volunteers who have been there before to learn about their experience. It would be better if past volunteers leave some contact so that new volunteers can contact them for information.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Aug 10, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

My volunteer experience with Projects Abroad is an unforgettable experience that I will treasure for the rest of my life. From the second I got off the plane in Accra, to the day I left, I felt welcomed and cared for during my stay. I was in the program for highschool students: the 2 week Medical special. It is a relatively new program, but I had no complaints! The program and staff were well-organized and passionate about the program.
My placement during the highschool special was absolutely incredible! The host family was very welcoming and they also had great food. As I am home right now, I miss the Red Red.. Mmm! Whenever I had questions about the culture, the host mom or the daughters would give me thoughtful answers. Living with the family was a gate way for me to learn about the language and the lifestyle! It is a bit shocking that I learned the most fante( local language) from our driver,Steve! It proves that Projects Abroad thinks through all of their staff placements and the qualities which all of them obtain.
Next, the actual field work! It was an eye-opening experience. I got to actually treat patients: dress wounds, test for malaria, blood tests, etc. I was so excited that I finally found a program that would teach me the beneficial first aid techniques that many other programs do not offer. The medical advisors Eric and Abigail are my inspirations to become a doctor in the future. I would recommend this experience for anyone, it is truly life changing.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa, Ghana
Posted: Aug 8, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ghana