Ghana

Global Crossroad

I went on a 1 month volunteer and travelling experience with Global Crossroad to Ghana. Whilst the country itself was amazing, I was very disappointed with how the program was run. It seemed to me that the coordinators were pocketing a large amount of the hefty sum that I paid to volunteer, whereas the host family where I stayed received virtually none of that money ($50 per head per week). Further, the orphanage where I worked also appeared to receive very little of the money, and the toys we brought were whisked away from the children to be taken somewhere else, although I am not sure where. The travel experience for a week at the end of the trip was positive and I saw some amazing things. However, again our guide appeared to be paying for some of our expenses out of his own pocket as he was not being provided with enough funds to pay for our accommodation and food. The support provided by the coordinators was virtually non-existent. This said I did have a great experience, but this was entirely to the credit of my host family and other Ghanaian people I met.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jul 17, 2009
Overall:
4
Support:
4
Value:
2

Comments

Hi there Rachel. I'd be quite interested in hearing more about this! Drop me an email otto.rich@yahoo.co.uk if you are interested in chatting
I think Global Crossroad workers have been writing the reviews for some of these...... very dodgy....
"how can you have great experience if program was not good" - um, did you READ the review? Or do you just work for Global Crossroads?
how can you have great experience if program was not good

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

ABV is a great program for people who would like to travel and volunteer their time to help other those that are less fortunate. I went by myself and came back a changed person. The land, people, and culture of Ghana was amazing and the children and the people will always be in my heart. ABV was very helpful and helped my experience be as smooth as possible. If I ever had any questions they were very prompt responding. I plan on traveling again through ABV!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jul 9, 2009
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
9

Global Crossroad

I was placed in a village not far from Accra, Ghana, where I volunteered in an orphanage for 10 weeks. My coordinators were very helpful and often went out of their way to assist me, and quickly responded to complaints. Living conditions were more primitive than I expected (no running water) but it was nothing I couldn't adjust to, and contributed to my amazing African experience.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jun 24, 2009
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
5

Ikando

So supportive! The accommodation is great, full of interesting people, clean and right in the centre of town. Had a super time. Thanks Ikando!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Mar 18, 2009
Overall:
8
Support:
10
Value:
8

Comments

Thank you so much for your appreciation and you positive feedback. You are welcome to come back and volunteer with us anyime!
Better to go direct or work with other placement organizations like projects abroad, or a new one called afrivol. both their services are much better!
Natalie, My daughter, Annie, is thinking about doing volunteer work in Ghana through Ikando for 2 1/2 months. She is 18 and may work at the Street Academy and the Autism Center in Accra. Do you have any advice or suggestions? Mac

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

Volunteering in Kpando, Ghana was truly an amazing experience. As one of the leaders for a 12 person group it was extremely important to work with an organized and supportive program. I found the staff at A Broader View to be a major help during the planning period of my trip. All of my emails were quickly answered, Sarah was always available to answer any questions over the telephone, and all of my concerns about safety were addressed. I worked together with A Broader View in order to come up with a great itinerary to provide meaningful service in Ghana. There is such a wide range of volunteer opportunities so no matter what area you would like to focus your service on it is possible through A Broader View.
I urge everybody to go and experience the beautiful country of Ghana. The people were so warm and inviting. Everywhere we went kids came to hug us and adults took us in with open arms. There is so much that can be done in Africa and so much that you can learn from the people there. Going in with an open mind and getting first hand experience is the best way to actually do something about poverty, preventable illnesses, and HIV/Aids education.
. I experienced and learned so much more then I ever thought was possible during my time in Ghana.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Feb 8, 2009
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Madventurer

I went to Ghana with these guys and thought that they were great, from the first phone call to the reunion ball that they put on in Newcastle a couple of months after I got back to the UK they really seemed to go the extra mile for us volunteers.
In Ghana I was staying in a small village with seven other guys from the UK and one Canadian, my time was split between teaching and helping to build a new classroom. We had good support from one of the Madventurer crew on the ground and they were happy to recommend places to visit at weekends and point us in the direction of a good bar in Accra.
I have recommended Madventurer to all my friends at Uni and have no doubt anyone reading this review would be looked after by these guys.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jan 15, 2009
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Crossroad

As a Japanese student. I was so confused at the begening after looking some negetive feedbacks of Global Crossroad. But I did talk to some of the volunteers who participated Global Crossroad before. I received varities of feedbacks some were very positive and some were partially positive. But one thing I learned from all participants that projects Global Crossroad works are very good and host are very nice.
After talk to numbers of participants, I did talk to Cheryl and a guy, they gave me so many information but I was not able to decide to join thier program and decided to join Cross Cultural Soluntions. After talking to Cross Cultural Solutions I found that Global Crossroad and Cross Cultural placed volunteers in same project in many places and later decided to join Global Crossroad because Cross cultural solution is 200% expensive than Global Crossroad.
Once I booked thier program to Accra. I received all information within two weeks and gave me access to talk to local coordinator and volunteers who were on field. After talking to volunteers in field provide me more confidence. When I board the plane from JFK, I met other volunteer of Global Crossroad (Christina) we both talk so many aspects of Global Crossroad because we were very suspecious about Global Crossroad, what is going to happen if no one apears at Airport. When we exit the airport we saw my and Christine name on card board holding by one of the Global Crossroad staffs (Mr. Richard) than our suspision culm down abit, we talk to Richard on way to Kasoa. One we arrive in Kasoa, there was room ready for us. which give me more confidence that Global Crossroad is more legitimate than what other expalined in web. Next day, we had orientation, all together we were 10 volunteers. the home base accomodation look very safe and Naomi was so nice and the working project is just next block of the hostel. All my suspision and confusion completely meltdown than I felt so happy that I choose Global Crossroad.
I have seen some problem in Ghana such are people are not on time so the country coorinator. Over all my experience was excellent and rewarding It is no doubt I will go with Global Crossroad because they provide me very secure environment. Once again thanks global crossroad you guys are doing woundful job. Don't listen what other say, keep your metions what you want to acheive.
Inoue, Nihonbashi

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jan 12, 2009
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Foundation for Sustainable Development

I learn a lot and had an exposure and a better understanding between theory and field work. Also, it was a total volunteer and it take determination to sustain. But it is not all places the same and what ever may be the case, dont go into a volunteer work with an expectaion of seeking for worth, but focus on labour and what ever you would have should be appreciated.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Jan 1, 2009
Overall:
8
Support:
4
Value:
2

Global Crossroad

Global Crossroad... absolutely the most deceptive and morally corrupt program i have ever worked with. I travelled as a junior in college, my first visit to a developing country... what a mistake to go with GC! We were consistently lied to and misled by the american coordinators. our in-country personnel tried their best with what little resources they were provided by the american coordinators. our host family was the only redeeming factor of the trip, no thanks to GC. we had received information weeks before our departure on a family that we were told would be hosting us. to our surprise, we discovered upon arrival that this family did not exist and was merely a template they sent out to any of their volunteers. dispicable! our real host family had not been recruited until 2 days before our arrival. Another girl volunteering while there had asked to be put in an environmental program. later she discovered they had placed her in a logging company! The ghanaians we were worked with were very receptive and helpful, but there is absolutely no excuse for the behavior of the american coordinators! Please, please, please avoid this company at all costs!!!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Dec 6, 2008
Overall:
0
Support:
0
Value:
0

Comments

They probably don't put a name because they don't want the company knowing who it is who posted a bad review about them. Do YOU work for GC?
why most negetive posting have no name (always anonymous? why you hide name? wonder if this is the work of the same guy

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

I am a senior at Colorado College, and I was in Ghana (in the Volta region) this past summer. I had the most amazing experience in Ghana. The ABV project director Edem in Kpando is an amazing person! He is 29 I think, and incredibly active with the UN youth, and is actually a member of the royal family in Kpando. He is really really smart, and also very used to westerners. He will be very respectful towards you and your cultural background. Additionally, he made me feel extremely safe when I was there (first time is Ghana...especially Accra, can be a bit terrifying). Edem is one of the main reasons I had such a great experience, and hope that I can get back to Kpando very soon!
ABV is wonderful. For a new organization they are well organized. When I was there, I heard somewhat of horror stories about some other programs not really keeping in contact to make sure that the volunteers were safe. With ABV, Edem had to call Sarah in the US office the minute we got to our hotel when I arrived in Ghana. He would check in with her periodically to let her know I was doing fine, and when I got back, Sarah was great about checking in with me to see how my trip was. ABV is not perfect, but they are pretty damn close for sure!
Overall, I found my time in Kpando to be one of the most arth-shatteringly-perspective-changing experiences of my life. I learned so much from the kids at orphanage, from Edem, and from the kids at the school I worked at. There is no way to summarize what my trip was like or how much it meant to me in one short email, but all I can tell you is that, the most important thing to be prepared for is to be prepared for the fact that you cannot really be prepared for what will happen to you while you are there. Everyone has a very different experience....some face home sickness, others stomach sickness, some face enlightenment, others simply find joy and humility. Overall, this ABV program was an amazing opportunity for me!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ghana
Posted: Dec 4, 2008
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ghana