Fiji

In the center of the Pacific Ocean, Fiji is the perfect destination to escape your daily routine between the turquoise waters, white sand beach and green jungle. As a volunteer and simple tourist, feel free to share your experiences and adventures during your trip to Fiji. If you are looking for more information about the unlimited opportunity to volunteer aboard, you will find all the verified programs right here.

Global Vision International (GVI)

Fiji construction project

'I have recently returned from the idyllic Yasawa Islands, Fiji. Its volunteer programmes like this that can not only change the lives of others but your very self. In a place of such beauty, necessitys like water and electricity are scarce and that's where GVI stepped in. To be a part of not only a stepping stone but a future vision was as rewarding and exciting as anything else I have ever done. Having been a volunteer with previous organisations it was clear from the start GVI is set apart. Its friendly staff, safety, and simple to learn training make for an unparalleled unique experience.'

'With so much achieved in Fiji already our main role was to produce a report on all the successful water tanks installed and other work achieved. We took photos, mapped the villages, spoke with the locals and as a unforgettable bonus was welcomed in for traditional Fijian lunches. I took pride knowing our report would be directly sent to the government for review. Although much has been completed in the one short year GVI has been in Fiji there is still much to do. With the future bright its an exciting time for others to get involved.'

James McKie

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Sep 21, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
9
Value:
8

Frontier

Frontier's Fiji Marine was truly a unique and unforgettable experience. On the first day all the new volunteers and staff went for a final meal in the capital, Suva, a time to bond and eat as much as possible before being whisked off to the remote island that was to be our home for the rest of the trip. We journeyed for 8hours over the pacific ocean and reached our camp which was in a prime location.

The spots where we did our shore dives were just a 20minute walk straight out from camp and there was an incredible wall to dive just 30 minutes away by boat. The coral in Fiji is exquisite, and the marine life abundant; on an average dive we would see masses of species of butterfly fish, groupers, wrasse, puffers and the occasional shark. On one occasion my fellow volunteers and I were lucky enough to see 4 oceanic white tip reef sharks on a single dive- with the largest one coming up to 2 metres! During our time off from the diving we would gather in the classroom to attend lectures about the identification of fish, coral and invertebrates, do some cooking or pop round the corner from camp to sunbathe or play volleyball on the beach.

A highlight from my trip definitely has to be spending time at the Fijian village of Navukailagi which neighboured our camp. As soon as we arrived each volunteer was adopted into one of the families in the village and every Sunday we would attend the church there and then go to our respective families' houses where they would dress us up and feed us freshly caught fish and other Fijian delicacies.

The whole trip was so much fun; the marine life, frontier staff, other volunteers, party nights and Fijian culture. What a great project!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Sep 7, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Vision International (GVI)

I am currently at university going into my 3rd year and was looking for something to do over this summer which would give me some kind of volunteering experience to go with my psychology degree. I came across the organisation GVI and found the expedition in Fiji which involves teaching and construction work. I believed that it would be an awesome opportunity to gain some vital skills working with children and individuals from a completely different culture and way of life. My thoughts were, 'If you're going to do some volunteering, you may as well go all out and go to the other side of the world!' My time in Fiji has opened my eyes to the world and the rewarding feeling that comes from knowing that my contribution, however small, has made a difference in someone else's life for the better. I would massively recommend volunteering abroad wth GVI as they make the experience as enjoyable as possible and were absolutely awesome to work with! There isn't the words to describe how much of an amazing experience I have gained from volunteering, especially with GVI, so all I can say go ahead and do it, you won't regret it!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Aug 7, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
10

Frontier

The Fiji marine project is located on the beautiful island of Gau. Our camp accommodation is simple, traditional and comfortable, which adds to the ’wild expedition’ nature of the project. The diving is great and the locals are welcoming. Camp food is basic but with the added food given to us by the local village, this is not a problem. The diving is great but there’s loads to do on camp too.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Aug 1, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
9

Frontier

My experience in Fiji has been unforgettable. The diving was incredible, the whole of Gau island is surrounded by a barrier reef that provided us with an endless amounts of marine animals to see. As well as the amazing marine life there was the wonderful Fijian culture. Being fortunate enough to see first hand this amazing, friendly culture was an experience I’ll never forget. Apart from the diving, my main highlight was meeting people and getting involved with the local village activities.

Program: Gap Year
Location: Fiji
Posted: Aug 1, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
8
Value:
8

Comments

Hi, I was thinking of doing the full 20 weeks on the Fiji project, do you think that's too long or would you recoend doing it for as long as possible? Thanks Megan

Frontier

So far I’ve really enjoyed my time in Fiji. The diving here is amazing, the water is so clear compared to anywhere else I’ve been and I’ve never seen so many fish. Today I saw my first turtle (which I love). It was so graceful and mesmerising to watch. Camp life is never dull and if you don’t want to chill in a hammock theres always something to do around camp. We often go to the local village to go see our Fijian families. Myself and Dan (another volunteer) go to our house and get given so muchlovely food. I’m really going to miss them when I’m gone. Experiencing the way they live is like nothing I’ve done before and I’m grateful for the chance to do this.

Program: Gap Year
Location: Fiji
Posted: Aug 1, 2012
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

Frontier

 I arrived in Fiji at the beginning of June and started my healthcare project with Frontier. I have been working for a local NGO called ACATA Trust which stands for Action for Children and the Aged. ACATA's mission is to serve the local communities by assisting in general health and wellness. When I arrived, I was the first Frontier volunteer to be partnered with ACATA so the process was new to everyone. Rosan Lal, the executive director of ACATA, asked me to develop a program within ACATA that would perform research regarding diet and exercise patterns in children throughout Fiji. Since finalizing the survey, I have gone to approximately 20 primary and secondary schools throughout all of Fiji's main island, Viti Levu, as well as Vanua Levu and Taveuni. The project has allowed my team members and I to travel and see Fiji from all different angles. We have stayed in homestays throughout our travels, which in my opinion, has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had while in Fiji. It has allowed us to live the life of a true Fijian and to experience many of the customs the Fijian culture has to offer. I could not have asked for a better, more fulfilling experience and would recommend Frontier and more specifically the Frontier Healthcare Project to anyone who wants to learn a new culture while making a difference in the local community.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Jul 25, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

Hi I am doing the healthcare project in June next year. Please could I ask what the homestays conditions were like? Did you have to sleep with rats crabs etc like iv heard on other reviews or is that just people staying in the camp? Also did you successfully gain any sponsorship? Many thanks x
My particular homestay was amazing! I could not have asked for a better family to be placed with. I felt welcome from the moment I stepped into their house and immediately became a part of the family. There were no rats, or crabs in my house, however I have heard some of the volunteers had an issue. BUT, Frontier and the project coordinator had the problem resolved quickly, and to my knowledge that family won't be used again. I feel very confident in saying that you will have absolutely ZERO issues with the homestay. I also had the opportunity to travel and stay with multiple families, none of which I had any issues with. I am fortunate enough to be studying in New York on a scholarship that was extremely generous in funding my trip. However, I know the Frontier website gives loads of ideas for fundraising and places to go for sponsorships. Good luck to you, have a great time! I might be seeing you down there :)
Thanks so much for your response, that has put my mind at rest in that respect. I am aware to expect basic but just wanted to know if I was in for the same environment as in camp. I will try getting sponsership from the organisations Frontier suggest, am just worried as I will be leaving my job but I am getting that the whole experience is definetely worth losing some money and a job in the long run! So you are thinking of doing it next year, in Fiji? Would that be the same project?

Frontier

We have just come back from our amazing trip to Vanua Levu and Taveuni. Leaving on the Saturday ferry to our first stop of Savusavu, Then a bus ride to the fantastic village of --- it was right by the beach and the kids went to get us cocunuts while we watched the local rugby game at the school. We went to church, all dressed up in our sulus on the Sunday, we all introduced ourselves and sang with the choir. After the kids took us around the beach and showed us the fish, we came back to a feast! With currys and fresh prawns and grilled fish and plenty of breadfruit and dalo. On the monday we packed our bags and headed to our first school 'Savusa secondary' we took the heights and weights of the children and helped them fill in the health questionair. Then it was off to get a 4 hour bus ride to labasa, and our second homestay in vunivow we had a fantastic welcome, and during the 4 days we managed to survey over 5 schools and we even took the sons of the family clubbing! We were lucky enough to stay for the hair cutting ceremony of the daughter of the chief, on her second birthay. We had another feast, with Lovo and plenty of Kava, they had been pounding grog all day! The next day we packed our bags to get the bus back to Labasa to go all the way to savusavu, then we stayed with another family by the sea who cooked the most amazing cakes! And gave us loads of sandwiches for the bumpy bus journey to the point of the island – Natuvu where we caught a small boat to the garden island of Fiji, Taveuni. We went to the famous waterfall slides, and picked up a few bruises on the way down, but it was well worth it. The next day we got the bus to the stunning Tavoro waterfalls, we hiked for about an hour to reach the third, and highest waterfall. It was well worth it, diving of the rocks and into the pool was amazing, and the birds and plants were stunning.
Then we caught the Sofi ferry back home. All in all it was an amazing trip, and we all got to see so much more of Fiji.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Jul 25, 2012
Overall:
8
Support:
10
Value:
7

Global Vision International (GVI)

My main issue with GVI is that there are too many programs to choose from that I would love to be a part of. I finally decided to go with the dolphin program in Fiji. I am so glad that I did. This was the first time I have travelled internationally on my own and was a bit uneasy in the beginning. The first day when we met the staff all my fears went away. They were incredibly friendly and supportive and made sure we knew what we had to know and answered any questions we had.

Once we reached our base, Natalei Eco Lodge, the people from the community warmly greeted us. I have never met such wonderful people in my life. They would give you the shoes off of their feet for you to wear if it would make you more comfortable. They are enthusiastic to show you Makalati (Moon Reef) where the dolphins visit daily.

Dr. Cara Miller, the lead researcher for the program, was a learning asset as she taught you what she needed you to do and what was the best way to attain it.

While the dolphins put on beautiful aerial shows every day, I would say the highlight of the program is getting to know the people in the community. My only suggestion is that if you aren't able to fully follow their customs, please look elsewhere. It shows such disrespect to the community and makes GVI look bad. If you don't mind learning another culture's customs and want to fully embrace it, definitely meet the people of Dawasamu and check out the amazing black sand.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Jul 24, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Frontier

Working at the Fiji Sun was not at all like doing a work placement at a newspaper in the U.K. After a couple of days shadowing reporters I was effectively treated as a member of staff, given my own assignments and allowed to contribute to the paper as much as I could. The editor and staff reporters were always on hand to offer any assistence that was needed with contacts, backround information, etc.

As well as working on assignments I was also able to take part in a staff training program that the Sun runs for its journalists. This program which was held once a week included sessions on court reporting and working on stories involving the police. Whilst some of the procedures and laws discussed will obvously be very differnet in the U.K. Taking part in these sessions did offer the opportunity to hear about and discuss the various concerns that journalists, the police and other officials have in the relationships with one another.

The best aspect of the placement were the assignments which allowed me to meet some of Fiji's poorer citizens, such as squatters without official homes, and to report on difficulties and struggles that these poorest people in what is still a developing country experience on a daily basis.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Jul 16, 2012
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiji