Fiji

In the center of the Pacific Ocean, Fiji is the perfect destination to escape your daily routine between the turquoise waters, white sand beach and green jungle. As a volunteer and simple tourist, feel free to share your experiences and adventures during your trip to Fiji. If you are looking for more information about the unlimited opportunity to volunteer aboard, you will find all the verified programs right here.

Frontier

I took part in the Journalism Project and Teaching Project, both of which I loved.

The journalism work was fascinating, I was thrown in at the deep end at first which was daunting but very rewarding! I can now say that I have written over twenty articles for a national newspaper, which is incredible and I feel very privileged! On the only occasion when I had an issue at this placement, it was sorted out immediately by staff, and both the Frontier staff, the staff at the Fiji Times and the family at the homestay made me feel very supported in everything I was doing. Writing for a newspaper provided me with incredible opportunities to explore the country and learn about its culture and current history.

The teaching project was extremely rewarding and had a lot of scope for range which I found very exciting. I was able to tailor my teaching towards what I thought was most effective and useful to the kids. The Fijian school holidays coincided with my project dates, and provided the other volunteers and I with an excellent opportunity to arrange a holiday club with the kids, as well as painting maps around the school ourselves, which was a very exciting project and the teachers and the students were very grateful!

Overall, I would definitely recommend Frontier projects (especially Fiji!) to my friends and family, and would love to volunteer with them in the future!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: May 6, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

Just coming to the end of 8 weeks on the Healthcare project, volunteering for the Fiji Cancer Society. The healthcare project hasn't been without its complications, but I have had a great time living as part of a Fijian family and have gained a lot of experience by being involved with clinics within the hospital. I would recommend Frontier and Fiji however the healthcare project needs some improvements before it is up to the same standard as the other projects that are run in Fiji by Frontier.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Apr 24, 2014
Overall:
7
Support:
9
Value:
7

Comments

Thanks for your feedback Abbie, we’re very glad to hear that you had a great time in Fiji and that you found your project and the time spent with your homestay family so positive. It is unfortunate that there were complications which arose during your time with us, but we wanted to thank you again for highlighting these issues. We understand that the placement may have been quieter at times than you had hoped due to the absence of a member of staff from the project partner, however we hope that the alternative plans which were made went some way in compensating for this. Your assistance in visiting local schools and all of the help you provided in taking part in World Book Day were particularly appreciated! Our Project Manager will be working closely with the Healthcare project partner to try and iron out the concerns that you had, so thanks again for your feedback, we’re really pleased that you enjoyed your time in Fiji! We hope you have a great trip home. Best wishes The Frontier Fiji Team

Frontier

I feel the project has been so worthwhile and I feel like I have accomplished a lot whilst volunteering in Fiji on the teaching project.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Apr 24, 2014
Overall:
9
Support:
8
Value:
8

Frontier

Had an amazing time in Fiji, met some amazing people and have some brilliant memories to take back.

The project was fantastic, really practical and managed to get loads of stories published, the homestay family will do anything in their power to make you feel comfortable and at home.

Definitely recommend this trip to anybody who's looking for valuable experience whilst also getting to experience a different culture and an amazing country!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Apr 16, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

My time here in the beautiful Fiji has been short, but thanks to Frontier it has been full to the brim with sports coaching, assisting staff with lessons, and all the extra-circular activities that Fiji has to offer. My weekdays have been tiring, but satisfyingly so. Going to sleep at 9pm is considered extremely late in the mind of volunteers. The days go by so quickly, and the energy that the volunteers and I brought to the day-to-day life of the schools was matched by the never-ending energy of the children. I could tell that we were greatly appreciated for all our efforts. One thing I definitely learnt whilst helping the children, was that the energy I put in gave the children that little bit extra during their school days. I would definitely recommend going through Frontier, as they have heard all that previous volunteers have said in their post-reviews, and have improved the project as best as they can.

Program: Gap Year
Location: Fiji
Posted: Apr 10, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

I was in Fiji for one month with Frontier and I love it there. It has by a wide margin exceeded my expectations.

I was placed at a local primary school with 2 other volunteers, and I gained invaluable work experience. The teachers were welcoming and inviting and made us feel like part of the staff faculty – allowing us to be in charge and make decisions whilst guiding us and helping us on our way. The children at the school were little gems and were eager and willing to listen and learn from us.

We travelled outside of the island at the weekends and each retreat was as fun as the next even if in very different ways. One of the islands we visited had a very relaxed atmosphere and we spent our days swimming in the sea, eating and lying on the beach. The Bay was more upbeat with a younger crowd of travellers and a lot going on.

Overall my time here has been spent well and I wouldn’t take this experience back ever!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Apr 8, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Frontier

Having arrived from New Zeal winter, the first impression of Fiji was the heat, however, this was soon replaced when we received a welcome from three Fijians playing guitars in the airport and I decided I was going to love this country.
After a cramped 4 hour bus journey we reached Suva and despite it seeming very sleepy for a capital city the friendliness of the locals again shone through as we were greeted by shout of “Bula!” (Hello) everywhere we went. A day later and we were on camp which had exceeded my expectations and I was very impressed with the new bure (house) built for our arrival. We were quickly assigned roles around camp and various duties. The one which stuck out as the hardest was cooking as I had never cooked for this many people before, let alone on an open fire. Think I did a good job though as everything got eaten.
Other than the amazing diving there have been plenty of things to keep us occupied such as Friday nights Kava welcoming ceremony which was great fun and Sundays visit to church in Qarani. It was here we got to spend some time with our Fijian families and once more the friendliness shone though from the adults cooking for us to the kids wanting to play rugby on the beach and teach us Fijian.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Feb 13, 2014
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

The best decision of my life was my semester off volunteering, and Projects Abroad made it so amazing. The staff in my country took me and all the other volunteers in and we felt like one big family. We have weekly meetings and dinners all together, then usually would go out after, and once a month we would do a Community Day and go out to a village or shelter or anywhere that needed help and just helped out... In my three months, I painted kennels at SPCA, went to a women and children's village on a holiday called Diwali, and built a fence in a village's farm to keep the pigs out. The best part was the people you got to meet while helping. They also place you in a school or whichever program you applied for (mine was a special needs school) and are there every step along the way, from meeting the other staff, to complains or concerns, or in some people's cases, a placement change. You're also placed in a host family, which I believe was the highlight of my whole placement. The families you get to meet and live with take you in and you really become a family member while you're there, and even still after you're gone! Another relationship you hold onto after you leave are the friends you make in other volunteers and natives of your country. Everyone has Facebook nowadays, so it's not hard to stay connected. One of my closest friends now, who I met in Fiji, is from Denmark, and we still talk every week, if not more! Volunteering really helped me grow and find myself while making life long friends in my staff, natives, and other volunteers! Really a once in a lifetime opportunity, and it's a easy one to get to with all the help you receive from Projects Abroad!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Jan 17, 2014
Overall:
8
Support:
10
Value:
9

Frontier

Two weeks into the project I couldn’t be happier that I decided to volunteer. The scenery is breathtaking and the Fijian locals are extremely welcoming to everyone involved. The change of lifestyle is a bit of a challenge at the start, but the staff has made the transition seemingly effortless.
Getting back into the diving regularly in a new environment had my nerves a bit rattled but again the staff succeeded in reassuring me everything would be okay. The diving is awesome. Meshing with a group of RA’s that has all been on the project together before my arrival was trying, but after spending the past 2 weeks together we’ve all gotten close. I am very much looking forward to the rest of my stay here.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Dec 22, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

Thanks for the review, Rosa

Frontier

My name is Phoebe Amato-Pace, I am 21 and I have recently returned from a
four week project in Fiji, volunteering at the Fiji Times newspaper and
living in a homestay. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and
am so pleased that I decided to take part in the Frontier volunteer
abroad program. I only wish I had chosen a longer project because at the end of four weeks, I didn't want to go home.

My placement at the newspaper was really interesting and lived up to
my expectations. I was able to experience what being a
full time journalist is actually like and contributed a large number of
articles to the newspaper. I was able to use transfer vehicles to go out
and conduct interviews on my own and I was also able to shadow other
journalists while they carried out their work. The staff at The Fiji
Times welcomed me from the word go and were very encouraging
throughout.

My in country coordinator was also hugely supportive from the very beginning when he
collected me from Nadi airport. He accompanied me to my
initial meeting with The Fiji Times, made sure I was happy with the
contract drawn up for my stay and regularly checked in with me to
make sure that all was going to plan. I felt completely comfortable
talking to him about any difficulties I faced (though these were
minimal) and can't thank him enough for making it so easy to settle in!

In addition to this, my experience of living in a homestay was great.
The family picked out by Frontier made it feel like a home away from
home, always making me feel welcome and going out of their way to make me
comfortable. This element of my trip made it something that I will
always look back on with fond memories and I already miss them all very much.

All in all, my time volunteering with Frontier was great. I feel I
have gained a great deal from the experience and would definitely
encourage others to get involved and give it a try!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Fiji
Posted: Oct 22, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Comments

Thanks for the review, Phoebe. We're delighted you had such a good time and that your articles were so well-received.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiji