Ecuador

Global Leadership Adventures (GLA)

Last summer I went on a trip to the Galapagos with Global Leadership Adventures. Never once did I feel unsafe while in the hands of my program leaders. This trip was well organized and impacted me positively. GLA helped me realize so much about the world around us. I definitely recommend this trip to anyone willing to step outside their comfort zone and embrace a different culture.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Apr 19, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Leadership Adventures (GLA)

My experience with Global Leadership Adventures has been one I'll remember forever. The program that I was a part of (Galapagos) was very well structured. We got to kayak, snorkel, climb volcanoes, and more. We were always busy and had a great itinerary full of service and adventures. There was never a moment when we were bored. We cleared out invasive species, talked to the locals and the children, and played a ton of soccer which I made a fool of myself doing so, but it was all part of the fun!
The food was amazing and the housing conditions were rustic but an adventure. The staff was great - they were all so fun and relatable but were able to be great role models as well.
My parents were very reluctant to let me go on this trip when I proposed the idea. They had never sent one of their kids to a foreign country alone before. However, they became much more comfortable with the idea after talking to the welcoming and assuring staff who were more than happy to explain everything about the trip, from safety to fun.
I still miss this trip- one of the best experiences ever of my life. Would definitely recommend!! GLA offers such a friendly environment.

Parent Review:
Global Leadership Adventures was very professional and thorough in covering all the necessary things to ensure a safe program. They were very good with communicating with us (the parents) with what was going on. They made me feel very comfortable that they had a lot of experience and they knew all the ins and outs of what needed to be done to make it a very safe and enjoyable program for all the students involved. My daughter got a lot out of it and had a great experience. She wrote about her trip which she was encouraged to do by the staff. I feel that she gained very valuable experience, particularly in things that she could not get anywhere else. She made great contacts there and continues to meet up with friends she made on the trip. The GLA trips reflect great value and purpose. She and her peers from the trip were really engaged in the service. We were not able to sign up for the trip until just a few months before, but they were very accommodating in helping us obtain a passport and all of the necessities for the trip which reflects their experience and professionalism in organizing their programs.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Apr 13, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Leadership Adventures (GLA)

Our daughter went on the GLA trip to Ecuador, Galapagos in July 2016. It was truly a remarkable fun-filled adventure that enriched her leadership and social skills and provided an acute awareness of our fragile environment. Snorkeling amongst the sea lions, turtles, climbing volcanoes and learning about exotic species such as the giant tortoise were just some of the highlights. The program attracts outstanding, intellectual students from around the globe whom our daughter still stays in touch with.

As a parent, I was particularly impressed with GLA's organization and caliper of their trip leaders. We felt safe and secure on trip arrangements and it was comforting to receive daily briefings and photos from the students.

The GLA program is second to none on their organization, adventure and mentorship.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Mar 18, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Global Leadership Adventures (GLA)

Last summer I went on GLA's Galapagos 2-week summer program. It was an amazing life-changing experience! During our time on the islands, we worked together to clear invasive species off areas of the islands so the endemic plant and animal species can reclaim their lost land. Through this trip I have learned the importance of environmental conservation and many different ways I can make an impact on the world. I highly recommend this program to any student looking to better the environment and themselves through challenging yet rewarding and fun community service work. This was truly a trip of a lifetime!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Dec 30, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

I was part of a host-family and shared an apartment with another ABV volunteer. All this was a bonus since I had my own space to write, yet when it came to family time, we were only one floor away from the warmth of a fabulous family. My host family took pride and leaving time aside to be with everyone together. Also, the host-family was very passionate with all the food they made. If you want to learn about the culture, food and traditions, please have a host-family in mind. The best part of this trip was helping all the children. I was inspired to see all the children so eager to learn and to see how passionate they were to hear what everyone had to say. Some children have to walk far, but they were there on time and eager to learn, I already miss them.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Dec 8, 2016
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
10

uVolunteer

En la FundaciViverimenta un Programa de Voluntario en Verano haciendo Santa. Esros programas te permiten u trabajao voluntario de forma indión Ecuador Volunteer, te ofrecemos la posibilidad de disfrutar un increíble programa de voluntariado en verano. Aplica tus destrezas y talentos exitosamente en favor de las comunidades locales por medio de varias actividades.

https://www.ecuadorvolunteer.org/

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Oct 25, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

uVolunteer

En la FundaciViverimenta un Programa de Voluntario en Verano haciendo Santa. Esros programas te permiten u trabajao voluntario de forma indión Ecuador Volunteer, te ofrecemos la posibilidad de disfrutar un increíble programa de voluntariado en verano. Aplica tus destrezas y talentos exitosamente en favor de las comunidades locales por medio de varias actividades.

https://www.ecuadorvolunteer.org/

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Oct 25, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Ailola Quito

I have taken 3 months of classes in Quito and improved my Spanish a lot. I took group lessons to begin with and individual classes in the end. My teachers were well organized and always found a way to make the lesson interesting and fun. I stayed at a lovely host family that made me feel like I was part of the family. I recommend this experience to anyone who wants to get serious about learning Spanish

Program: Study Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Jun 6, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

The Projects Abroad operation in the Galapagos was a waste of our money, time, and abilities. If you are a young college student with low expectations and looking for a reason to getaway from home, then this placement is perfect. If you truly care about adding value to the conservation or education programs in the Galapagos, then look elsewhere.

Our three weeks there consisted of very little value-add work; most of our time was spent standing around, doing busy work, or working only a fraction of what we were promised.

Some examples: pulling weeds ‘outside’ the greenhouse on a plot of land where they do not grow anything and where volunteers had uselessly weeded three weeks earlier. Another example: 15 volunteers on a tortoise weighing project that only needed 4-5 people; everyone else stood around for 5 days. Then, after we spent 3 weeks measuring 50 tortoises, the park ranger quietly told me that none of the measurements actually get permanently recorded. Another example: two volunteer teachers were signed-up for teaching English, but when they arrived to the Galapagos, schools were on Summer break. Another example: a volunteer English teacher was given a group of kids where the age range started at two years of age. Most students were too young to even say their name in Spanish, let alone English; so she spent her volunteer time as a babysitter. Another example: for a simple beach clean-up, they had us work on a clean beach versus a garbage laden beach just down the road. Despite everyones recommendations to maximise our efforts on another beach, our young 19 year old Projects Abroad manager decided to cut short the work day. We can go on and on with examples.

We have been in marketing and brand-building for 15 years, have multiple degrees, and in our opinion, for Projects Abroad to be marketing this program to prospective volunteers is a travesty. We spent a lot of money, and all we wanted to do was work hard and lend a hand in building a strong conservation project in one of the most ecological sensitive areas in the world. In return, we were under-utilised by Projects Abroad staff and chastised for wanting to do actual conservation and education work.

Look elsewhere. In our opinion, there are far better organisations that you can connect with and where you can add true value to this incredible part of our planet.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: May 10, 2016
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1

A Broader View Volunteers Corp

From the moment I submitted my application for the Pre Dental Program in Ecuador, to online chats, right before leaving the US, to arriving in Quito. It was extremely helpful to have pictures of my coordinator and host family before hand. It was comforting and stress reducing to have a visual of the first individuals you would meet and count on during your stay.
I was surprised at how quickly my host family felt like my real family. They were very accommodating. I may not have always understood what was said in Spanish but at the same time I was still always apart of family activities and discussions. This is also true with the extended family. Within one week I met extended family from both sides of my host parents and it made this experience even richer.
I had an amazing experience within the short time I was able to volunteer, 4 weeks. I loved basking in the breathtaking scenery. No picture could capture the essence of the mountains in Quito. Even though I wish they could, it made me absorb what I can in the moment.
I just happened to stumble across ABV by diligently searching abroad volunteer programs on the internet. I can now say I found the perfect organization for my first experience abroad.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Ecuador
Posted: Feb 2, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Ecuador