Africa

Nakuru Hope

If you have been thinking about volunteering in Africa but have absolutely no idea where to start then Nakuru Hope is the place for you.
I spent many months making enquiries only to find that I was required to put up considerable amounts of money with absolutely no idea of where it was going and how it was being spent.
Through a friend, I found an extraordinary woman called Susan Saleeba who has spent the past seven years caring for the most disadvantaged people in the sprawling slum at Kaptembwa on the outskirts of Nakuru in Kenya.
Earlier this year I spent three weeks with Susan and a group of volunteers from various parts of Australia. I would like to emphasise that every cent raised goes directly to the people and you can see how it makes a difference.
The home stay in Nakuru is very safe and comfortable.
Each day consisted of visiting families with Christopher the Operations Manager, assisting teachers at The Learning Centre and helping with food preparation for the children's lunches.
This was an experience I will never forget. The beautiful smiling faces of the children with outstretched arms, always ready for a cuddle.

At the end of 2013 Susan will open her new school and orphanage providing safely and comfort for her "families".
I encourage you to take the step, you will never regret it.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Nov 21, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

African Impact

I had a wonderful experience with the African Impact this past summer. At first, I wasn't sure if it was a good idea to fly to South Africa all alone, since that I did not know much about the organization. After long 30 hours of flight to South Africa, I was suddenly welcomed by a friendly woman at the airport who was waiting for me with my name on the sign. She drove and welcomed me to the volunteer house in Cape Town. Everyone was so friendly and I couldn't believe it! I volunteered with Veterinary Assistance and Abused Animal Shelter in Cape Town, South Africa. Cape Town was absolutely gorgeous, and I had never seen anything like Cape Town before! The volunteer house was very nice and beautiful, there were nice bedrooms with bunks, bathrooms with showers and bathtubs, kitchen, dining room, and a backyard where everyone can go out for a while. The house was very safe. I had great roommates, and I met other volunteers from all over the world! There were housekeepers and cookers in the volunteer house. They do really take care of volunteers very well. Everyone was passionate about helping others. On my project, I met so many inspirational people in Cape Town! I was helping with animals, and it was a wonderful experience!! I am SO glad that I went, I can't imagine if I haven't gone. This is once in lifetime experience. I will never ever forget it and I will always remember it in my life. I went to Cape Town all alone at 19 years old from USA, and anyone can do it! You won't regret it, I promise. There were so many things to do in Cape Town. I went to shark caged diving, Lions Head mountain hiking, Table Mountain, Boulder Beach, and of course the famous Waterfront! I miss every minute of it and I wish I could go back! Volunteer work was a lot of fun and people in Cape Town have opened my eyes so much. I will be forever grateful to be a part of the African Impact organization. I couldn't thank them enough for a great trip. I say go for it!! It was worth every penny.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Nov 8, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

African Impact

I volunteered for 3 weeks on the Medical Outreach and HIV/AIDS program in St Lucia, South Africa and I could not recommend it more.
We did some hard work visiting home based care patients who were sometimes quite ill but it was rewarding to see them on a regular basis, develop relationships and in many cases, be able to track improvements.
If you are looking to do professional medical work, this program isn't what I would recommend as the duties are based upon being accessible to everyone, medically qualified or not, but the project is rewarding nonetheless.
The staff were wonderful! Always making sure everyone was happy and understood the purpose of each daily project and explaining the difference out help was making in the community.
As soon as I left I wanted to go straight back. And I will go back soon.
African impact is an excellent organisation to volunteer for because you work at a grass roots level and get to immerse yourself in the community life.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Oct 24, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
10
Value:
8

Frontier

I can honestly say that volunteering with Frontier is the most worthwhile thing I have ever done. In 2012 I finished school and was looking for something I could do which would be both fun and rewarding. In July I flew to Nosy Be in Madagascar to take part in the MGA Adventurer project which combined teaching, diving and terrestrial conservation. In a typical day we would dive or trek in the morning before headed over one of the neighbouring villages to teach the children there. I enjoyed myself and gained so much: friends, experience, PADI qualifications and a new interest in diving – and so I decided almost as soon as I landed back in the UK that I wanted to explore more with Frontier. In July this year I flew to Dar es Salaam in Tanzania, spent a week relaxing in Zanzibar before headed to Mafia Island to take part in the Diving and Marine conservation project.

One of the highlights for me was without doubt the range of wildlife we were able to see both on and off land; elephant shrews, samango monkeys, green turtles, millions of fish and even some the size of small cars (Jesus - the giant grouper) and we were even able to go snorkelling with humpback whales! But I think my favourite part was getting to know people from the village and the masai who have a shop down by the beach, most of whom I met either helping out in the village lessons or chilling out at Mapenzi bar in the evenings.

If we weren’t at the bar most evenings a group of volunteers could be found relaxing on the beach, stargazing or going for a midnight swim.

Although the camp was basic it was better than I had expected and whilst the banda was shared, there was enough space for all my stuff and it was quite fun living with other people in a way you wouldn’t really ever get the chance to back home. I really enjoyed getting to know everyone else on camp, hanging out on the hill or playing battleshots with a round of Zeds.

All in all I had a great time, would recommend the experience and intend to go back next year. My biggest piece of advice would be don’t go easy on the home comforts (chocolate, haribo, other food and body spray!) but to check what you can already buy in kilindoni with people who have been before.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Oct 22, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Comments

Thanks for the review, Becca.

Frontier

I can honestly say that volunteering with Frontier is the most worthwhile thing I have ever done. In 2012 I finished school and was looking for something I could do which would be both fun and rewarding. In July I flew to Nosy Be in Madagascar to take part in the MGA Adventurer project which combined teaching, diving and terrestrial conservation. In a typical day we would dive or trek in the morning before headed over one of the neighbouring villages to teach the children there. I enjoyed myself and gained so much: friends, experience, PADI qualifications and a new interest in diving – and so I decided almost as soon as I landed back in the UK that I wanted to explore more with Frontier. In July this year I flew to Dar es Salaam in Tanzania, spent a week relaxing in Zanzibar before headed to Mafia Island to take part in the Diving and Marine conservation project.

One of the highlights for me was without doubt the range of wildlife we were able to see both on and off land; elephant shrews, samango monkeys, green turtles, millions of fish and even some the size of small cars (Jesus - the giant grouper) and we were even able to go snorkelling with humpback whales! But I think my favourite part was getting to know people from the village and the masai who have a shop down by the beach, most of whom I met either helping out in the village lessons or chilling out at Mapenzi bar in the evenings.

If we weren’t at the bar most evenings a group of volunteers could be found relaxing on the beach, stargazing or going for a midnight swim.

Although the camp was basic it was better than I had expected and whilst the banda was shared, there was enough space for all my stuff and it was quite fun living with other people in a way you wouldn’t really ever get the chance to back home. I really enjoyed getting to know everyone else on camp, hanging out on the hill or playing battleshots with a round of Zeds.

All in all I had a great time, would recommend the experience and intend to go back next year. My biggest piece of advice would be don’t go easy on the home comforts (chocolate, haribo, other food and body spray!) but to check what you can already buy in kilindoni with people who have been before.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Oct 22, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9

Give a Heart To Africa

Having wanted to volunteer in Africa for a long time, my wife and I eventually got around to it last year and spent an amazing six months at Give a Heart To Africa in Moshi, Tanzania. It is very easy to start using all sorts of superlatives to describe our time at GHTA, but I can honestly say it was life changing. Working with a group of women (there were some men on the project, but it is primarily a women’s empowerment project), where the majority of them have never had an education beyond primary school was incredible. The women showed a willingness, a determination and an enthusiasm to learn that was nothing short of incredible. Teaching fractions using cut-up paper plates, preparing a basic CV and learning how to thread Maasai beads into bracelets and necklaces were just some of the skills we taught. I remember so well the first morning the women all arrived at school. They looked very nervous and were reluctant to talk even to their own classmates. We were very privileged to go back to Moshi this September to watch them graduate from GHTA a year later. The smiles and happy faces said everything, the women showed confidence and enthusiasm and really felt they were in a better position to improve their lives and the lives of their families. The project is managed by the most amazing Czech/Canadian woman called Monika. After receiving an education in Canada, she decided she wanted to give something back to other women and after several years volunteering in Africa she set-up GHTA. The project is located just off the University of Moshi Business School and on those mornings when there is no cloud you wake to the most wonderful view of Kilimanjaro. Our return in September was not the last time we will go back to GHTA. As is often the case when you hear volunteer stories, it is the volunteer who comes away with a feeling that they have received more than they were able to give, that is really how we felt when we left.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Oct 22, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Give a Heart To Africa

I spent 4 weeks volunteering at Give a Heart to Africa in Nov/Dec 2012 and enjoyed it so much I volunteered again in Sept 2013. GHTA is a small hands-on volunteer experience where you interact with the students (women from 25 to 60 years old) on a personal level. The goal of GHTA is to empower women by teaching them English, business, and vocational skills so that they can support themselves and pay their children's school fees. No teaching experience is needed as there is a curriculum provided and translators (former GHTA students) in each class. When I was at GHTA there were 5 volunteers although there is room for 6. The volunteers come from many countries (while I was there they were from Belgium, England, Australia, Canada, and the US). The volunteer house is very comfortable and has a family like atmosphere. Volunteering at GHTA was an eye opening, heartwarming, rewarding and inspiring experience. I am still in contact with many of my students as well as the volunteers who were there at the same time as me. While volunteering at GHTA I also was able to go on safari and visit Mt. Kilimanjaro. I highly recommend Give a Heart to Africa to anyone interested in truly making a difference volunteering while visiting a safe, beautiful country.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Oct 21, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Anyep

I worked with the Children with Disabilities and orphaned children. It was a course worth it. Anyep staff are friendly.
I made connections and I will go back to volunteer with Anyep, I recommend

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Sep 12, 2013
Overall:
8
Support:
8
Value:
8

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

With IVHQ I got the opportunity to spend two months in Ghana, Africa working in an orphanage for a very reasonable prize. These two months I spent in my placement were the best two months of my life and I can't wait to go back. IVHQ is a fantastic program and the cheapest program I could fine. But just because it is cheap doesnt mean it is weak- the staff was wonderful and helped all of the volunteers making them have the experience of a lifetime. I will definitely recommend this organization to anyone that wants to help the world. I loved every minute of my trip and it has changed my life in so many ways, and all of that couldn't have happened if it wasn't for IVHQ.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Sep 9, 2013
Overall:
9
Support:
9
Value:
9

Comments

Hi Kalei, thanks for sharing your review - we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your two months volunteering in Ghana and had a life changing experience. Thanks for volunteering with IVHQ!

Global Crossroad

My wife, 8 year old son and myself went to Masai land in Kenya to volunteer for 4 weeks. Our objective was to empower women and give them coaching to grow their business. Jimmy Wambua was our ground coordinator; he understood our needs perfectly. He put us in the hands of Virginia Sakuda, an amazing Masai woman who welcomed us like family into her home.

She knows everybody! She brought us to 8 different woman's group who do beadwork. She translated for us so that we could understand their challenges and the wealth of their art and culture. We worked with them to improve their sales skills at the market and we created a catalog of their products to make it easier for them.

Virginia also took us to a primary school in a remote area where we could donate school uniforms and supplies. It helped us understand the reality of the teachers and young students.

Jimmy also knows a lot of people in Kenya and is involved in his own projects. He works with volunteers all day and becomes a volunteer himself during his off time! He put is into relationship with Kibera Talking, a group of artists and musicians he works with. We did a 3 day workshop with them to spur their creativity, find ways to increase their reach and make more money from their art.

It was not always work! Virginia took us to a family wedding, organized celebrations for the volunteers at the end of their stay and we even went with her to a far away place where a new Masai leader was celebrating his nomination. I even got to dance with the Masai warriors there; they invited me to join them 2 minutes before the event. Here's the video (look for the white guy in the back!):

https://vimeo.com/72458978

What an adventure! We helped many people, we learned a lot, we had fun... we want to go back soon! We all loved it ;-)

Thanks to Jimmy and Virginia for making all this possible for us.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Sep 5, 2013
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Africa