Latest Program Reviews

Over 300 Programs and more than 3,000 Reviews

NGO Abroad

I am so grateful to have found Ann at NGO Abroad.

As an experienced NGO executive, I am looking for a way to use my skills overseas. Most international volunteer programs I reviewed offered so much support and supervision that my professional and skilled self would have felt smothered and left many skills on the table. With NGO Abroad, I will get as much challenge as I want, with the supervision/support I feel I need. I direct the process; I create the opportunity. This approach is a much better fit for me than the cookie-cutter programs I've seen elsewhere. My adult, accomplished self has a home with NGO Abroad.

To get started, I initiated contact, completed a short, direct, non-time wasting questionnaire and from there, we've had a few phone conversations, the first one, an hour at no charge. Ann is working with me on clarifying my passions and desires, refocusing my nonprofit management and leadership skills, and providing support and insights to help me reposition myself to transition to consulting overseas. She seems to hear what I have to say before I speak the words with an uncanny ability to see through my forest of confusion and indecision.

From what I've seen in other programs, she is direct, clear, offers a tremendous service for a small percentage of the cost of other programs.

In the process, I believe I have found a kindred spirit, a friend, a support person for this exciting transition. Tremendously helpful.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Nov 8, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

In July 2017, I had the amazing opportunity of participating in the two weeks High School Special Medical Program in Arusha, Tanzania. Wanting to do something different on my Semester Break, I was able to find Projects Abroad after searching in the internet and came across the perfect program for me: spend two weeks in Tanzania where I would learn about the basics of medicine while engaging with the culture of the place and doing volunteer work.

Although it was the first time I was travelling alone internationally, I couldn't feel more secure. The Projects Abroad team gave me support at every moment, from when I signed up for the program till my trip back. I was lucky to stay at The Haus accommodation, where the staff was so friendly and helped us at all times. Several other international volunteers like me were staying there as well, so I was able to come home with friends from all over the world! I must say it was the best experience I had so far. Not only I discovered that medicine is what I want to do in life, but also, I fell in love with the country and its people.

During the week, we would not only have medical workshops and visits to the hospitals of the city, but also cultural workshops which made us know a lot more about the country and the Tanzanian language, Swahili. Since I only spent two weeks there, I was only able to participate on the program for one weekend, but it was incredible. From visiting the Tarangire National Park (my first safari) to climbing Mount Meru and seeing its waterfalls, I enjoyed every second of it. One experience I believe I will never forget is the visit to the Masaai village, where I had the unique opportunity to see their traditional celebrations and engage with such a culturally rich African tribe. If there is one thing I need to say is that I regret not choosing the four week program, I wish I could have lived this experience for longer!

If you are looking for a program with unique experiences where you can gain knowledge about your interests while getting deep insight of a culture and making several friends, you must go for Projects Abroad. I would recommend this program to anyone without thinking twice and I would definitely go back.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Nov 8, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Projects Abroad

In May 2017, I had the opportunity of traveling to Accra, Ghana with Projects Abroad after I graduated the week prior with my Masters of Social Work degree from the University of South Carolina. I have always had a passion for missions and finally faced my fear of going overseas. I must say I was excited and nervous. My prayer was to connect with the people and learn just as much from them as they learned from me. Needless to say, I did not just connect with the people, I gained an entire new family. I had the opportunity of staying at the home of Mrs. Victoria Afrifa, who served as former First Lady of Ghana. The staff was wonderful and so friendly. They made me feel so welcome and the food was absolutely delicious. It was truly a spirit of hospitality with that family. When I arrived in the country I was greeted by a Projects Abroad staff member who ensured I made to my destination. My first night, I had my money transferred and was able to get SIM Card for my cell phone to make country calls. The staff went over, above, and beyond to ensure my safety. The most important part of the trip was getting the opportunity to live with a host family and get the cultural experience. Because of was a traveling professional, I was only able to go for 8 days, but this staff made sure I got the most memorable experience. They made sure I understood the transportation system and protected me at all cost. I remember wanting to travel to Gold Coast. I must say with joy and much chuckling I had security with my host brother. While in Ghana, I was assigned to New Life Nungua International School and Orphanage. I thought I was going to be at the orphanage, but I ended up teaching a few classes in Language, Citizenship, Arts, and Crafts. This by far was the most amazing experience for me. Those children were absolutely beautiful and intrigued by the lessons. The most precious part of this trip was how they made me feel on my birthday being I celebrated it in Africa. They sang to me and made me dance! :-) He was so gracious and made sure I was not alone. He made me feel so welcomed. If you want a true, culturally rich experience, I believe Projects Abroad is the program. I definitely would travel with this program being the staff has literally become my family! I can't wait to go back and hope take the journey with me! God Bless!

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Africa
Posted: Nov 8, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

From October 2nd to October 21st, 2018, I was a volunteer teacher in a farming village in Hargita County outside the city of Miercurea Ciuc, Romania. Through IVHQ, I was supported locally by Care2Travel with my volunteer experience from pick-up at the airport in Bucharest, to my exit three weeks later. Care2Travel provided my room and board in the city center with easy access to all my needs. On the first day of my experience, the Care2Travel staff took me to my placement, introduced me to my classroom teachers, and dialogued with the teachers and myself to establish my teaching schedule for my three weeks. I was able to work with all grade levels, grades 1 through 8 and thoroughly enjoyed coming to school each day and working with the students and teachers on their interactive English language skills. Care2Travel each week checked in to see if I needed anything and how my experience was going. The teachers, students, and Care2Travel made my volunteer experience extra special and I would recommend IVHQ & Care2Travel/Romania for a unique teaching travel volunteer experience.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Romania
Posted: Nov 7, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

From October 2nd to October 21st, 2018, I was a volunteer teacher in a farming village in Hargita County outside the city of Miercurea Ciuc, Romania. Through IVHQ, I was supported locally by Care2Travel with my volunteer experience from pick-up at the airport in Bucharest, to my exit three weeks later. Care2Travel provided my room and board in the city center with easy access to all my needs. On the first day of my experience, the Care2Travel staff took me to my placement, introduced me to my classroom teachers, and dialogued with the teachers and myself to establish my teaching schedule for my three weeks. I was able to work with all grade levels, grades 1 through 8 and thoroughly enjoyed coming to school each day and working with the students and teachers on their interactive English language skills. Care2Travel each week checked in to see if I needed anything and how my experience was going. The teachers, students, and Care2Travel made my volunteer experience extra special and I would recommend IVHQ & Care2Travel/Romania for a unique teaching travel volunteer experience.

Program: Volunteer Abroad
Location: Romania
Posted: Nov 7, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10

Pages