International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ)

Fully Verified What's this?
9.3 / 10 after 295 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings

International Volunteer HQ (IVHQ) is the trusted volunteer organization, providing safe, quality and extremely affordable volunteering placements in countries all over the world. Each year they place over 5000 volunteers abroad and have a wide range of volunteering opportunities in Argentina, Bali, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Colombia - Bogota and Cartagena, Costa Rica, Ecuador, FijiGhana, Guatemala, India - Delhi & DharamsalaItalyPortugal, Spain, New ZealandKenya , Laos, Madagascar, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Peru - Cusco & Lima, Philippines, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, ThailandRomaniaUganda, Victoria Falls, Vietnam - Hanoi & Ho Chi Minh City and Zambia.

Submit a review

From October 2nd to October 21st, 2018, I was a volunteer teacher in a farming village in Hargita County outside the city of Miercurea Ciuc, Romania. Through IVHQ, I was supported locally by Care2Travel with my volunteer experience from pick-up at the airport in Bucharest, to my exit three weeks later. Care2Travel provided my room and board in the city center with easy access to all my needs. On the first day of my experience, the Care2Travel staff took me to my placement, introduced me to my classroom teachers, and dialogued with the teachers and myself to establish my teaching schedule for my three weeks. I was able to work with all grade levels, grades 1 through 8 and thoroughly enjoyed coming to school each day and working with the students and teachers on their interactive English language skills. Care2Travel each week checked in to see if I needed anything and how my experience was going. The teachers, students, and Care2Travel made my volunteer experience extra special and I would recommend IVHQ & Care2Travel/Romania for a unique teaching travel volunteer experience.

Program:
Location:
Posted: November 7, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
66

From October 2nd to October 21st, 2018, I was a volunteer teacher in a farming village in Hargita County outside the city of Miercurea Ciuc, Romania. Through IVHQ, I was supported locally by Care2Travel with my volunteer experience from pick-up at the airport in Bucharest, to my exit three weeks later. Care2Travel provided my room and board in the city center with easy access to all my needs. On the first day of my experience, the Care2Travel staff took me to my placement, introduced me to my classroom teachers, and dialogued with the teachers and myself to establish my teaching schedule for my three weeks. I was able to work with all grade levels, grades 1 through 8 and thoroughly enjoyed coming to school each day and working with the students and teachers on their interactive English language skills. Care2Travel each week checked in to see if I needed anything and how my experience was going. The teachers, students, and Care2Travel made my volunteer experience extra special and I would recommend IVHQ & Care2Travel/Romania for a unique teaching travel volunteer experience.

Program:
Location:
Posted: November 7, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
66

Do not apply with International Volunteer NQ: they will keep asking for more money,
4 or 5 times more the registration fee!
There are a lot of free organization!

Program:
Location:
Posted: November 3, 2017
Overall:
1
Support:
1
Value:
1
By: francy63
Age:
54

I have recently finished a 3 week program with IVHQ in Siem Reap, Cambodia. This experience was more than I could have ever imagined. For starters, the organization and local staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. They provided us with a clean and safe living environment in the volunteer house. Living with 13 other volunteers was a beautiful way to meet like-minded people from around the world and build lasting friendships. The childcare facility that we were working with was a lovely short bike ride from our home. Each morning we were greeted by the excited, smiling children when we arrived. there was no better feeling that that. The children were always to excited to see us, and being with them, and being able to teach them a few things, was an amazing feeling. The nuns that we were working alongside inspired me to be a better person and to want to lead a more humble life. They were amazing with the children and so thankful that we were there.
If you have the opportunity to take a few weeks out of your life and donate them to others, I would strongly suggest it. The experience will be so meaningful to you, and those that you help.

Program:
Location:
Posted: October 12, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
25

In August 2016 I fulfilled my lifelong passion to volunteer with children who needed it the most.

I now go back in 6 weeks time, same program and same location :)

I spent 3 weeks in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; I was based at a local hospital where I cared for children with disabilities from unprivileged families living close to destitution but had the support of this vital volunteer program and hospital day care. I gave my time, my love and my gentle hand to children who just wanted to be accepted. I assisted local staff in providing therapeutic treatments, feeding, play time, entertaining and educating.

In my spare time I visited an orphanage where my heart was broken; 3 floors and 75 children with no mummy & daddy and a safe place to call a home. There were no bedrooms for these children - they shared communal floor space and simply was provided with a pillow, they were fed twice a day and relied on donations from volunteers - donation of time and donation of basic supplies for everyday living.

The orphanage was over an hour on the bus out of district 4 and I was struck by the vision of poverty on the streets, no documentary can prepare you for that. I fell in love at the orphanage with every child I met – I spent most of my time in the baby room as my heart lay there, with around 10 babies under 2 including ‘tiny toes’ a 10 day old baby abandoned by his mother and born at 7 months premature. This sweet innocent child was perfect but with a long road ahead of him and no name at the time.

It’s also hard to forget Quin – a 12 year old girl with severe mental and physical disabilities who also resided in the baby room at the orphanage as the staff where not quite sure what to do with her due to her inability to walk or feed herself, she was playful and sweet and just wanted to play.

I knew it wasn’t going to be easier but I had no idea how hard it was going to be. 35 degrees of heat with no air con at the hospital or orphanage, in an area struck with poverty and a nation of people with no healthcare support. There is no public health cafe in Vietnam!

We have all had ups and downs in life some harder than the other (loss, illness and hardhsip) but we are truly blessed to have access to clean water, health care and a roof over our heads and food in our tummy’s. To give your time is to give happiness.

Last a note from the words of a true inspiration - Christina Noble.

“I will work with the ill and unwanted, with the lonely and the misbegotten, with the throw-away children of this war torn country.
The future of our world is the future of our children, our beautiful children. For many of them, it is a matter of giving them back their future, giving them a life, giving them hope and giving them the childhood they deserve.”

xx

Program:
Location:
Posted: October 2, 2017
Overall:
8
Support:
10
Value:
9
Age:
31

Pages