Give a Heart To Africa

Not Verified What's this?
9.7 / 10 after 15 Reviews Based on overall, support & value average ratings

Submit a review

My two months volunteering at Give a Heart to Africa (January-March 2017) were more amazing than I can put into words. Organizations like GHTA are hard to find. Educating and empowering women in developing countries is sadly not always a first priority. When I was researching organizations to volunteer with and I found GHTA I was thrilled. An organization that not only educated women in subjects like English and math, but also vocations and business, was exactly what I was looking for.
The application process was simple and very informative. I talked to everyone involved in the organization and I felt very safe about my traveling plans.
Before I knew it I was landing in Tanzania! This was my first time traveling alone internationally so I was pretty nervous going somewhere completely new. However once I landed and met the people I would be working and living with for the next couple of months I knew that it was exactly where I wanted to be.
GHTA started feeling like a second home within a matter of days. Everyone involved in GHTA, especially the women who are the leaders of the organization, are more than passionate about helping not only women, but anyone in need, in and out of school. Over the years GHTA has been in Tanzania it is clear that they have worked and continue to work effortlessly towards empowering and bettering the lives of women in need. The change is clear. GHTA creates a huge impact in bettering the lives of their students and the community.
Volunteering for GHTA is an experience I would highly recommend to anyone who is interested. I made so many relationship and met people that I will never forget. Moshi is a safe community filled with the kindest people. Teaching at the school is a large responsibility and it is crucial that all volunteers commit their time and are serious about school, however outside of classes there are lots of opportunities to go on day trips, hiking, safari trips, exploring town, and many more things.
Volunteering at GHTA is an opportunity I am so unbelievably grateful to have experienced. If you have the chance, please please please go. It will be worth every minute.

Program:
Location:
Posted: June 1, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
By: Lschwartz
Age:
18

I volunteered with GHTA for 3 weeks in April 2017 and enjoyed every minute of my time there. My only regret was that I couldn't stay longer as I really feel like volunteers are truly valued in the programme and I would have liked to spend more time with the students and graduates. My main role was teaching English, and, in addition to this I was given the amazing task of helping a group of graduates with a cooperative that they set up together.

For the teaching aspect, I was given a predefined curriculum to work from - this really allowed me to hit the ground running and pick up exactly where the last volunteer left off. I was then able to add to my lessons to include personal elements that could enhance the students learning. I'm a graphic designer by trade so I incorporated a lot of visual tools to increase the student's learning experience.

For the cooperative aspect, I worked with 3 amazing women who graduated from the programme and went on to set up their own business selling clothing and jewellery in their own shop. I was able to use my design and marketing skills to help them to promote their business and teach them to continue to do so after I left. This involved pulling together promotional materials and enhancing their shop displays in addition to helping them to network with printers/suppliers in person and online. The latter through training them how to use a computer in a local internet cafe and setting up a business email address for them so they could use on their business cards.

The whole experience I had was so humbling and I got to work with the most amazing students and graduates who were all so appreciative of the time I was spending with them. It was a true honour to work with GHTA and I really hope to return. I would truly recommend this programme as not only does it set a path for the women of Moshi it also provides an after study support for the women who have gained the confidence to take their lives to the next level of independence.

Program:
Location:
Posted: May 15, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
9
By: AliDesign
Age:
34

I volunteered with GHTA for a month in January 2017, and it was hands down the best month of my life. This program is truly amazing, and the people you meet in Moshi will forever change your life.

I decided to volunteer with GHTA after a friend of mine told me about the program, as she had volunteered a few years prior and absolutely loved it. I just graduated college in December 2016, and decided that I wanted to go to Tanzania for the month immediately after. I traveled with my best friend, as we were both passionate about women's education.

The women that are in this program are some of the most inspiring and determined women I have ever met in my life. For many of the students, this program is one of the only ways for them to gain a better education, and provide for their families. Everyday, I woke up with excitement to see these women and talk with them about their lives and their families. I was working in the vocations classroom, and had amazing conversations with them surrounding current global issues, and women's rights in Tanzania. Although I was teaching them English, they also did a fantastic job of teaching me Swahili.

The program is also run by a fantastic woman, Rhiannon. I have never seen someone who genuinely cares so much about giving back to others before herself. She wants each and every one of her students to succeed, even if that means being strict on them. She inspired me every day, and was also so fun to spend time with when class was not in session. She is the heart and soul of GHTA.

The town of Moshi itself is beautiful and filled with such kind people. My best friend and I walked to town nearly every day, and always felt safe. Kilimanjaro is also the backdrop to Moshi, although we did not get to hike it while we were there.

There is so much to do in Tanzania, and so many amazing people to meet. If you have the time, go volunteer for GHTA for at least two months. One month for us was not enough, and we were heartbroken to have to leave. I love the people and the organization so much, and I hope to go back to this program someday.

Program:
Location:
Posted: April 23, 2017
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
By: dcedwards
Age:
22

The trip with Global Leadership Adventures is so worth it. When I went, we usually woke up, ate breakfast, and then went to our activity of the day (usually walking which made it more fun). We got to do service activities like building a house out of recycled plastic water bottles (!!!) or visiting a Haitian batey which was so eye opening. Even though some activities may be emotionally or physically harder than others, the people around you is what it makes it all worth while. Everyone in my group got along and we still talk. Then there's the recreational activities like zipping which is beautiful. And even though the price of the trip may be a little much, there's tons of different ways to fundraise and the trip will definitely be worth the cost. For activities we usually wore athletic shorts and a t-shirt or tank, but in the communities we wore long pants (about 3 days where you need to wear long pants). Oh and do not forgot mentors. Your mentors are the greatest people and they will teach you so much on this trip, GLA mentors are undoubtably amazing. Let me know if you have any questions and I hope you choose to go on this trip!

Program:
Location:
Posted: November 9, 2016
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
17

I decided to volunteer with Give a Heart to Africa Women Empowerment in Tanzania because I wanted to volunteer with a small organization, which didn't have large overhead costs, so that I knew I would be directly impacting the local community.

At the time, I had just graduated from my undergraduate studies in International Development and African Studies (I studied Swahili!) and I was eager to have an opportunity to see what I had learned in the classroom at the ground level in East Africa.

I will always remember the people I met during my trip - both my fellow volunteers and the students at Give a Heart to Africa. This was my first overseas volunteer experience by myself and I always felt welcome. It was such a positive and safe volunteering experience.

I learned so much from each and every one of them and they impacted my life in so many ways that I did not expect. I still continue to keep in contact with my fellow volunteers and with many of the students. I love hearing about their success stories - how the resources they gained from the classroom helped them to improve their livelihoods.

My worldview was enhanced in the most amazing ways as a result of volunteering for Give a Heart to Africa. I believe experiencing life in Tanzania was very humbling. I had an opportunity to connect with our students and had insight into their lives. This gave me a greater appreciation for everything I sometimes take for granted at home - especially my education.

Program:
Location:
Posted: December 17, 2015
Overall:
10
Support:
10
Value:
10
Age:
28

Pages